And Also The Trees
(Listen for) the Rag and Bone Man


5.0
classic

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (33 Reviews)
December 12th, 2017 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Patience, Bandoneon Boy.

And Also the Trees have dominated the Post-Punk cult status. Everyone involved adores them, everyone on the outside isn’t even aware this kind of music exists. But one thing is for sure, their blend of atmospheric and subtle triumph with mysterious, visceral and patient instrumentation and song-writing is beyond comprehension. And nowhere have they perfected that as on this album.

I could liken the sound of this album to a traditional European fairy-tale (say, of Grimm brothers’ authorship). It is enigmatic, slow, brooding, but magnificently chilling and piercing with its dark, menacing calm and restraint. The often soft and pleasant melodies are bittered by thick, sticky treacle of unease hanging in the air. So do the gentle ‘La, la, las‘ of the song “The Beautiful Silence” suddenly sound bittersweet and with a strongly masked torment underneath, especially as the vocalist Simon Huw Jones’ subdued and sophisticated, yet oddly nervous delivery mixes the already unnerving vibe.

But the album isn’t built on quietness only, for each song manages to escalate to surprising, but upon further rumination seemingly logical, overwhelming instrumental explosion. It isn’t bombarding you with exultant hoorays, but rather engulfs with a worrisome, longing beauty of its urgency and carefully built and written tunes set into slowly invigorating volume of its instrumental arrangement.

Songs like “Domed” or “Rive Droite” each build exactly into that rich on emotion, haunting monumental dismay and sorrow, delivered through loudness. On the other hand, cuts such as “May of the Woods” or “The Way the Land Lies” are both fonder of the quiet side of things, never really feeling the necessity to expand musically to deliver their message.

The entire album tests your patience, but never to the point of exhausting you with its slow pace. It cleverly balances the weary feelings and the tuneful music. The lyrics are magnetic in their vagueness and their mysticism is almost brilliantly suggestive without actually revealing the full story. They warn of struggles ahead in lands foreign and home, in arms of strangers and the close ones, on an odyssey and in a dwelling’s comfort. They, and the incredibly gloomy music they are accompanied by (or they themselves accompany), portray a perfect world of darkness. Not darkness of desperation or hopelessness, but rather of acceptance the light’s end, the understanding of which turns to take and what words to preach. And it delivers you its knowledge in a slow and steady manner.



Recent reviews by this author
Le Stelle Di Mario Schifano Dedicato a...Earth Moves The Truth In Our Bodies
The Burning of Rome Year of the OxPop. 1280 Paradise
Sneaks It's a MythSoundtrack (Film) Frank: Music and Songs by Stephen Rennicks
user ratings (13)
Chart.
4.5
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
December 12th 2017


8862 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Uni’s review roll 29/50

So that BlackwaterPork doesn’t think I only write anti-reviews.

Digging: Gattopardo - Gattopardo

BlackwaterPork
December 12th 2017


2459 Comments


Lmao nice job

Digging: Onyx - All We Got Iz Us

DungeonBoy
December 12th 2017


3402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Streaming in full on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUT4Y4zPo3I



Good review, pos brotha. First song is beautiful, excited to hear the rest.

Digging: Dawn - Slaughtersun (Crown of the Triarchy)

DungeonBoy
December 12th 2017


3402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The production on this thing is insanely perfect on first listen.

Sabrutin
December 12th 2017


4641 Comments


Ooh sweet choice for a review, album is stupidly good. Been binging it recently. Under the Stars is truly one of the most comforting songs ever

Papa Universe
December 12th 2017


8862 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"Reviews 29

Approval 88%"

Hell yeah, baby! Getting back on track.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2017


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oooh Papa :D



Classic album

Digging: Skitz - Countryman

DungeonBoy
December 12th 2017


3402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is reallly good, where has this been the past year?

Papa Universe
December 12th 2017


8862 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the same place it has been since 2007, oblivion

DungeonBoy
December 12th 2017


3402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2007?!?! oh man.

Papa Universe
December 12th 2017


8862 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Listen to Born Into the Waves, it was released last year.

SteakByrnes
December 12th 2017


5341 Comments


Ooooo nice review, steadily getting that approval rating back up as well :]

y87arrow
December 17th 2017


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I absolutely love them. They are my all-time favourite band (followed by Ozric Tentacles). I love what they do to my imagination, all the imaginary places I travel to I would love to go there.

And last year they released another great album.

I love when they sing about certain places, people, situations or weather changes.

Sometimes I wish I could travel to the village Inkberrow, Worcestershire, where they started.



I think this album is one of my favourites by them, after Virus Meadow. Even their "worst" albums (that is for me their self-titled debut album from 1984) are very enjoyable to me.

Papa Universe
December 17th 2017


8862 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

To me their worst was Silver Soul, but even that has its own style and charm. The debut is more of a traditional Post-Punk simplicity.

Sabrutin
December 17th 2017


4641 Comments


The debut has So This Is Silence and The Tease the Tear which are two of the most intense goth songs I can think of, but the rest of the album doesn't really compare sadly. This album instead is absolutely killer. I need to binge the discography someday.

Under the Stars is a perfect song

Papa Universe
December 17th 2017


8862 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@Sabrutin: here's a guide, just in case:

https://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?listid=177082&memberid=1053649

Sabrutin
December 17th 2017


4641 Comments


I'm surprised there's no The Tease the Tear in the go-to tracks for s/t, the central part of that song is crazy. I think Virus Meadow was a significant leap forward for the songwriting, I love the build-ups (and down) in Maps in Her Wrists & Arms. Anyway that's where my knowledge stops as far as full albums go (plus this one). I'll have to dig deeper.

Sweet work with those lists by the way like New Model Army and Tuxedomoon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy