Power Trip
Nightmare Logic


4.5
superb

Review

by Fenix USER (1 Reviews)
December 13th, 2017 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A modern thrash metal masterpiece


Rumor has it that Power Trip played any gig available while making a name for themselves in the Dallas scene. This meant they played punk gigs, hardcore gigs so maybe that’s where their eclectic style took form.

Nightmare Logic is Power Trip’s second full length album and it’s an absolute beast which I’m sure will appeal to metalheads from all corners of the world. Nightmare Logic has something for everybody; the pummeling riffs of the 80’s bay area thrashers, the violent nature of punk and the in your face attitude of hardcore.

One thing that makes this album such a strong effort is the quality of the production; everything is in its right place and the mix is just perfect; you can hear the bass, the guitars pierce through, the vocals deliver emotion and aggressiveness and the drums are potent and clear without stealing anything from the rest of the band. It’s important to clarify that this is not an overproduced album which is common now a days especially from mainstream American metal bands. I can only imagine how the trash masterpieces from the 80’s could sound with this production.

There are many good tracks on Nightmare Logic and you’ll be able to distinguish clearly the different genres that have influenced Power Trip over the years. The album is easy to listen to and goes by fast. The songwriting is very strong and I really enjoyed the tempo changes within songs, the bridges and the arrangements you find over the course of the 8 tracks and its 33 minutes of music.

If you enjoy the good old trash from the 80’s you’ll dig Nightmare Logic. Power Trips takes the best from that era and adds their own unique sound and attitude which resulted in a superb modern thrash record.

I believe this is easily one of the best metal albums of the year which has placed Power Trip on a high tier of metal bands so it’ll be interesting to see what they come up with on their next release but for now I’ll keep enjoying this.


user ratings (241)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
December 13th 2017


47098 Comments


Really fun album, but I didn't like it as much as the previous one

Digging: The Presets - Apocalypso

TheNotrap
December 13th 2017


8685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool Crossover Thrash revival. Executioner's Tax (Swing of the Axe) rules.

Have a pos.

Digging: Michael Schenker Group - The Michael Schenker Group

InFlamesWeThrash666
December 13th 2017


7367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Swing Of The Axe is one of the catchiest thrash songs ever tbh

Digging: In Vain - Currents

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2017


22783 Comments


This record is good, but I genuinely don't understand why it's getting SOOO much praise.

Digging: Ur Pale - Water Tombs & Crimson Horizons

RippingCorpse1986
December 13th 2017


969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album really needed a review.



The same goes for Gross Reality's Escaping Gravity. Guess I need to work on it someday.

Digging: Alterbeast - Immortal

grannypantys
December 13th 2017


1856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Interesting review. I've never heard anyone praise this album so highly. Maybe I'll give it another listen.

bigguytoo9
December 14th 2017


420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bought this album when I saw em in April. Great record, I actually still play it all the time. Soul Sacrifice is a really awesome opener.

DDDeftoneDDD
December 15th 2017


348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of the AOTY according to online reviewers...gonna give this another go though im not a "pure" trash metal fan...they're videoclip looks like its pulled out from the 80's

Digging: Rwake - Voices of Omens

south_of_heaven 11
December 15th 2017


5499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this more than Manifest. Both slay.

BigHans
December 29th 2017


28860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was going to review this hard, album absolutely slays.

DungeonBoy
December 29th 2017


3684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album and one of the best live bands right now

bloc
January 4th 2018


47098 Comments


God damn Swing Of The Axe

RippingCorpse1986
January 4th 2018


969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lots of fun here

DDDeftoneDDD
January 5th 2018


348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The executioner’s here, and he’s ready to make you pay"

DungeonBoy
January 5th 2018


3684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Swing of the YOW!

bloc
January 5th 2018


47098 Comments


Ugh so good. His YOWs could give Alexi Laiho a run for this money

necropig
January 12th 2018


3410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Only checked today, surprised it was on so many end of year lists.

Digging: Rapture - Futile

DungeonBoy
January 12th 2018


3684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a fun album, far from groundbreaking but solid as a rock

AdolfChrist
January 12th 2018


14622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band will put some hair on your chest.

Digging: Hideous Divinity - Adveniens

necropig
January 12th 2018


3410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There's hairier bands



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy