Kardashev
The Almanac


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged USER (12 Reviews)
October 30th, 2017 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fleeting journey through the ravaging secrets of the Universe.

There is something strongly alluring about The Almanac's cover, some flowers covered by ashes, a subtle portray of decay represented with a simple but stunning color palette, an unyielding sense of surrender to something brought by overwhelming destruction instead of pure and simple abandon. It is a simple and beautiful artwork for Kardashev's newest release, an album that continues the story of their 2013's EP Excipio, and that, according to the band: "It follows an unnamed traveler as he journeys through time and space. It is a story of discovery, humility, and rebirth." Dashing, isn't it"

Kardashev may be a well-known name for atmospheric and progressive black metal fans. The Arizona troupe is not new to these grounds, something that they already showed with their previous statement, Peripety, and that it’s made very clear as soon as The Almanac starts. A fantastic intro kicks things off featuring what seems to be a language written specifically for the album called "Alunea" in the opening "Prologue" while radiant synths and female vocals hover over an hypnotic and distant guitar arpeggio.

Soon after, the first track, "Beneath Sea and Sky", ominously approaches and falls like heaven on your shoulders while pounding faithfully over the initial display of clean vocals. A harmony that soon is to be consumed by threatening grumbling and screams alike, ruthless double kick and cosmic guitar bravado. (Think of a heavier version of Tesseract or The Contortionist thrown into space in a gigantic probe.) The substantial difference in quality in comparison to Peripety is astonishing. Not only the production feels meatier, but the melodies, the structure of the songs, everything in The Almanac represents a more mature, confident and worked out Kardashev.

The balance between enticing cleans and growls is counterweighted in a spirited manner. There is plenty of sheer brutality in The Almanac but it is quickly levelled with ambient passages like "Beneath Dirt and Stone" or with generous post-rock layers of guitar, keys and comforting voices.

The scope of every song is massive, relying sometimes a bit too much on merciless reverberation, which drowns some passages in a pit of interstellar weightlessness, but the constant flow between melodic sections and unwavering ferocity combined with the fair length of the 5 tracks that form The Almanac, benefit the album greatly, resulting in a marvelous aural journey into the depths of outer space.



Recent reviews by this author
Madonnatron MadonnatronLizzard Wizzard Total War Power Bastard
Cold Body Radiation The Orphean LyreKing Woman Created In The Image Of Suffering
Flat Earth Society IsmsEurope Out Of This World
user ratings (52)
Chart.
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
October 29th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one hell of a ride, folks.



https://kardashev.bandcamp.com/album/the-almanac-ep



They initially sold it as LP but it seems they edited the info and now it appears as EP.



Oh well.



Edit: It was always an EP and I am just dumb.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

Chortles
October 29th 2017


20842 Comments


very well done sir! pos s s s

Digging: Burger / Ink - Las Vegas

50iL
October 29th 2017


4358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ayyyy just listened to this today, was thinking of a review too

Pos

Dewinged
October 30th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aaayyy tx Chorts!



50iL thanks, go for it man! I would love to read your thoughts about it too.

Evokaphile
October 30th 2017


5904 Comments


Sweet review man. Kardashev is pimpin

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

Moge
October 30th 2017


384 Comments


The drum production does not sound like its on an iPhone speaker in this one, yay

Dewinged
October 30th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you dig this Evok m/



That's so true Moge, I can't enjoy Peripety because of the full trebled drums.



Piripichotes
October 30th 2017


415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is way better than peripety on a compositional level... isn't this an EP though?

And yeah, the drums and the bass sound cleaner than before.

Digging: Xanthochroid - Of Erthe and Axen: Act II

Dewinged
October 30th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, seems to be an EP so I gotta correct that.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2017


22700 Comments


cool review Dewi!!

gonna give this a whirl when I get the chance. I forgot my headphones at work today it suuuucks

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

BlushfulHippocrene
October 30th 2017


2015 Comments


Dewi! This doesn't sound like my thing at all but nice review, keep it up.
"I forgot my headphones at work today" :c

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Dewinged
October 30th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tx, Atari! I would have a hard time at work without my cans, hope you can power through man.



Blush, definitely not your thing ;)

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2017


5699 Comments


pos of course, Dewi, nice to see you reviewing more often! album cover is a beauty..

AaroN911
October 31st 2017


1822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is such a journey, great review take a pos

Dewinged
October 31st 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tx butch! The cover made me check these guys indeed, love it.



Aaron, thanks man, glad u enjoyed the ride!

Dewinged
November 7th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy crap, my first feature, thanks meds!

Nomos
November 7th 2017


1536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, congrats. Atmospheric bm is something I keep trying to get into but can't. But you've written a review that really makes me want to give this a listen. Maybe I'll try it at work today, if it's on Spotify.

Dewinged
November 7th 2017


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's awsm Nomos, thanks. I am not big into the genre myself neither but found this very pleasant for some reason. Hope you dig it!

Nomos
November 7th 2017


1536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh my god. I'm not even a minute into the second track. I am so glad I read this review. This is something special. I can just tell I'm going to be digging this.

Nomos
November 7th 2017


1536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everything gutteral, everything dark or heavy, it's under a sheen of crisp, pretty production that includes clean vocals and major chords, and post-rock droning/textured strumming.



This is what I wanted Fallujah's 'Dreamless' to sound like. I like how well the cleans fit. And the high and low screams are perfect. Never a stale moment.



I heard a bit of Deafheaven in the first track too!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy