Slowdive
Pygmalion


5.0
classic

Review

by Frippertronics CONTRIBUTOR (112 Reviews)
November 14th, 2017 | 152 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Listen close, it's all in pain.

Pygmalion is an anomaly in the shoegaze world – not of the lush dream pop sound that Slowdive were associated with in their earliest years; not of the harsh density My Bloody Valentine were famous for, or as accessible Ride’s style was prior to their full-on excursion into mediocre britpop. Resulting from the exit of drummer Simon Scott, Pygmalion marked the definite end of Slowdive as we once knew them for nearly two decades, yet in their swan song, delivered their masterpiece that transcended the likes of Souvlaki and became something far more innovative, arguably being part of the first wave of post-rock, which included other renowned artists such as Talk Talk, Bark Psychosis, Swans, Slint and Labradford to name a few.

Pygmalion, mainly written by members Neil Halstead and Rachel Goswell, takes after a rather Enoesque influence at first glance before coming into its own and advancing beyond their inspiration into more experimental dwellings. Nothing on the record remotely resembles what came before or what would come after – it simply is isolated to this very record and is unique. While it may be incredibly outlandish to say, it’s not a stretch to say that absolutely nothing in 1995 sounded like the meditative ten-minute opener “Rutti”, the repetitively hazy “Crazy for You” or the organic, trance-like “Blue Skied An’ Clear”; and I’d be hard-pressed to say otherwise, if the delicate balladry showcased on closer “All of Us” is anything to go by. Throughout its fifty-minute runtime, Pygmalion openly relies upon its fragile soundscape that leaves very little tension to capture its audience, although a little patience is required from its listener before it all ultimately comes together as a whole. Pygmalion, in a way, is tragically beautiful. It captures a band in full disintegration but at the peak of their powers as well; its qualities lie within the sparsely ambient landscape, and whereas so much was present on Just For A Day and Souvlaki to keep the listener occupied, Pygmalion rids itself of all detriments to captivate its audience with almost nothing to work with. Slowdive as a band (or what had now become a duo at this point) had reached the pinnacle of what dream pop could possibly achieve – and as soon as they reached that high, they were gone.



Recent reviews by this author
The Stooges I Got A RightSandy Bull Fantasias For Guitar and Banjo
Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band Lick My Decals Off, BabyDestroyer Ken
Harumi HarumiBasic Channel Quadrant Dub

user ratings (469)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
SCREAMorphine (5)
Pygmalion, a personal experience....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

better than Souvlaki; Just For A Day is garbage, the 2017 self-titled isn't worth mentioning



Pygmalion: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b07n8GST2LQ



this also happened if you care, but it's here: https://www.sputnikmusic.com/blog/2017/11/14/slowdive-the-guide-to-volume-2/

Digging: Shiina Ringo - Kalk Samen Kuri no Hana

Slut
November 14th 2017


4163 Comments


hell yeah

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


whoa

Digging: Mogwai - Come On Die Young

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

personal apologies to morphine, his rev was gold

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

considering this was a twenty minute rush job idk

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


really like the 2nd paragraph

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


experimental

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

oh yeah forgot



we were talking about the jaaaaaaaaaags @futures



i see a wild card spot at least (because we know the titans are gonna somehow win the South unless Marcus gets killed again) unless blakey boy goes full eli

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


i hate to be negative with this team but bortles fucking blows chunks. he is going to implode down the stretch lose a key game to the titans and ruin the season. he almost did that yesterday but the defense bailed him out twice.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

okay let me rephrase that



"if Leonard doesn't get fucked up"

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

best hope Cousins wants out of Washington this off-season, because at this point, I think he's willing to go anywhere outside of Snyder's reach

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


YES. cousins or brees is the dream.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Brees is in no way leaving Nawlins, dude can't live without his dome.



Cousins, hell even Eli would be an improvement.

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


yeah i still really like eli. that would be cool

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Provided McAdoo doesn't get the boot, it's only fair they at least trade him or let him go to a team that isn't a complete dumpster fire.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

If the decrepit, shattered neck of Peyton Manning can win in Denver, Eli can do it in Jacksonville with Coughlin like they did twice in New York.

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


there's no way he doesn't get the boot lol dudes inept

MayhemWithMercy
November 14th 2017


3805 Comments


Yo guys should I hear this 1st or souvlaki

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well, considering it took them ages to even consider letting Coughlin leave, I wouldn't be shocked if they stuck with him for one more year for the sake of ~culture~



fuck he may be worse than Romeo Crennel



@mayhem this is better, but Souvlaki

Futures
November 14th 2017


9709 Comments


maybe



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy