All Pigs Must Die
Hostage Animal


3.5
great

Review

by Kenneth Timper USER (16 Reviews)
October 25th, 2017 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All Pigs Must Die serve up another helping of the HM-2-drenched hardcore the band is known for with just enough variety to keep it from going stale.

All Pigs Must Die are a well-oiled machine on their latest record. Hostage Animal is another helping of the crust-inspired, HM-2-drenched metallic hardcore that the band is known for. With the addition of Brian Izzi (of Trap Them fame), APMD continue to build around a style of hardcore punk that is growing stale. Hostage Animal is another destructive slab of chaotic music, but where the album really shines is in its dramatic and more intricate songs.

The bulk of Hostage Animal is an onslaught of violent, thrashy hardcore. “Blood Wet Teeth” barges in with chunky riffs and wailing leads before finding a beefy groove to ride on. “Moral Purge” crams blistering technicality with galloping rhythms in under two minutes. Ben Koller’s presence behind the kit helps these songs realize their potential. The dramatic fills on the opening title track and “A Caustic Vision” elevates these songs and adds another layer of depth to them.

Back to back slow bangers “Slave Morality” and “End Without End” see the band indulging in different influences. The former climbs up staggering brooding riffs before diving into a destructive crescendo. Both songs feature twangy melodic segments that are reminiscent of certain old-school thrash records. All Pigs Must Die wisely save their intricate ideas for the lengthy tracks on the album and the payoff is wholly satisfying.

Hostage Animal exhibits the best of what this style of hardcore is known for, but it becomes tiring in certain places. “Meditation of Violence” whirrs by the listener in a cacophonous flurry without leaving any lasting impact. Kevin Baker’s vocals, although suitable for the genre, are monotonous as he does little to vary his delivery from a mid-ranged yell throughout the record.

All Pigs Must Die serve up just enough variety on their latest offering to keep their sound fresh and entertaining. While the album's shorter cuts rely on a tired system, they are well-executed and tightly performed. Hostage Animal finds success within the depth of its long, dramatic songs. Should the band continue to flirt with various influences, their next offering could reveal a new beast altogether.



Recent reviews by this author
Full of Hell Weeping ChoirCandy (USA) Good To Feel
Sanction (NY) The Infringement of God's PlanInvoke (NC) No Law Beyond
Jesus Piece Only SelfVein Errorzone
user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ktjammin
October 25th 2017


331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://www.stereogum.com/1967979/stream-all-pigs-must-die-hostage-animal/music/album-stream/



Stream can be found here. Comments and CC welcome & appreciated. Cheers!

Digging: Rico Nasty - Anger Management

botb
October 25th 2017


13067 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This band needs to bunching all their slow songs together on albums. It totally kills momentum. With that being said... riffs.

ktjammin
October 25th 2017


331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can agree with that, I thought placing them back to back was odd but they're great songs so I'm not going to complain. Riffs for days man, Blood Wet Teeth is a jam.

accompliceofmydeath
October 25th 2017


4800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've yet to listen to this, but your review has me amped.

Digging: Faith No More - The Real Thing

ktjammin
October 25th 2017


331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It'll make you want to throw an office chair out the window.

zaruyache
October 26th 2017


21106 Comments


Oh cool this band gotta jam pos'd

accompliceofmydeath
October 27th 2017


4800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just listened through for the first time. This is super good. I feel like it really stands out among all the Entombedcore bands.

cloakanddagger
November 11th 2017


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Was wondering when this album was going to get a review. Pos. Album rips hard.

ktjammin
November 13th 2017


331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks! I think this and a few other albums were overshadowed by bigger metal releases this month, but this is definitely a great listen.

Hawks
November 13th 2017


72341 Comments


Shit I need to hear this asap.

Digging: Forgjord - Ilmestykset

FearThyEvil
November 15th 2017


16836 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it sadly was too homogenous for me. Completely bored me to tears at times

ktjammin
November 16th 2017


331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's exactly how I felt about their last album, but it still had its moments. Excited to see where they'll go with Brian Izzi in the line up.

Doctuses
November 23rd 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

review reads like a 3.5 at best.

DDDeftoneDDD
March 11th 2018


5814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This shit rocks. Some killer songs. I like the slower ones to, it gets everything sludgier. Cruelty incarnate crescendo song is a pretty good example. Some cool variations and thrash reminescenses. Agree with stiff mid-range vocals critique though.

Digging: Bizu Coolective - Talkback

Chicasal
May 22nd 2018


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This record felt very phoned in to me. A couple of songs were good, i think the first and last song I liked. It felt like they basically went through the motions on this. Lacked a lot of the feel and sounded generic.

snewso
June 16th 2018


141 Comments


Not really my genre of passion, but I dig the band name. Fuck the police!

Relinquished
June 16th 2018


40416 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

their shirts are cool too

papudo
May 24th 2019


208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a very underrated album

botb
May 25th 2019


13067 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Title track is that shit

ktjammin
May 25th 2019


331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Title track and blood wet teeth go all the way in yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy