Summoning
With Doom We Come


3.3
great

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
January 9th, 2018 | 228 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Summoning have never sounded so magical, so fantastical, so...bad.

With Doom We Come deserved much better. Being Summoning’s delightfully majestic and triumphant eighth album it deserved better than the drab production and confounding mixing. Never before have Summoning painted such a believable, Middle-Earth inspired, canvas. The sweeping melodies that mesh with the harsh black metal backdrop have never felt so fantastical, so unquestionably Tolkien-esque.

Then again, Summoning have never sounded so bad.

In an album at odds with itself, Summoning prove that production isn’t just a box to tick when reviewing metal. With Doom We Come is a frequently muffled mess of disparaging tones. Guitars sound sharp, loud, and biting, while the drums are distant and neutered. Horns and additional strings cover the album with an unrefined ear giving them inconsistent importance (for example, the deafening horns on "Silvertine" are directly at odds with the nigh inaudible keyboard on "Herumor").

Despite all of this, With Doom We Come is expertly written black metal. It’s very much a Summoning record, camp and all, but it’s charm is undeniable. The raucous beats and expert pace yield songs that are almost catchy—addicting even. The title track for example, at a bloated 11 minutes, pushes the brim of the album further than it should but still maintains a sense of rhythmic urgency. Meanwhile, the magical tones of “Mirklands” offer a combination harsh, dark black metal and delicate 90s era synths. From most bands it would feel like an absurd attempt at recreating a bygone era. From Summoning it feels genuine.

With Doom We Come, for all its faults, is still a highly accomplished Summoning record, which depending on who you are can be high praise. It sounds rough around the edges (okay rough throughout) but the beating heart is undeniable. In essence, this is Summoning offering up a fantasy you can’t get anywhere else.



Recent reviews by this author
Panopticon The Scars of Man on the Once Nameless WildernessKrallice Go Be Forgotten
Bell Witch Mirror ReaperBlut Aus Nord Deus Salutis Meae
Acephalix DecreationMiley Cyrus Younger Now
user ratings (114)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
PsychicChris (4)
It’s amusing to see how with enough time, even the most unusual styles and band setups aren’t ex...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2018


1191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3 | Sound Off

I have listened to this a ton but I acknowledge it’s faults now. It’s production is shockingly questionable.

Dewinged
January 8th 2018


10024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This done with a proper production would have been an amazing record, like outstanding shit. But for Crom, it sounds terrible. Good write up Xeno.

Digging: Mourn (SPA) - Sorpresa Familia

Sevengill
January 8th 2018


8441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice writeup. Album sounds kinda frustrating, but given that songwriting I'll probably spin it anyway. Only nitpick is "it's charm" should be "its."

mifzal
January 8th 2018


3006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah this one is their weakest so far, but some of the standouts are also one of their best.

Night Fell Behind is a great Summoning classic

mifzal
January 8th 2018


3006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Someone said this band is pretentious ! like how? even with 100 more layers keyboard and acoustic instruments this band still make it sound humble and earned unlike Wintersun.

Sevengill
January 8th 2018


8441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They're high-concept, so someone's bound to throw that word around.

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2018


1191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3 | Sound Off

It’s lovably camp but straddles the line of genuine sincerity. The high concept is charming imo

mifzal
January 8th 2018


3006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

high-concept that actually delivers

Keyblade
January 9th 2018


25650 Comments


i agree with most of u, there's something off with this one

still has some of their best moments tho

Digging: Night Flowers - Wild Notion

Dewinged
January 9th 2018


10024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The closer is so damn good.

Ovrot
January 9th 2018


13294 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed with the review. Production is a bit wonky and some of the melodies and riffs really miss the mark for a Summoning Album. The vox in general seem a little strained but not in a good way. t/t and Herumor are the stand-out tracks here.

It's a let down for sure and my least favorite since Dol Guldur but hey at least it's not Upon a Viking Stalion.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2018


11470 Comments


Good review, I was kinda hoping the album wouldn't sound like the single but alas it seems that's not the case.

Digging: Shining (SWE) - X - Varg Utan Flock

mifzal
January 9th 2018


3006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

They can afford to have slight miss step, They were consistent for 20 years

Hawks
January 9th 2018


56465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still pumped to hear this tbh.

Digging: Jimmy Wopo - Woponese

mifzal
January 9th 2018


3006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Don't worry hawks there's plenty to enjoy

BlackwaterPork
January 9th 2018


4086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's not as good as other releases, but still great nonetheless

Great review

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - Bad Witch

Alastor
January 9th 2018


1922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still like this more than their last one, including the production.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2018


23628 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I feel like this is a production I would dig with any other black metal band, but I just can't get behind it here.

ProjectFreak
January 9th 2018


2811 Comments


I wanted to give this a shot but the bells in the last track are physically painful. There's definitely something good here but this is some of the worst production I've ever heard

Rastapunk
January 9th 2018


1304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was waiting for a rev of this!

Received the deluxe box yesterday, tried to listen to it but fell asleep three times... Either I'm really tired or this is in fact too boring :/

I really hope I was just tired after work!



Good fast rev by the way!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy