Wolf Parade
Cry Cry Cry


3.7
great

Review

by Rudy K. STAFF
October 18th, 2017 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You can't go home again.

Cry Cry Cry is the album Wolf Parade should have made in 2008, when Apologies to the Queen Mary was still blasting from dorm speakers and the wave of rage and optimism that would carry George W. Bush out of the White House was just cresting. Instead, they released At Mount Zoomer and cemented themselves as the mid-00s indie band for the freaks and the progs, the sort of reputation that led to cult followings for offspring like Moonface, Sunset Rubdown, and Handsome Furs. Their fourth album is a fascinating look at a band traveling backwards in time, a fitting entry in a year where it seems every 2005 band of the year has a new album. The sparkling new wave pop of “You’re Dreaming” is timeless or recycled, depending on your perspective; that it’s a damn fine hook is non-negotiable. The lyrical vitriol has moved from late ‘20s ennui and political dissatisfaction to late ‘30s crises of faith and political contempt, the United States of Donald J. Trump a fitting new whipping boy for Spencer Krug’s and Dan Boeckner’s verbal lashings. The lyrics to tracks like “King of Piss and Paper” and “Artificial Life” demonstrate that the 2016 election weighs heavily on the band, and the band’s way with words – mourning Leonard Cohen’s death the night before the election on “Valley Boy” being a particular highlight – has only been honed with age. It’s punchy and direct, bearing both the influences Krug and Boeckner have accumulated over the years and the steady hand of producer John Goodmanson.

In short, it’s a Wolf Parade album. Much like last year’s EP4, the aperitif the band dropped prior to a reunion tour, however, it sometimes leans too far on the formulaic side of things to leave a real lasting impact. Expo 86 and the band members’ subsequent adventures proved that the group’s weirder impulses have always been what set them apart. The ramshackle brilliance of Apologies was lightning in a bottle. Cry Cry Cry, meanwhile, swings its hips and snarls in all the right places, including the requisite six-minute plus epics in “Baby Blue” and “Weaponized” that mark the midpoint of the record. Yet in the pass-the-mic feel of the songs between Boeckner and Krug, the polished production, and the greatest-hits cataloguing of their finest attributes, the end result is less than the sum of its parts. (On a somewhat related tangent – the inexplicable decision to follow Krug’s fire and brimstone epic “Baby Blue” with “Weaponized,” an extended Boeckner power ballad, leaves the back half of the album struggling to leave its mark, an unfortunate victim of sequencing). Wolf Parade have always worn their derelict charm and slightly wild-eyed fervor as marks of pride. Cry Cry Cry too often sounds like those sharp edges have been sanded down to beautifully dull corners.




Recent reviews by this author
Taylor Swift ReputationCut Copy Haiku From Zero
The War on Drugs A Deeper UnderstandingMarika Hackman I'm Not Your Man
Phoenix Ti AmoThunder Dreamer Capture

user ratings (31)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
klap
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2017


11756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"Valley Boy" - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRslooNX4Js



bit late on this one, plenty of good choons here for the Wolf Parade fans in attendance

Dewinged
October 18th 2017


6355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It was the first thing I heard from the band and I liked it. Nice and succint review Klap.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

SandwichBubble
October 18th 2017


4777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Wolf Parade have always worn their derelict charm and slightly wild-eyed fervor as marks of pride. Cry Cry Cry too often sounds like those sharp edges have been sanded down to beautifully dull corners."

Couldn't agree more, great review!

Digging: Friction - Friction

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2017


5641 Comments


lovely review.. can't wait to give this a go.. band were pretty great

Digging: Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest

SandwichBubble
October 18th 2017


4777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

get ready to meet slight indifference head-on

actually, you might like this more than I do judging by your wolf parade ratings

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2017


16349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First couple of tunes I was thinking this was going to be ‘Apologies’ quality, but by the end they’d lost me

Digging: Cathal Coughlan - The Sky's Awful Blue

SandwichBubble
October 18th 2017


4777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Incantation was the closest to Apologies WF I've heard from them in years. Second half is weak

klap
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2017


11756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Incantation is one of the best here for sure

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2017


15558 Comments


rudy you've got that a-grade diligence

keeping up with bands like this is god's work. not that it's a bad band but man has the internet abandoned 'em

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2017


15558 Comments


fuck the hype machine bruh we klappin on em

anatelier
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2017


1978 Comments


the embedded tune is rather neutered and standard :-(

robin
Emeritus
October 18th 2017


4430 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sad

AngryLittleAlchemist
October 18th 2017


1903 Comments


>looks at the scores of reliable users

god doesn't exist after all

Dewinged
October 18th 2017


6355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There are no reliable users here ALA

klap
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2017


11756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

lol alex they're one of my favorite bands so i gotta carry that torch. heavy lies the crown

ProjectFreak
October 20th 2017


2173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

never heard of these guys somehow and I think I'm digging this, even though I'm pretty meh toward a lot of similar indie bands



every single chorus is so catchy somehow

klap
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2017


11756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

listen to apologies project

juiceviaorange
November 11th 2017


547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks for giving this a review - very fair rating and perspective on the album and band as a whole. One thing I find consistent with fans that I have a gripe with is leaning heavily towards the "Apologies" being a "lightning in a bottle" aesthetic. While that was probably their most invigorating album, it set some sort of weird bar that I feel the band and their side projects have time and time again, trounced. Obviously, I'm in the vast minority with this sentiment so I could be one of those cult-ish, prog boys you reference in the review *shrugs*. Either way, glad we have another Wolf Parade album to feast on after all these years.

klap
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2017


11756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

i feel that, and i think a lot of wolf parade fans would feel the same way. i've never been a huge fan of Krug's side projects and boeckner's stuff is great but i'll take wolf parade any day of the week. i will say i think expo 86 was almost as good as apologies, that record has really aged well

SandwichBubble
November 11th 2017


4777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Everyone listen to Frog Eyes's The Bloody Hand



also I haven't thought about this album at all since I listened to it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy