Big Dumb Face
Where Is Duke Lion? He's Dead...


3.5
great

Review

by DrGonzo1937 CONTRIBUTOR (148 Reviews)
October 31st, 2017 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We're all doomed.

Duke Lion is dead. That’s right folks, he fought the forces of evil and lost. The demons rule the roost now and have spilled into our world to unleash chaos and destruction for an eternity to come. Their impending doom may have taken 16 years, but they have been kind enough to document the invasion and reign of terror by dispatching this 14-track LP onto believers and non-believers alike. The Devil’s army is courteous though: a warning is bestowed upon any brave soul who dares venture into this tale; only the strongest will survive it. Contained within this most unholy of records is skull-crushing tempos; a serenade that will melt the skin from your bones; and made complete with solos so br00tal, no mortal could hope to comprehend them. You’ll encounter metal the blackest of the black, the doomiest of the doom and thrashiest of the thrash, there is no room for respite here; its the sonic equivalent to sitting in the heart of a nuclear blast. And now that Duke Lion is out of the equation, you won’t find any of that American-folk and country here, just pure and trve death-metal -- and the occasional calypso inspired jam for when the immortal want to party. At 62 minutes, Satan’s tunes will have you holding onto your butt for the entire duration of its blasphemous and sinister ride, and I’ll be honest in saying, you probably won’t make it out alive (I didn’t). If I haven’t turned you away from the most demonic record of 2017, and you still intend to listen to the invasion, all I can suggest is tooling up before hand, and may God have mercy on your soul.

Trve rating: 666/5.

EDITIONS: DIGITAL//C̶D̶

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
Anti-Flag American FallLimp Bizkit Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water
Powerman 5000 New WaveThe Darkness Pinewood Smile
Marilyn Manson Heaven Upside DownPrimus The Desaturating Seven

user ratings (7)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thought I'd have a bit of fun with this one.



Happy Halloween everyone!

Digging: Big Dumb Face - Where Is Duke Lion? He's Dead...

CaptainAaarrrggghhh
October 31st 2017


425 Comments


So is this sort of pure metal brutality all day long, all the time? No sudden excursions into other genres and other wacky shenanigans?

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not really, dude. This one sits on a pretty straight course -- bar the occasional calypso inspired number. Which is why I think this is a lot better than the debut tbh.

Dewinged
October 31st 2017


6355 Comments


Lol this is amazing. Nice job Gonzo, had a good laugh.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers man. I was halfway through a more conventional review but felt, given the band, I'd experiment and have a bit of fun with it. Glad to see it's turned out half decent haha

coldheaven
October 31st 2017


312 Comments


I felt like I was playing Demon Souls when reading this review

Digging: Pg. 99 - Document #12

Dewinged
October 31st 2017


6355 Comments


I did the same with that Lizzard Wizzard review I wrote last week. I mean, they are called Lizzard Wizzard.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will have to check that out now dude

UniqueUniverse
October 31st 2017


7641 Comments


so this just got featured, guess it means I'll listen to it now.

Digging: Jawbox - For Your Own Special Sweetheart

SandorClegane
October 31st 2017


124 Comments


That guy from radiohead has a guest spot on the opening track too


Ebola
October 31st 2017


2867 Comments


I'm sorry, Duke Lion can't come to the phone right now

Aerisavion
November 1st 2017


1253 Comments


‘Solos so br00tal’

I fucking love this review haha

Digging: The Heavy Horses - Murder Ballads & Other Love Songs

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Much love Aeri.



And I didn't know that Sandor!

evilford
November 1st 2017


40611 Comments


Grats on featch, I liked the debut, may have to check this if I ever listen to music again

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah man, it's fucking great fun to listen to.

conditionals
November 6th 2017


532 Comments


I see we've got some troll scores here thanks to Limp Bizkit. Poor Wes

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2017


13588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can't really believe how little interest this has. It might not be for everyone, but it has got some banging qualities to it. Definitely one of the heaviest sounding records this year for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy