10 Years
(How to Live) As Ghosts


3.0
good


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 10 Years just doing their thing, again.

I'm going to be blunt, I don't really care too much for 10 Years. They're not offensively bad, nor are they incredibly good, they're just another 2000's alt-metal band in my eyes. I could definitely get behind more than a few tracks from their surprisingly vast discography, stuff like 'Wasteland' is incredible. The Autumn Effect as a whole is a pretty solid album, and little over a decade later I can safely say that I think 10 Years has not slowed down since then.

Over here on How To Live (As Ghosts) you basically get exactly what you came for, often simplistic yet stellar instrumental work and Jesse Hasek delivering relatively well-written lyrics. 'Halos' in particular was one to stand out to me, the chord progression was very well done and the vocal delivery was complimentary to the instrumental work. Being more blunt, I feel like it would've made for a better lead single than 'Novocaine'. 'Burnout' and 'Lucky You' were other standouts to me, but, past that I can't really say I was too enthralled by the rest of the tracklist.

Again, I've always felt as if this band was just kind of whatever man, they always have just a few tracks that stand out to me and everything else just blends together. It's not bad, far from, but at the same time it's not all that impressive. Through and through though, if you've been a fan of the band for a while now and love their previous works, you probably won't be disappointed. Listen to it for yourself and form your own opinion, even if you view this band the same way I do.



Recent reviews by this author
Kitty Rose GoldKids See Ghosts Kids See Ghosts
Kanye West yeHollywood Undead Five
Kitty Miami Garden ClubNothing But Thieves Broken Machine
user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
LethalPaintball
October 29th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hope you're all having a great day, felt like writing up something so here we are



i do take criticism as always and 2 people literally neg'd this the second it went up so ????

CompostCompote
October 29th 2017


1022 Comments


Pos'ing because living like ghosts is easy. Just ask the Backstreet Boys.

LethalPaintball
October 29th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hah, good one

Drifter
October 29th 2017


15562 Comments


Ghost neggers are the worst

I didn't neg btw

LethalPaintball
October 29th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i know you didn't

all 3 of my recent reviews have gotten neg'd 2-3 times almost instantly and its really annoying me now

TheSupernatural
October 29th 2017


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe because it's much more of a sound off than a review? Check out some of the other reviews on the site, they often go much more in depth and try to offer some insight into a band's decisions and how effective they are rather than just sharing a simple opinion.

LethalPaintball
October 29th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i dont feel like that has anything to do with the neg'ing situation but hey thanks for the criticism

Drifter
October 29th 2017


15562 Comments


Yeah I see what supernatural is saying. Your reviews are very short and very informal. Still not neg worthy tho

LethalPaintball
October 29th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that's pretty helpful actually

took 7 reviews but i finally got some criticism that'll actually help

yay!

ive had something writen up for a while (for an older album) and im probably going to revise it and publish it in the near future to see how well it fairs under a new structure

SlyZ
October 30th 2017


26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very solid album...not as good as Division tho.

PistolPete
October 30th 2017


4985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Catchy album, I liked it! Defs better than Red's album from last week.

botrain
October 30th 2017


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is their best album since Division, IMO. They are going back to their roots musically and that is a beautiful thing. I'm not sure if it's because Matt Wantland is back in the fold, or what, but I'm loving it.

Feeding The Wolves was a little too mainstream/radio-friendly for my tastes.

I feel that both Minus the Machine and From Birth to Burial were experimental albums musically...although I dig them both, the sound of both albums were a much different direction than The Autumn Effect and Division.

Underflow
October 30th 2017


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this is definitely their best since Division.

Johnnycalzone
October 30th 2017


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Definitely their best album in years.

Drifter
October 30th 2017


15562 Comments


Definitely bro definitely totally definitely

bananatossing
October 31st 2017


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Maybe because it's much more of a sound off than a review? Check out some of the other reviews on the site, they often go much more in depth and try to offer some insight into a band's decisions and how effective they are rather than just sharing a simple opinion"



Was expecting more for this tbh. It's not a shitty write up, but it does read like a sound off and I have no clue how the reviewer thought this would pass as a review (negged, srry).



Hope someone will write an in depth review of this taking in consideration the evolution of the band, comparing this to their earlier work which is still their best. So far it sounds like this comes pretty close to it so I'm pumped.

LethalPaintball
November 4th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

deserves every neg

probably my shittiest review

Mongi123
November 4th 2017


20329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My problem with this band now is that they've ran out of ways to make themselves stick out like they did on TAE. That said, this is an improvement from the last one.

teamster
November 4th 2017


4133 Comments


That last paragraph...can you possibly change your mind any more times. I won't neg cause at least you are trying.

Digging: Spotlights - Love and Decay

LethalPaintball
November 4th 2017


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i thought i consistently conveyed my opinion that theyre okay, but nothing spectacular

guess not, maybe if i fleshed out my thoughts more on paragraph 2



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy