Spiritbox
Spiritbox


4.5
superb

Review

by artiswar USER (11 Reviews)
December 11th, 2017 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is love. Make it stop.

After releasing its well-received 2015 album Hail Mary, novelty-band-turned-serious-act Iwrestledabearonce broke up, but from its ashes a phoenix has risen in the form of Courtney LaPlante and Michael Stringer's new collaboration, Spiritbox.

If you liked the more melodic tracks on IWABO’s swan song like Trips and Your God Is Too Small, you’re in luck. Spiritbox is a negative of its sister band, all the elements are still present, they’ve just been inverted; The spastic guitars and glitchy breakdowns of Hail Mary have been greatly toned down, while the elusive melodic moments of that record are the focus here.

The real meat of the EP is the four-part epic The Mara Effect. It picks up where Doomed To Fall from Hail Mary left off, weaving a tapestry of electronic instrumentation layered over massive walls of post-rock guitars and djent rhythms while LaPlante’s siren-like vocals soar over them, her singular hooks seeping into your psyche and through your skin. The last 2 tracks though, Aphids and The Beauty Of Suffering really bring back that nasty IWABO heaviness. The latter track in particular leaves some scorch marks as Courtney spews utter venom and screams ‘Leave my body in peace, no need to pacify me’ as the band locks into a disgusting mechanical breakdown, one of very few on the record.

While Spiritbox is basically Iwrestledabearonce 3.0, this is a welcome step towards an even more mature direction. If Hail Mary perfected the absolute unhinged heaviness the band had been known for, then Spiritbox has perfected the amazing melodic side of the band that has sometimes gone a bit neglected. Spiritbox is like a troubled old friend you lost touch with, only to get reacquainted with a few years down the road to find out that despite tribulations, everything turned out okay for them in the end.



Recent reviews by this author
Zack Hemsey NomadCentaurus-A Side Effects Expected
Berried Alive Fools GoldCity of Ships Ultraluminal
Hypno5e Shores of the Abstract LinePillorian Obsidian Arc
user ratings (36)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
artiswar
December 10th 2017


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a bear has once again been wrestled

SitarHero
February 1st 2018


6815 Comments


Iwrestledadjentonce

artiswar
February 1st 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

omg you found my review. can I hug you

SitarHero
February 1st 2018


6815 Comments


Ok fine. Justthisonce. Good review too.

artiswar
February 2nd 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks. Have you listened to this? I have yet to find someone who even knows about them.

SitarHero
February 2nd 2018


6815 Comments


I heard two songs. Pretty groovy djenty sound, and not at all what I was expecting from IWABO alumni.

artiswar
February 6th 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The transitions between the clean/heavy parts are next level. The video of Courtney recording the vocals for The Beauty Of Suffering really blew my hair back. She's extremely talented and I could not be more happy with the direction these guys (and gal) took on this release.

SitarHero
February 6th 2018


6815 Comments


I'll try checking out the whole album. Is it on Bandcamp?

artiswar
February 6th 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think so, but their official youtube channel is pretty cool and has most of the songs on there.

AaroN911
March 13th 2018


2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ooh great find now that iwabo is split... thanks!

artiswar
March 13th 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

no prob, but this deserves more than 3.5.

AaroN911
March 14th 2018


2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I gotta give it time, 3.5 is usually where I start with hard interests

artiswar
March 14th 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The heavy parts are brutal and the melodic parts are better than they've ever been in IWABO. I recommend you check out Courtney singing Beauty Of Suffering live, it's crazy.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pR9YdkesspQ

TooLateToGoBack
April 15th 2018


1962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlLljcLHqHQ



Music video finally released.

artiswar
April 20th 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holy fack! Thanks for the link. I was just thinking about this the other day, blasting this EP and worried that the band would fall by the wayside because IWABO had a bunch of videos yet this had none. Really fucking glad to see a bit more promotion for them because this EP is insane. I NEED another release from them in the worst way. And they should just go ahead and make a video for every song on this cause they are all killer.

TheCakeIsALie
May 1st 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really enjoyed this release. Pos'd for a solid review. I kind of wish IWABO went in this direction after Hail Mary.

artiswar
May 1st 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I wonder If they're gonna bounce back after losing LaPlante and Stringer. I hope they do, they bounced back from losing Cameron. But this is honestly growing into one of my fav EPs of all time. The clean hooks are out of this world.

Ninjahague
May 1st 2018


466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

IWABO should just stay where they are. I feel they left a nice legacy and unless their original singer were to come back, let them rest in peace.



Amazing band here btw

Digging: Dropout Kings - AudioDope

artiswar
May 2nd 2018


4309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That would be cool. I assumed they were defunct as 90% of the talent went to Spiritbox, but they're not officially over, so who knows what will happen. And yeah, this band is next level shit. It's just constant goosebumps with these guys!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy