Shame (UK)
Songs of Praise


3.0
good

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (124 Reviews)
January 16th, 2018 | 55 replies


Release Date: 01/12/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I know how I feel, but I have difficulties figuring out in what tone to express that.

Quite an interesting tendency can be observed in the British scene today. It seems that we have a new resurgence of energetic young Post-Punk revival bands on our hands, each trying to replicate a slightly different approach. From Shopping’s hasty bass-driven cockiness; to HMLTD’s eccentric craziness, flavoured by a tonne of Bowiean Electropop; to Holy Esque’s aggression-spiced bitterness with vocals that are one decibel away from fitting on a Death Metal album; to now Shame, who are trying to blindly reach somewhere to the Indie Rock tree, hoping to grab a fruit, but ending up catching a nest of bees.

Songs of Praise is an album that has only one thing figured out: it wants to be ironic and angsty. However, its bipolar energy that jumps from fast-paced snarky tunes to more biting odes to desperation dissolve the flow. With its themes and song-writing that’d better suit an Emo record, this is quite a dissonant effort. That is not to say that the band cannot write a memorable song. They certainly can, but never in a particularly striking manner; or at least not striking enough for you to be able to point anything out as a highlight.

Don’t believe the album’s title, for these songs are pretty much all either somewhat negative or just filled with pitiful resentfulness, reaching from mild to crushing. But the band doesn’t seem to know exactly how to deliver that theme and mood, as the songs either sound too uplifting or just fatuously angry with a heavy dose of pretend-apathy.

Then again, often times it seems as though the stylistic dissonance is not caused by the album’s bitty flow, since the individual tunes also cannot quite impress beyond a simple “yeah, that was alright.” Had they just embraced their Emo tendencies, then even the shotty melodies might have found their place. As of right now, let’s hope that the other up-and-coming projects form London’s underground Post-Punk scene break out with a more focused work.



Recent reviews by this author
Batushka HOSPODIThe Orangeburg Massacre Moorea
Black Midi SchlagenheimBatushka Panihida
Pedigree New FreakAnd Also The Trees Born Into The Waves
user ratings (97)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, didn’t do much for me.

Frivolous
January 16th 2018


877 Comments


its decent

no idea why critics are frothing over it

Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You planning at returning to the Emo Crown at all?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2018


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pos'd, I was just shoutboxing Butch an hour ago cause I knew you or him would have this one covered.



Shame (hehe) to hear it didn't fit your boots Uni, I kind of liked it but it's true they cuddle stuff that history has made great in the past. They do it really well though.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shame indeed. I really wanted to sing it Songs Of Praise, but alas...

DarkTyler
January 16th 2018


322 Comments


"It seems that we have... on your hands"
*our hands

Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

DarkTyler, ladies and gentlemen. Rose up as an alt, turned out surprisingly helpful.

Ashtiel
January 16th 2018


730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

guess im easy to please but this one hit all of the right notes lyrically and musically for me, probably will have forgotten about it later in the year but right now im enjoying this a lot.

Digging: DIIV - Deceiver

RadicalEd
January 16th 2018


9546 Comments


One Rizla is really good. Will have to check the album.

Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It was quite engaging to me too at first, but as I listened to it more it just dropped lower and lower..

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2018


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One Rizla's video is actually quite fun

Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album's rating chart is just like this album: cock-all..

AngryJohnny
January 16th 2018


955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

saw these guys do a lame as fuck interview with the Guardian



Might check

Point1
January 16th 2018


709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave this a listen, seemed like a pretty competent 80s-worshipping post-punk album. The energy was a plus, but I wasn't too into any of the more unique stuff they we're trying to do.

Papa Universe
January 16th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

a second feature. i feel like a god..

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2018


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Get on new releases and you will featured more often than not my dear.

Papa Universe
January 17th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's that easy? And you're saying I can get all that and a premium feature for just 25.99R* a month?











*R = review

Lucman
January 17th 2018


3346 Comments


Good review. Yeah, gotta agree, wasn't too impressed with this one.

Lucman
January 17th 2018


3346 Comments


Good review. Yeah, gotta agree, wasn't too impressed with this one.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2018


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well not THAT easy but it will def. improve your chances over old stuff...



... for just 25.99R* a month yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy