Shiina Ringo
Reimport Vol. 2: Civil Aviation Bureau


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sabra Net Wore CONTRIBUTOR (128 Reviews)
December 7th, 2017 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Entry number one – reimported.

Civil Aviation Bureau, the sequel to 2014’s Gyakuyunyū: Kōwankyoku, captures eleven new selections from Japan’s chameleon Shiina Ringo. Traversing through several genres, styles, and sounds, Ringo is revered for her consistency throughout her 20 year-long career, with songs that can be full on big-band extravaganzas, as heard on opener “Jinsei wa Yume Darake”, a return to the bizarre soundscapes from 2003’s Kalk Samen Kuri no Hana with the blazing noise ballad “Yasei no Doumei” and the refined rocker “Jukinzoku Sei no Onna”. Like a good deal of Ringo’s albums, Civil Aviation Bureau contains a great deal of diversity within its 43-minute confines, even with Ringo’s relative preference for highly orchestrated compositions that border on jazz and chamber pop rather than rock, with minor excursions into other sounds that you wouldn’t expect her to try, but aren’t all too surprised by the decision one bit.

Songs such as “Naute no Doroboneko” mends an edgier sound to a clavinet-assisted funk arrangement, while markedly contrasting with the songs it’s sandwiched between – the lilting, delicate string-backed “Otona no Okite” and the acid jazz sound of “Karei naru Gyakushu”. A condensation of all her sounds is present on closer “Saihate ga Mitai." While gentle, it hides a lurking surge of feedback that never breaks free and dies out along with the song. What has been a constant factor for Ringo throughout the years, accounting for her consistency and several changes in her musical approach, has been her ability to put out a cohesive product; it’s impressive that for an album that is merely a collection of self-covers – material written for other artists – is somehow able to form an entertainingly cohesive piece of work. Civil Aviation Bureau doesn’t necessarily stand up to Ringo’s superior works (not that it really needs to in the first place), but offers fans a much more satisfying experience than Gyakuyunyū: Kōwankyoku did to begin with, never straying too far from its comfort zone, but unafraid of trying something new as it goes along.



Recent reviews by this author
Konstrukt and Keiji Haino A Philosophy Warping, Little by LittleTom Rogerson with Brian Eno Finding Shore
Brigitte Fontaine and Art Ensemble of Chicago Comme a la radioPrefab Sprout Protest Songs
Prefab Sprout Jordan: The ComebackPrurient Rainbow Mirror
user ratings (2)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

sup dudes



Jinsei wa Yume Darake: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDnLHd2Ei3Y

Digging: George Russell - Electronic Sonata for Souls Loved by Nature

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dw the weebs will come out eventually

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Enlighten me on the fryman's newest album @bore

Papa Universe
December 7th 2017


8789 Comments


Didn't even know there was a new album. Will check.

Digging: Gattopardo - Gattopardo

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I heard it was inspired by Merzbob, can you confirm?



It would be very wonderful to know it reached someone~

TheSpaceMan
December 7th 2017


9784 Comments


ah yes finally, a sequel to 2014’s Gyakuyunyū: Kōwankyoku

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Dare I say she follows it up with a proper album...in 2018? If we wanna go by how Hi Izuru Tokoro came soon after.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

one track i mentioned ye



also some ~rock~ songs to alleviate the nausea you get from her big band/jazz stuff

TheSpaceMan
December 7th 2017


9784 Comments


I'm a big fan of the prequel Ih Urkōro Motzankla Nūc:

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cthullu begone!

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


17100 Comments


A 'self covers' album...not sure this should be my second dip into Shiina

Flugmorph
December 7th 2017


17562 Comments


looks like i need to check this out

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You do

CalculatingInfinity
December 7th 2017


7691 Comments


looks like i need to check this out [2]

SirArthur6
December 7th 2017


256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Damn, I was prepared to review it thinking that no one else would but that's a great summary. Oishii Kisetsu, Shoujo Robot, and the final two tracks are my favourites after two listens. This album is close to being a 4 for me, it's definitely better than the first reimport but not quite as good as her other main releases.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Seeing as you covered a good deal of her other releases, I was surprised to see Volume 1 was left alone.



Very interested to see your take on this, however.

SirArthur6
December 7th 2017


256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I left Volume 1 alone just because it was such a disappointment to me. Cappuccino and Saisakizaka were two huge highlights, but so many of the other tracks lacks any of the detail in Shiina's music that I typically love.



As for this album, I'm still figuring out how the tracks stack up against the original releases. I loved the original Oishii Kisetsu and the version here is different enough but still has that energy and sparkle about it. I think I might be too attached the original version of Double Suicide to get too into the version here.

Dewinged
December 7th 2017


7027 Comments


This is an Oasis in this desertic month. Good review frip.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2017


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

A tundra befitting of...Nico?

Aberf
December 7th 2017


1615 Comments


hey lad.

Digging: Life on Venus - Encounters



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy