">
 

Tricky
ununiform


3.5
great

Review

by TheSpaceMan USER (40 Reviews)
January 5th, 2018 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist


While "Obia Intro" undoubtedly serves as the abstract to ununiform, it's hard to locate Adrian's thesis. The purpose of the album was defined in more than a few ways around its press release, but there's never a moment in the actual run time that makes a definitive argument for what it stands for. I mean sure, the inclusion of Martina Topley-Bird on the final song suggests the album is the fan-begged nod to his past. And perhaps the inclusion of so many other guests shows Tricky yet again acknowledging his debt towards collaboration. But this is pure conjecture, and I can't help but feel it's intentional for two main reasons: the album's title suggests a purposely unorthodox composition, and Tricky's music brain is certainly more layered than his image credits.

And to be honest, it really plays into the strength of the record. It allows a write-off of the scattered, barely knit ideas this collection of songs provides. Maybe I'm just easy to deceive, and it could be argued that this is a gilded tactic, but I'd be lying if I said it didn't cover some of its own warts. Because it's a pretty bumpy release. I absolutely can't stand “Blood of my Blood” and can't fathom how he confidently included this on the record; it is nothing more than 'a woe is me' electronic ballad featuring a terrible offering of a guest vocalist. But it is a valley between a few mountains. Tricky hasn't dropped some of these highs in quite some time.

The claustrophobic presence of Adrian's thoughts bleed into each of the songs. It disassociates the record from start to finish, disconnecting human vocals from tangible surroundings. His actual musicianship is more interesting than it has recently been, producing trademarked Bristol beats out of Russian and German studios. The unorganized nature of the album lends itself to a much needed variation. The stunted guitar riff of “Dark Days” provides the adrenaline shot to the meandering and shuffling of the bassier downtempo cuts, the plethora of female vocals balancing out Tricky's demonic gargling. It all feels like a patched fabric made solely out of restlessness rather than for functional purpose. And there's some sort of ugly beauty in that, somewhere.

With his 2016 album, Skilled Mechanics, I found myself asking what Tricky's intentions were. The album begged for the questioning of his motives and where his footing in musical relevance stood as he refused to regift his best offerings. ununiform is a fitting response to this, his comfort becoming less of an unjustified condemnation of his fans and more of a “fuck you, I owe you nothing”, while still including various references to that one album we all think of when we hear his name. Typical, sure, but a fitting extension of his career. And once again Tricky can be found actually translating something he cares about. He has shaken off convention and is self aware in doing so, providing a spectrum of both substance and shit because he's just writing what he wants, rather than a desperate attempt to hit what we're looking for from an artist who unquestionably peaked at the beginning of his career.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ConfieldCulprate Others
Alocasia Garden Burning the FlagsHalou Wiser
The Horrors VPinkshinyultrablast Miserable Miracles
user ratings (24)
3.2
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fuck it, wrote this real quick out of bordem. help me make it better?

Frippertronics
Emeritus
January 5th 2018


19518 Comments


so like i low key wanna schlurp your knob and didn't read this pos good review my pal

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks but i didn't need the validation

Frippertronics
Emeritus
January 5th 2018


19518 Comments


i'm lazy

"made soley"

"solely"

big doinks to you

Frippertronics
Emeritus
January 5th 2018


19518 Comments


fuck you you need validation from big wigs like I

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoa sir i didnt realize you had a tag, i meant no disrespect

zakalwe
January 5th 2018


38977 Comments


It couldn’t possibly be better space dude

Frippertronics
Emeritus
January 5th 2018


19518 Comments


You're in for a lengthy bane and a trip to Poundtown, U.S.A., mister

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

now see zak is a man I need validation from

Frippertronics
Emeritus
January 5th 2018


19518 Comments


fuckers

t. piero

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i gave you all personal attacks in the review and you still have no idea, thanks for the pos's

Frippertronics
Emeritus
January 5th 2018


19518 Comments


i heard you are not above criticism

thoughts?

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am criticism

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

use me for self improvement

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2018


4052 Comments


A few super minor things: "its" should be "it's" in the first sentence, and in "and I can't help but feel its intentional"; "decidedly" seems odd word choice (to me, at least) in "can't fathom how he decidedly included" (apparently there's a British definition of the word which I'm not familar with, though, in which case my bad); and with the sentence "and where his footing in musical relevance currently stands as he refused regift his best offerings", I feel as though "where his footing... stands" should be presented in past tense, and that perhaps a word is missing in "refused regift" ("refused to regift", maybe). Also, the semicolon in "to this; his comfort" doesn't seem necessary because the latter half isn't an independent clause. A few phrases could be hyphenated (much needed, barely knit), too, but obviously that's neither here nor there.

A couple of slightly awkward sentences and some very minor (and probably incorrect) nitpicks aside, the review was great, fantastic work. Loved how you placed the album within the context of his discography and a lot of this reads impressively smoothly. Big pos.

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

word up thanks dude, making the edits. you're right on all of em. i used decidedly as in: he did it with apparent confidence, but i'll just throw in a synonym cause i can see how its jarring. also great catch on the tense usage when I was talking about skilled mechanics. i need to work on that in the future! only thing I'm gonna leave alone is the hyphens, unless thats grammatically incorrect otherwise? only cause too many hyphenated pairs are awkward to look at in my opinion.



but for real thanks for giving it time and appreciate the help < 3

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2018


4052 Comments


No problem, my man, I've always liked your writing a lot. Definitely forego the hyphens if you're not a fan of them aesthetically -- their grammatical usage is fairly contested from what I've seen, and not using them doesn't really alter meaning all that much anyway. (:

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

blushful making me blush





bgillesp
January 5th 2018


8867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Blood of my Blood but good review!

TheSpaceMan
January 5th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn yeah its gotten some love from what I've seen, but i think its awful... opinions though, glad you enjoyed this album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy