Shopping
The Official Body


4.0
excellent

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (124 Reviews)
January 14th, 2018 | 39 replies


Release Date: 01/19/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Whatever. Who cares?

Post-Punk revivalism tends to be panned by people quite often for being too derivative and repetitive. Unfortunately, more often than not the accusations are justified. And there is so many of them that many people lost their faith in the genre altogether. But Shopping might just be one of the few last truly unique voices in the revivalist era.

Now, “unique” they are only in the context of that very revivalist era. But they definitely do try their best to differentiate themselves from the rest of the pile by taking influences not from the most banal places, such as Joy Division or the Cure, but more from the more snarky, humorous side of the underground 80s British scene. Their music is never aggressive, it is never sorrowful and it is never too obscure to be inaccessible to an average listener. It is just mild and with a great sense of stylistic nonchalance.

The Official Body is not the band’s creative pinnacle, but then again, the band’s style is not the one that tries to wow the listener with its atmosphere or instrumental magnitude. That is not the point. This album is built on the simplest melodies that are there only as a formality. It also doesn’t rely in the smallest on the impressive instrumental passages or overwhelming themes. Its purpose is minimalistic and vague. Its sound is cocky and apathetic. Its lyrics are simple and straightforward. It is everyone’s perception of Post-Punk stripped of all of its pretentiousness and only given the basic musical tools to survive, but it ends up thriving.

That is not to say that the album is only all about cheeky writing and play with no intention to change in the slightest. The album holds surprises, such as the songs “Discover” and “New Values”, which are vaguely electronic and especially the former’s bassline is just a slight microscopic bit more atmospheric than on other cuts on here. It is as radical a surprise as the chosen style on here allows going.

It is the album’s primary charm that is hidden in the upfront primitivism. It is the loud bass tangling that builds the tunes. It is the indifference in vocals that give it personality. It is the lyrical haziness that makes it so charismatic. It is an album of the inconcrete that never ventures into anything particularly esoteric, not because it has nowhere to venture or because it is unable to. It doesn’t, because it doesn’t care.



Recent reviews by this author
Batushka HOSPODIThe Orangeburg Massacre Moorea
Black Midi SchlagenheimBatushka Panihida
Pedigree New FreakAnd Also The Trees Born Into The Waves
user ratings (38)
3.1
good
related reviews

Why Choose

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
January 14th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album stream: https://www.npr.org/2018/01/11/576827404/first-listen-shopping-the-official-body

butcherboy
January 14th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so excited to listen to this.. she's got a knack for angular guitar lines.. best revivalist..

Papa Universe
January 14th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i just can't get enough of that bass tangling

SandwichBubble
January 14th 2018


10279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ey nice

butcherboy
January 14th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sandwich, yes!!!!!!!!!!!!! that dig.. drink the kool aid!

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2018


3401 Comments


ill be honest the only reason id click on your reviews up until recently was to see you and butch go back and forth with witty, wizened comments but your reviews are actually really solid and youve introduced me to a bunch of cool shit and pls go for contrib papa bless

RadicalEd
January 14th 2018


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool review, checked this on a whim and I like it a lot. Very punchy rhythms all over this.

Papa Universe
January 14th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good to hear, Ed

and

crypt: you, i like you

Papa Universe
January 14th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I GOT A FEATURE!!!!

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2018


3401 Comments


hell yeah old man show them whippersnappers what for

butcherboy
January 14th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yea, we're moving on up to the east sideeeee!!!

robin
Emeritus
January 14th 2018


4588 Comments


i love shopping

zakalwe
January 14th 2018


28770 Comments


“East London Three piece post punk band released debut album Consumer Complaints in November 2013.”

That’ll be a bunch of soft as shite loft conversion ‘arty’ cunts then.


robin
Emeritus
January 14th 2018


4588 Comments


lol "soft" please grow up

robin
Emeritus
January 14th 2018


4588 Comments


keeping it real in southend with that horrors 4.5 tho

Papa Universe
January 14th 2018


22432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"4 out of 5 thought this review was well written"



Show yourself, poltergeist.

butcherboy
January 15th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it'd be strangely wonderful if your ghost negger turns out to be you subconsciously doing it as plaguedoctor.. why must you self sabotage, Uni?

Brandon
January 15th 2018


63 Comments


Nice I needed some new shopping music.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2018


16811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Grats on the feature Uni! Didn't know this was out already.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

McMegaMountain
January 15th 2018


294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Post-Punk is one of my go-to genres b/c of how much it encompasses - from Protomartyr to These New Puritans to Preoccupations to even King Krule now - so I checked this out right away on like Thursday I think when it was released.



I agree, no real uniqueness present, but what they do, they do really well and keep my attention. I'm giving it a 3.5 now, but it's worth repeated listens. If you need more post-punk, I'd suggest the new album by Shame. It's not ground breaking by any means, but its a fun record nonetheless.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy