Angelo De Augustine
Swim Inside the Moon


4.5
superb

Review

by robin EMERITUS
December 9th, 2017 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: short blurb just bc i want people to listen to this record

I’ve listened to this every day since I first heard it and don’t hate it yet. It’s here for the season -- blankets and this album. Released, quite appropriately, on Sufjan’s label, it feels like an aesthetic companion to Carrie & Lowell, offering the same burrowed and cosmically altered folk songs. Nick Drake, Elliott Smith, Iron & Wine -- that’s all I can really offer about this record in terms of description and comparison, but there’s something special in it that makes me want to enfranchise it. I want to pay it back for the comforts it’s done me over the months gone.

Angelo de Augustine whispers, uses acoustic guitars and plays the piano. Little more. There's one moment, on “More Than You Thought to Use”, where a keyboard offers a little space rock oscillation, but that’s the record’s biggest transgression -- the ground below his feet is restored immediately on the song that follows. That song, “Crazy, Stoned and Gone”, is perhaps the year’s warmest music: Augustine’s hushed voice fills the song with subliminal texture, sounding like air condensing against a window up against winter. His melodies are tiny and perfect, instilling me with the feeling that whenever they were made, they were made-up.

It’s a lovely and simple record: I’ve avoided plenty of frosty days with it and I’d like to avoid a few more with it before 2017 ends. Augustine’s music is lovely and lonely, but it also sounds empathetic: from its obscure corner of the year, it reaches out.



Recent reviews by this author
Matt Douglas Affirmation (with Discomfort)Kacey Musgraves Golden Hour
Jeff Rosenstock Worry.Okkervil River Away
Oren Ambarchi, Kassel Jaeger, James Rushford Pale CallingHuerco S For Those of You Who Have Never...
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
robin
Emeritus
December 9th 2017


4517 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

btw this is actually called swim inside the moon, not that it matters, but i don't remember how to edit

luci
December 9th 2017


10047 Comments


short comment just bc it's a robin review

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


6675 Comments


fixed
also, can emeritusessses embed tracks in their reviews?
here's the BC ftwc: https://angelodeaugustine.bandcamp.com/album/swim-inside-the-moon

robin
Emeritus
December 9th 2017


4517 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks babe

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2017


2553 Comments


m/ as fuck, love this lil ditty. fun review dude

AsleepInTheBack
December 9th 2017


5870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

easily cracks my top 5 for the year. cheers for shedding some light on this one.

solongatlast
December 9th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this needed a review. For me it was more of a fall thing but I should give it a try again now that snow has come.





Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


23788 Comments


Sounds like my kind of indie folk, added to my list of albums to hear

Thx for posting robin

Digging: Outer Heaven - Realms Of Eternal Decay

verdant
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

niiiiiiiiice

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2017


11979 Comments


wasn't a huge fan of his last one, kind of one note but if u say so

Digging: Vansire - Angel Youth

Winesburgohio
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2017


2337 Comments


omg

thank you. this is a treasure.

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

robin
Emeritus
December 10th 2017


4517 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hell yes

AsleepInTheBack
February 26th 2018


5870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this thing just grows and grows on you

Winesburgohio
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2018


2337 Comments


i'm sorry to be saccharine but this still teems and profuses with life and i still find it as indescribably moving as the first day i heard it, and i think it's great that seemingly barren textures yield opulent expanses the more u listen. might 5 lol

robin
Emeritus
March 20th 2018


4517 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

same

AsleepInTheBack
March 21st 2018


5870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, this little thing has a pulse. Makes me happy.

foxblood
July 5th 2018


9464 Comments


Idk what this is but the album cover is delicious.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy