Metz
Strange Peace


4.5
superb

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (124 Reviews)
November 6th, 2017 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sonic lobotomy.

What do you do when you can’t write all that catchy a melody? How do you peak a listener’s interest with your song, when the core structure of it reaches astonishing levels of just slightly above average? Well, you make sure everything around it is a ***ing rampage. Metz might have just perfected that method with this live recorded psychotic record.

This album clashes, shreds, bursts and pierces. Its guitars are tuned up so high they are shrieking. The drums are so chaotically rampant that they remind more of a brutal bar fight than a carefully structured, methodical play. The entire instrumental side put together then sounds like something you hear before permanently acquiring tinnitus for the rest of your life. Now, all this sounds like a rather negative, scary thing, but fear not, for this album actually manages to enthral with its purposefully aggressive, off-the-wall, sonically malicious sound.

At times it might be reminiscent of faster and louder Shellac. That is no coincidence, for Shellac’s very own Steve Albini is the madman behind the mixing table. So when you get a band as obsessed with noise and devastating sound as Metz and put on a production role someone with a lifetime experience of shaping Noise Rock for generations to come, all recorded live in what seems like a shed they transformed into a studio, the end result will be quite a ride.

The album doesn’t try to hook you with melodies to go along with the music. They are there, but they mainly serve the purpose of being the differentiating link between the songs. Right from the get-go we get a skin crawling freak out in form of “Mess of Wires”, where the band grips you and starts pushing you around like you’re the nerd that owes it money. You can pretty much expect the same kind of approach on the rest of the album. Each song is built on dreading, animalistic songs based on repetition and persuasive deconstruction of the sound they present from the very beginning.

Songs like “Cellophane” and “Common Trash” sound like a remastered version of something from the 80s or the 90s, when this kind of frantic, compressed Noise style only started gaining traction. But the album doesn’t go rapid-fire nonstop; it does provide occasional breathing points like the dizzying “Caterpillar” or the ear buzzing “Sink”. As for the missteps, you could call “Escalator Teeth” and “Dig a Hole” lesser successes for their short runtime, but even in that they bring a solid amount of beat down entertainment.

With Strange Peace Metz pulled off their most adventurous, wavy and mind-bending record thus far. It’s a trippy, vulgar, in-your-face and quite dismal experience, albeit a tad too short (still longer than any of their previous albums, though) and with more of a focus on the instrumental insanity, rather than song writing cohesion. Many will also probably fell that the clash of sonic waves and dubious production isn’t entirely pleasant. Nevertheless, this album is a must listen for anyone seeking that crusty, hellish, grinding sound of proper bodyslamming, headbanging, armswaving, kneesweakening, braintwisting, earpiercing, eyeaching, tummyrumbling, liverstabbing, toetickling, feetpinching, elbowcrushing, chinwobbling, nosepicking sound…where am I going with this? I don’t know, the album’s madness just let me get carried away…



Recent reviews by this author
Batushka HOSPODIThe Orangeburg Massacre Moorea
Black Midi SchlagenheimBatushka Panihida
Pedigree New FreakAnd Also The Trees Born Into The Waves
user ratings (57)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
November 6th 2017


22505 Comments


Uni’s review roll 10/50

This reads like a negative review, but it is not…

Divaman
November 6th 2017


4896 Comments


Nice to see you back, you little troublemaker you. I missed the whole dust-up, but I'm glad you weren't in the clink for too long. Nice job here.

Digging: Kenn Morr - Open Field

Papa Universe
November 6th 2017


22505 Comments


yeah, asking for a feature turns out to be riskier than I thought. kids, don't do it or you'll get banned..

DoofusWainwright
November 6th 2017


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ooh, this is next up on my 2017 rec list - bookmarked

minimus123
November 6th 2017


94 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review is spot on. Although I found the more psychadelic moments a bit forced, especially on "caterpillar"



Was meaning to review this when it came out but it looks like I forgot lol. It's good to see someone review it, especially as you did a fantasticc job

Papa Universe
November 6th 2017


22505 Comments


Thank you, kind people.

grannypantys
November 7th 2017


2174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This record is hot. It has a strong Jesus Lizard vibe.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2017


25466 Comments


what the hell did you say in the meds thread that got you banned for asking for a feature?

Digging: Childish Gambino - 03.15.20

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2017


18919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice to see you back Uni [2]



You are reviewing all the good stuff that got overlooked this year, good job man, and great review!

Digging: Old Man Gloom - Seminar IX: Darkness of Being

Papa Universe
November 7th 2017


22505 Comments


In the metz thread... I'm sorry, I meant the meds thread, I think I framed the request in an absolutely weird way, trying to sound polite, but coming off as a troll. I also didn't give them the link for the review. So when they deleted the request, I didn't realise that was a sign for m to go and started persistently asking where are my messages going...
They banned me for 24 hours saying my trolling was harmless enough, but that I need to stop being naive.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2017


25466 Comments


hahah that's fantastic and I could only see you doing such a strange feature request that came off really passive aggressive

Papa Universe
November 7th 2017


22505 Comments


I also wanted to point out that I don't know how to use Community. So in the end it just sounded something like this: "Excuse the novice, you utmost kind individuals, for I am of little to no understanding of even mere trust in the Community service, nevertheless it is I that with great irony arrive here with a request for help. A review of my authorship is in the archive now and it would mean a deal as big as the universe itself to me to have it up on the qualitative pedestal and receive a what they call feature. Thus I ask, just what it might take for my work to be noteworthy enough? I thank forwardly for your kindness and understanding."

No idea, what the thought to be trolling.

Papa Universe
November 7th 2017


22505 Comments


The review was The The's Radio Cineola, if you're interested.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2017


18919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol sorry Uni but it does sound like trolling, it's not your fault though

Pajolero
November 7th 2017


1088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this better than their first two actually. When I said that to a couple of friends with similar tastes in music they both looked at me like "what?", but yeah. Maybe it's not as "fun" as their earlier stuff, but it goes to some dark places and like that a lot.

Papa Universe
November 7th 2017


22505 Comments


It's definitely trippier and much longer. While their previous albums were all just sort of mindless fun, this feels more conceptual and ambitious.

DoofusWainwright
November 7th 2017


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'Mr Plague' is blinding

DoofusWainwright
November 7th 2017


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Albini is (still) the man

bgillesp
November 7th 2017


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pos, and I'll check soon. You're getting pretty good at this reviewing thing.

(think you meant pique instead of peak at the beginning)

Pajolero
November 7th 2017


1088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Albini is (still) the man"

Yea, 100%. Plus he's funny as hell too. Check his recent interview with The Quietus:



http://thequietus.com/articles/22952-shellac-steve-albini-interview



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy