Circuit Des Yeux
Reaching For Indigo


3.8
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
October 26th, 2017 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A different kind of voice

Reaching for Indigo isn’t an album that makes you feel all warm and toasty inside as it plays out. If the primary goal of Circuit Des Yeux - aka Haley Fohr - was to take us outside our comfort zone, the mission has been accomplished. With an approach that connects the jarring and beautiful, Fohr’s vision comes to life. There are somber stretches of music -- backed by her decidedly unique, bellowing vocals -- but none of them could really be called conventional. Even more odd, are the events surrounding the creation of the album, which recall Fohr convulsing unexpectedly on the floor on a bleak night in 2016. Be it the dark concept or the way Circuit Des Yeux blends eerie experimentation into otherwise bright moments, Reaching for Indigo is one of the most peculiar beasts of the year.

The first thing that instantly grabs the listener about Circuit Des Yeux will be Fohr’s deep, far-reaching voice. She has a rare register and conveyance that’s hard to come by, and it’s essentially the backbone of Reaching for Indigo. On “Black Fly” alone, she exudes beauty, anguish and everything in between with her performance. In its second half, it’s as if the song is being recorded in the back of a run-down pet store (more specifically, a room full of aquariums and flickering fluorescent-green lights). Though it may sound a bit pandering, these little production touches fit naturally into the background of their creator’s raw inflections. The atmospheric “Philo” shifts from reflective to bizarre as pleasant piano keys lead into urgent strings and ghoulish, incomprehensible howls. There’s something haunting about it, to be sure – and the same can be said about much of the album.

It’s hard to believe Reaching for Indigo is only 35 minutes; so many weird ideas and sounds are strewn about in the madness, it feels much longer (but in a good sense). You don’t have to go out of your way to find a track with eccentric ideas. “A Story of this World, Part 2” could be accessible, were it not for the demented cries of what sounds like possessed tarzan thrashing in the horizon. On the other hand, opener “Brainshift” has abrupt, brooding brass that reminds me of last year’s Blood Bitch. That’s not to say there aren’t some serene moments of music here, but Circuit Des Yeux steers away from the ordinary. If things are sounding peaceful and grounded, it surely won’t be long before things get weird again. With her perplexing, low voice -- matched with slick, abundant experimentation -- Reaching for Indigo transcends the traditional appeal of a singer-songwriter. Whenever Haley Fohr sings, it’s as if the instrumentation around her is momentarily frozen in time; quite the compliment for an album that surrounds her with so many uncommon vibrations.



Recent reviews by this author
Nadia Reid PreservationPhoebe Bridgers Stranger in the Alps
Sannhet So NumbThe Lurking Fear Out Of The Voiceless Grave
Neun Welten The Sea I'm Diving InFalls of Rauros Vigilance Perennial
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.7
great
recommended by reviewer
Rod Serling The Twilight Zone


Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


19703 Comments


good job at making this sounds unique af and rly dark (experimental pop punk tags??). also good review man, love that last para

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

I feel like Lucid cowrote this review in a sense. One of the most intriguing albums I've heard all year



RILY: Nina Simone, Chelsea Wolfe



not a full stream, but listen to "Black Fly" and "Paper Bag"

https://circuitdesyeux.bandcamp.com/album/reaching-for-indigo

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

MotokoKusanagi
October 26th 2017


978 Comments


nice review, the two preview tracks on bandcamp were intriguing. i'll give this a spin

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2017


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

cheers fellas



@Con, this is the only album I've heard by her, but I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that pop punk tag doesn't belong here. also, thanks for the kind words :]

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


19703 Comments


ahh makes more sense, this sounds more gothic/experimental singer songwriter from your review

TheBarber
October 26th 2017


3585 Comments


Overdue is such a lovely underrated record, although a tad too close to its nico influences. will read asap

Digging: Mamaleek - Via Dolorosa

Dewinged
October 26th 2017


6483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh you reviewed this Atari, nice!



Man I had to look it up twice to be sure there was no male vocalist featured in the album. Her voice is abysmally profound. Very interesting album.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

Lucid
October 27th 2017


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, nodded at everything you said so it did feel like I ghostwrote it lol. The remarks on her singing are on-point, a female baritone is rare and fascinating. One of those beguiling records where I don't feel the need to make sense of it all, sinking into the ride is pleasurable enough.

Aids
October 27th 2017


24410 Comments


saw her open for ...Julia Holter I think? it was a really really good set I was a fan immediately. I listened to one of her other albums but not this one yet
"will check"

Aids
October 27th 2017


24410 Comments


I very much enjoyed how the word "toasty" appears in the first sentence of this review. Have a pos man. For old time's sake.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2017


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Cheers Lucid, yeah her voice is something else. I even saw her compared to Nina Simone. but yeah I never would have reviewed this if you didn't throw this rec my way!



Aids! how the hell you been, nice of you to drop by :]

BlushfulHippocrene
October 28th 2017


2017 Comments


This is a very lovely review, Atari, I appreciate how thoughtful, analytical, and yet to-the-point your write-ups have been as of recent. Both you and Lucid have had success in shaping my taste in folk and pop this year, so I can't imagine I won't love this.

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2017


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Appreciate the kind words man and just your great attitude/presence in general. And don't forget I wouldn't know Des Ark if it wasn't for you. Also dug that Adam Torres. We all shape each other's taste in a way :]

VirtualBlaze
October 30th 2017


654 Comments


Does she not want some of her albums streaming? This isn't on Google Play, unfortunately.

Digging: Squarepusher - Hard Normal Daddy

Travelhead
October 30th 2017


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This record is full of brilliant melodies and sounds!

Definetely one of the best of 2017

Dewinged
October 30th 2017


6483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually, Atari, her voice reminds me of Kris Esfandiari from Miserable and King Woman. You should check her out if you haven't, especially King Woman!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2017


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

I haven't - but I am constantly pleased by your recs! added to my list.



Was hoping more people would check this out but that's what I get for reviewing this the day before the new Julien Baker, ha

BlushfulHippocrene
October 30th 2017


2017 Comments


Haven't listened because it's not streaming. :c I might buy it today, though, based on the review and sample tracks.

Dewinged
October 30th 2017


6483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Julien Baker eclipsed everyone else haha

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2017


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

I always forget that I'm in the minority with my Apple Music subscription (I think?). But yeah that sucks it's not on Spotify or anything



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy