Lights
Skin and Earth


4.0
excellent

Review

by TundraL5Z USER (11 Reviews)
November 29th, 2017 | 106 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lights demonstrates once again why she is one of the most sensational, yet underrated voices in pop

Upon release of this record, and the first single Giants, there was a lot of mixed thoughts on it with a large portion saying it is too overblown and overproduced. I understand this criticism, although i have to disagree with it, the song was quite a good lead off single for the album, the slow mellow verses paired with the explosive chorus forms an excellent blend that you cant help but dance, at least a little to. Also i'm not American, but i'm pretty sure it tackles a topic that is very relevant at the moment no" i digress.

The single showed off the vibe of what the whole album will more or less have to offer, and I for one love how this album sounds, and i think it is one of the best pop albums of the year. However the album is not without its faults, for instance, the first half of the record is kind of underwhelming compared to the second half, apposed to a couple exceptions such as Skydiving, Savage, New Fears.

Skydiving is a great way to start off the record, super fun, catchy melody. Although i do say that the first is the weaker half, Lights still shows off her incredible vocal ability on every track. I think Until the Light is probably the worst track on the album, just because of the fact that it is kind of forgettable and the lyrics have a little to be desired.

Where i think the album starts to really find its stride is on the track We Were Here and onward to the final track Almost Had Me. It goes on quite the winning streak, and reminds me a lot of her previous records in this way. The best of the bunch to me are Kicks, Moonshine and Magnetic Field, although all of the songs in this string are fantastic pop.

Kicks and Moonshine are just banger certified, once again fun and infectious jams, Magnetic Field however is the slowest track on the album, and my personal favorite track on the album, possible because its the track that sounds most like Little Machine. This song features one of her best vocal performances to date, the songs production is simply fantastic, and the lyrics are phenomenal, her sensational high notes never fail to give chills down my spine. I think the Interlude was a good way to separate the anthem that is Moonshine, and this very slow jam.

Every time i listen to this album, i have a blast, but also feel bad that this album doesn't get the recognition it deserves, because it is a highlight pop album of 2017. I love how she changes up her image on every record more or less, with the red hair and the comic that works in tandem with this record, (despite not having read it) it keeps every new release pretty fresh, and an event of sorts. Although the album narrowly misses the mark of the fantastic electronic pop album that was Little Machines, give it a listen, it is worth your time.



Recent reviews by this author
David Maxim Micic ECOSithu Aye Homebound
Arch Echo Arch EchoWide Eyes Paradoxica
Polyphia New Levels New DevilsErra Neon
user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TundraL5Z
November 29th 2017


3038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is fixed, magic

Digging: Shadow of Intent - Melancholy

Kalopsia
November 29th 2017


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Also i'm not American, but i'm pretty sure it tackles a topic that is very relevant at the moment no" i digress."



neither is Lights, but whatevs.





pop album of the year for me.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2017


56898 Comments


I liked Siberbia but haven't heard anything since

TundraL5Z
November 29th 2017


3038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wasnt implying that she was American, although i can see how that sentence can come off that way

Divaman
November 29th 2017


4011 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was disappointed in the album. I thought it was a step backwards from last year's Midnight Machines album, although that might be because I prefer the folky Lights to the poppy Lights.

Digging: Barrie - Happy To Be Here

Jasdevi087
November 29th 2017


5624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lights is a guilty pleasure for me. This album suffers from too many cooks in the kitchen as far as production goes. Wayyyyy too many attempts at different pop tropes.

Kalopsia
November 29th 2017


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

why is this a guilty pleasure? just like what you like man, who the hell cares?

Jasdevi087
November 29th 2017


5624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you apparently, since it's not allowed to be a guilty pleasure

TundraL5Z
November 29th 2017


3038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I get that, but anything that has the Lights flair, whether it be straight pop or more grimy and industrial stuff i always seem to love it

Snake.
November 29th 2017


21779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

did not dig this tbh

Kalopsia
November 29th 2017


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"you apparently, since it's not allowed to be a guilty pleasure"



i think you're missing the point. WHY is this a guilty pleasure, why can't you just enjoy it?

SteakByrnes
November 29th 2017


15538 Comments


Guilty pleasures are for the weak

Digging: Windwaker - Empire

Jasdevi087
November 29th 2017


5624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"WHY is this a guilty pleasure, why can't you just enjoy it?"



because there are a tonne of flaws with this album that I am well aware of and would generally rip into for pretty much any other album that was guilty of them, but I enjoy this regardless, hence it's a guilty pleasure

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2017


16506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review Tundra, have a pos.



I didn't enjoy the album though, just not my thing.

Digging: Tropical Fuck Storm - Braindrops

Kalopsia
November 30th 2017


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I like this about as much as Little Machines..



Ranking:

Little Machines = Skin&Earth

Siberia (still love this to death, but it's grown off me. and the rapping parts are a big con for me)

The Listening



her acoustic ep's are great, but i don't much care enough about them to rank them or even listen to them in any regular fashion.

brandontaylor
November 30th 2017


839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was pretty generic and disappointing. her voice and charm are still there, but the production was a lot less interesting than each of her previous albums. siberia is still her peak.

TundraL5Z
November 30th 2017


3038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to agree on the rapping in Siberia, became really dated, real fast, her acoustic albums are phenomenal, ive liked all of them thus far

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2017


31602 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I had fun with some of this album when i heard it played live but it's now just a foregone conclusion that I'm going to wait for the acoustic and enjoy that much more.

TundraL5Z
November 30th 2017


3038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Then why did you 5 it lol

Kalopsia
December 1st 2017


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

for real brah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy