Polaris (AUS)
The Mortal Coil


4.0
excellent

Review

by Durrzo USER (8 Reviews)
November 8th, 2017 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist


Polaris have been a band to watch from day one. The Dichotomy EP showed a young metalcore band that was interested in far more than adding another bland, chuggy album to the pile. Riffs, melody, atmosphere, emotion, all on display, and executed well enough to warrant a real look at the band behind it all. People began to take notice, and when The Guilt & The Grief dropped last year, the band's exposure levels exploded. It's rare to see a single EP have the effect that TG&TG did. The songs were floating around pretty much every community that talked metalcore. Just a year and a half later we have The Mortal Coil, the Sydney 5-piece's debut LP.

Riffs. So. Many. Riffs. Ryan Siew and Rick Schneider, the guitarists of Polaris, have long been the very effective driving force for the band's sound. What they put on display here is a never ending series of beautiful melodies and insanely catchy rhythms. Almost every track here is designed to make your head bob up and down. The obvious example would be "The Remedy" which may very well be the album's bounciest track. When shifting into more melodic territory the duo loses no ground. "In Somnus Veritas" is the album's melodic half way point, and several of the songs that follow it contain lead work that wouldn't be out of place on a post rock album. The chorus of "The Slow Decay" is a massive, beautiful thing. The song as a whole is probably the album's best display of the band's combination of catchy riffs and emotional melodies.

Daniel Furnari continues to kill it behind the kit. Though your ears may tend to focus on the vocals or the riffing, the drum performance is a match for the rest of the band.

Vocally, Jamie Hails (screams) and Jake Steinhauser (cleans) have always been an effective duo, and they have shown growth on each release. This is easily their best work. Jamie has settled in his mid range, making the decision to cast aside his growl entirely. One might worry that less range would make for a less interesting performance, but that isn't the case here. Jamie's shifts in pitch are subtle, but there, and he has a real talent for injecting emotion into his vocals. Anger, desperation, hurt, they all sound different, and he brings them all to the table. It's a noteworthy performance that may take several listens to really appreciate. On the clean side of things, Jake has made a stunning amount of improvement in a short period of time. While he has been solid in the past, here he sounds truly confident in his voice. Almost every track on the album gives him the opportunity to fire off a catchy chorus, and he nails every one of them. He even takes point on "Dusk to Day," and it pays off wonderfully.

The Mortal Coil contains a level of confidence not typically found in a debut album. This is a talented group of young musicians. They don't have a weak link, and what they've made together is easily one of the most memorable releases in the genre this year. Don't sleep on this one.



Recent reviews by this author
Darkest Hour Darkest HourBreakdown of Sanity Perception
In Fear and Faith In Fear and Faith This or the Apocalypse Dead Years
A Hero a Fake The Future AgainTo Speak Of Wolves Find Your Worth, Come Home

user ratings (60)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Durrzo
November 8th 2017


1475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wasn't reeeeally sure I wanted to write this, but the fact that it didn't have a review was bugging me. Album slays.

SteakByrnes
November 8th 2017


4541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review broski, have a pos



I will say that I wish Jamie didn't stop using his lows, because goddamn they were some nasty roars. At least he mixes it up with his pitch screaming here and there

Digging: Ghost Atlas - All Is In Sync, and There's Nothing Left to Sing

Durrzo
November 8th 2017


1475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks.

His lows are definitely nice. I just didn't end up missing them as much as I though I would. I do hope he brings them back in the future.

SteakByrnes
November 8th 2017


4541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea same, I'd love to hear some lows again in the future. There are so many riffs on this tho, Ryan and Rick are machines

Durrzo
November 8th 2017


1475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man they really blew me away. It's just one after another and they all sound so fucking good.

outliers
November 8th 2017


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Sonder" is prolly the best song they've ever made. Such a banger.

SteakByrnes
November 8th 2017


4541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's a funny way of spelling "Wherever I May Walk" :]

NorwichScene
November 8th 2017


2363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened to this today, it’s decent. The cleans seem to be slightly hidden behind the music, but it mostly works well

kentishh
November 8th 2017


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really impressed by this. Great review too man

Groundking
November 8th 2017


243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has pretty much everything I want from a modern metalcore album, relentless hard riffing, interesting drumming, good vocals and fantastic choruses. Cracking debut.

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2017


1808 Comments


found this to be incredibly boring and uninspired. band seems to leech off of shokran and early northlane like it's nobody's business. has some fun moments on it though. good to see ryan's sloppy old guitar covers from way back when have lead to something fruitful.

SteakByrnes
November 8th 2017


4541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't feel a Northlane vibe from them, if anything I think they borrow a lot of their sound from Architects



Ditto on the Ryan bit, I loved his guitar covers

sspedding
November 9th 2017


5182 Comments


This is ok

Piglet
November 9th 2017


7447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

very decent indeed

sempiturtle
November 9th 2017


1102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's nothing Northlane here, but yeah... Architects.

Digging: I the Mighty - Where The Mind Wants to Go/Where You Let it Go

SteakByrnes
November 10th 2017


4541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought you would dig this hard sspedding, seems very much up your alley

Piglet
November 12th 2017


7447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a lot of people are missing the periphery influence in this. I know for a fact that the local metal scene down here in aus is being absolutely inundated with this obsession for mixing in progressive and djenty influences into straight metalcore and this is one of the more obvious examples I can think of. Not sure if this is a trend across the pond but yeah so many of these bands coming up I almost know on a personal basis and all these guys who previously squandered all their talent and passion on parkway drive and amity affliction worship, now are desperately trying to find unique crossections of influences to set them against the pack. There's just too many in this style all vying for attention, Polaris is just the tip of the spear, there's like forty others almost identical to these guys with just as well produced independent releases

SteakByrnes
November 12th 2017


4541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For real, Australia's music scene is insane with how much talent is there. I hope the next band to catch on is Pridelands because they fucking rule

joshieboy12345
November 13th 2017


5401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules.

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Mortal Coil

JesperL
November 13th 2017


71 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review! I want to like this more than I do, it's pretty cookie cutter stuff to me

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy