Ellende
Todbringer


4.5
superb

Review

by kingdedethefifth USER (81 Reviews)
October 17th, 2017 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A marriage of bleak and beautiful

Todbringer is a rather curious affair. It isn’t what I would call an eclectic or bizarre record, but it is seemingly unlike anything I have heard before. Its tone is one that holds you captive whilst barraging you with bleak, tortured shrieks, and dismal guitar work. This isn’t exactly treading new ground for black metal (especially the subset of black metal this album dabbles in), but the way in which this is executed is something else entirely. It isn’t a record of swelling sadness because it set itself out to be one. No, perhaps what makes this album so heart-wrenching is how it paints the image of hueless skies and decaying fauna while remaining natural and well-grounded . Whether it be through sweeping guitar riffs, flourishes of piano or through the mix of ugly rasps and shrieks, the sense of despair always worms its way in.

This is not to say, however, that joy doesn’t rear its head at all. In fact, the last two tracks of this album (if you include the bonus acoustic track, that is) are rife with a bittersweet sort of happiness. No, not quite the “light at the end of the tunnel” form of happiness, nor the “hope in the darkest of place” form of it either. What is found here, through building snares and melancholic acoustic guitar, is something more akin to acceptance. The feeling when one bears so much heartache that the only way to feel peace is to shove it all aside, and start anew. Maybe the curious sound of this album isn’t so alien-maybe it’s the sound of something that resides within all of us, urging us onward through the mire of life.



Recent reviews by this author
Horns and Hooves Morbid LustEldamar A Dark Forgotten Past
Danimal Cannon LunariaDeath in June But, What Ends When the Symbols Shatter?
Comeback Kid Turn It AroundDalek Endangered Philosophies
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
kingdedethefifth
October 17th 2017


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a seriously underrated gem imo

Elynna
October 17th 2017


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band deserves much more recognition, Todbringer is one of my favourite albums from last year. Have a pos for this sweet, little review.

Digging: Kow Otani - Shadow of the Colossus: Roar of the Earth

kingdedethefifth
October 17th 2017


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man! I'll probably listen to the rest of their stuff but we will see.

Rastapunk
October 17th 2017


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So underrated!



Nice rev!

superluminals
October 17th 2017


948 Comments


But did this review explain why this skeleton is playing a violin?

Hm

Keyblade
October 17th 2017


25181 Comments


their last album was nice

Digging: Summoning - With Doom We Come

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2017


10933 Comments


Excellent writing dede, will check this sounds really cool

Digging: Evilfeast - Elegies of the Stellar Wind

Hawks
October 17th 2017


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta check this.

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

Sevengill
October 17th 2017


7516 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yessss this album so needed a review. good work mate.



"he is a skeleton alive undead"

gold star comment

Digging: Grafvitnir - Keys to the Mysteries Beyond

Evokaphile
October 17th 2017


6489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FINALLY! Man I'm actually so stoked this got some recognition. Album is life. Hard pos.

Digging: Less Art - Strangled Light

Hawks
October 17th 2017


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This slays so far.

kingdedethefifth
October 17th 2017


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad everyone is enjoying this!

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2017


1887 Comments


Yea this was a fun time iirc, glad it got a review! Sweet little review man.

kingdedethefifth
October 17th 2017


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Little indeed haha. Might be my shortest write- up yet.

Evokaphile
October 17th 2017


6489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I cant remember what track, but there's a part where he puts a flanging effect on his vocals and its ridiculously captivating. First time Ive ever heard bm vocals utilize that.

kingdedethefifth
October 17th 2017


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's the second track and that part is fucking magnificent.

Hawks
October 17th 2017


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vox here are insane agreed.

Rastapunk
October 18th 2017


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh I always thought it was a bad download from bandcamp that got me that effect Evok. Always loved that effect so I kept it. Nice to see it was intended! That's pretty uncommon for that genre!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2017


22827 Comments


damn I love that artwork

nice little review too, I'm on it

Digging: Amy Shark - Night Thinker

kingdedethefifth
October 18th 2017


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks dude, hope you enjoy it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy