Amy Shark
Night Thinker


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
December 9th, 2017 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A charming and youthful indie-pop EP

Amy Shark has something special going on. During a conquest to hear all the albums I’ve missed in 2017, it’s the cutesy beats of the Australian songwriter’s latest EP that keep putting all my listening endeavors to a halt. There’s something almost adolescent about Night Thinker, but in a way that’s completely alluring rather than cringe-inducing. Lyrical gems are abundant: “Why why why I feel like a million dollar bill / hanging off your arm so chill” and “Give me a drink / I get drunk off one sip/ just so I can adore you” are the first intellectual riddles to come to mind. Ok, in all seriousness, many of these lines could be readily sung and understood by a five-year-old, which is oddly part of its charm. Shark’s lyrical wordplay is unabashedly childlike: its playful nature perfectly mimicking the adorable production on display. Not every track is a home-run, but “Adore”, “Blood Brothers”, and “Weekends” are a trio of earworms that prove simply irresistible. To say Night Thinker leaves you wanting more is an understatement. Amy Shark proves to be a capable songwriter and producer, with little hints of genius buried beneath her fun, flirtatious nature. One can only hope her addicting approach translates to a full length; in the meantime, Night Thinker is a convenient, intoxicating 20 minutes.



Recent reviews by this author
Spanish Love Songs SchmaltzNatalie Hemby Puxico
Winterfylleth The Hallowing of HeirdomRunaway Brother New Pocket
Alela Diane CuspBrigid Mae Power The Two Worlds
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

My favorite EP of 2017. Indie pop is kinda my thing right now. Blood Brothers is my favorite track despite Adore being the more well known single



I think theacademy might dig this?



adore (music video)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-IoluTnuKs

blood brothers (audio only, best track)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrYtWVVMpnw

weekends (music video)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOyX42oTy1g



Digging: Trampled By Turtles - Life Is Good On The Open Road

SCREAM!
December 9th 2017


15723 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Nice review man. Been enjoying this one recently as well although I do cringe at a lyric here and there

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thx scream



Yeah I sort of felt that way at first too, but just fell in love with it. It has such an energetic, youthful feel to it that the lyrics match perfectly

SCREAM!
December 9th 2017


15723 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's mostly little things that take what could be a cute innocent, little love song and make it seem like she might have some jealousy issues to work through (the bridge in Adore kind of gives me that vibe a little and then lines like "And I hate every girl who's ever known you" in Weekend does that too). I agree it's got a certain adolescent quality to it but I can't just forget that she's in her 30s and singing this haha



It's doesn't take away enough that I can't enjoy the songs (this is probably actually closer to a 3.5 than 3) but I can't say I'd want to date a girl like that anymore

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah I can see where you're coming from man haha. But it's just so damn catchy, and I'm not taking the lyrics too seriously. If I want some more intellectually stimulating lyrisism I'll go elsewhere, but this feels sort of perfect for what it is: carefree, addicting pop music

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2017


2476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm known as a right-hand slugger, anybody else wanna touch my lover?

Thanks for covering this, was so surprised to see it on the front page.

Digging: Jazz Cartier - Fleurever

Willie
Moderator
December 9th 2017


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yes. One of my favorite EPs of the year too.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

glad to hear it Willie, I haven't been able to get these songs out of my head



@Blush, cheers man! My pleasure. I know this is basically a glorified soundoff, but those are fun sometimes with EPs like this



by the way I'm curious to hear what everyone's favorite songs are. Am I the only one that thinks Blood Brothers is potentially the best?

Keyblade
December 10th 2017


25806 Comments


charmingly adolescent isn't a phrase u want to be using these days lol

jk great rev Atari, didnt even realize u were staff now. my man

Digging: Travis Scott - Astroworld

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Admittedly not two words that would typically go together ha, but I thought it made sense with this album. Or are u referring to certain allegations?!



And cheers man! I've actually been staff for like 2 years :]



EDIT: I tweaked the summary. It was starting to irk me since Im sorta ADD...way to go 🔑

budgie
December 10th 2017


5213 Comments


i did not like this

Keyblade
December 10th 2017


25806 Comments


"Or are u referring to certain allegations?!"

i was haha

and damn, 2 years? that's how u know i've been out of it on here in that time :/

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

well 2 years in February, but it feels like longer for whatever reason.



@budgie, sorry to hear that man, can't win them all. btw, since you're here I'm supposed to thank you for the Hazel English rec per Doof. lovely listen

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2017


2476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Blood Brothers, Adore and Weekend are songs that were overplayed on the local radiostation, but I suppose that's a fault of just how catchy they are, and I think any of them are contender for best on this. I'm partial to Adore, I think, but that little refrain before the chorus on Blood Brothers is too good.

Doc says, "Girl, take one pill," and you whisper, "double that, double that."

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I love that part as well! I don't think she's on the radio where I'm from so they don't feel overplayed to me yet thankfully:] Just caught wind of this EP about 2 weeks ago





Dewinged
December 10th 2017


10823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Flew under my (meticulously tuned) radar, gotta check this out. Seems like a good intro to her music.

Digging: Tomberlin - At Weddings

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2017


23630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Hope u enjoy it Dewi!! This is much more pop-oriented than what I (and probably you) usually dig, but I find it quite addicting

Dewinged
December 11th 2017


10823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah I usually dig this kind of pop. Actually there are a couple of pop albums in my top 10 this year.



That said, this is actually pretty good, just 2 tracks in.

TheCynic
December 12th 2017


119 Comments


Wow I am loving this

Awesomesauce
December 12th 2017


1089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The "right hand slugger" line is painfully embarrassing. The rest of this ep is about on par with a Lisa Mitchell release.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy