Spectral Voice
Eroded Corridors of Unbeing


4.5
superb

Review

by ComeToDaddy USER (48 Reviews)
October 13th, 2017 | 189 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dredging the depths.

The leap Spectral Voice have made between 2015’s demo Necrotic Doom and here is nothing short of astounding. The aforementioned demo played in a predictable and inoffensive way, with solid death and doom passages taking turns at the forefront. However, this created often jarring transition between the styles, and the band rarely found a groove and developed a song to its fullest potential. 2017 opener “Thresholds Beyond” immediately ratifies this issue. Crushing dirges metamorphose into bludgeoning death metal riffs that violently explode into tremolos and blastbeats, all without feeling abrupt or killing the natural evolution of the track. They’ve caught on to everything that held them back previously and built on their strengths to create a masterpiece of evil metal.

This shift may not come off as such a surprise to those that know ¾ of the band share members with Blood Incantation, whose death metal masterpiece Starspawn did a brilliant job of not allowing genre conventions to constrain the music. Eroded Corridors of Unbeing plays in a similar manner, where tracks follow often unpredictable paths for the sake of summoning the darkest and most vile music the group could manage. It drags the style further away from their binary death/doom approach and shares more in common with unpredictable masterminds like diSEMBOWELMENT than any modern blend of these genres.

Perhaps the most remarkable aspect is the relative ease with which each member traverses these styles. Eli Wendler’s murky growls dominate the majority of the album, but lengthier tracks (most notably in 14min behemoth ‘Visions of Psychic Dismemberment’) are interspersed with some of the most wicked screams I’ve ever heard co-exist with funereal dirges. Dense, crushing riffs often form the backbone while echoing swampy leads mirror their movements, building an atmosphere equal parts cavernous and suffocating. It’s difficult to blend these juxtaposing styles in a convincing way, but it almost feels like an accident here – just a by-product of writing these putrid songs. The only gripe is that, while overloaded with ideas in a concise 46 minute runtime, there is still excess that could have been trimmed. The first 3 tracks end with extended periods of static and dark ambience, with the second track and album centrepiece closing with a frustratingly meandering 3 minutes that simply grates by the time ‘Lurking Gloom’ rolls around.

Despite this minor flaw, Spectral Voice have produced one of the most unique and arresting metal albums of 2017. In only 5 tracks it traverses the full length and breadth of the metal spectrum, and while not containing anything new, it’s all so refined that it’s hard to care. They’ve carried over that certain je ne sais quoi that set Blood Incantation apart from other old school dm revivalists and summoned a slower-paced, rotten creation from some unholy abyss. Eroded Corridors of Unbeing is perhaps best summarized by a long hard look at the album art – while indistinct and difficult to define, above all else, it communicates a sense of dread that I can’t put into words.



Recent reviews by this author
Sukekiyo ADORATIOSchool of Emotional Engineering School of Emotional Engineering
Spectral Lore GnosisPower Glove EP II
Agent Fresco DestrierOzric Tentacles Technicians of the Sacred
user ratings (100)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ComeToDaddy
October 13th 2017


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's such a long time between reviews these days I always feel like I'm brushing the dust off my writing. As always, feedback is welcomed and appreciated!



This one is definitely contending for an AOTY spot for me right now. Considering the weak start, 2017 really turned around in this second half.

bloc
October 13th 2017


44385 Comments


I will be listening to this

Digging: Beastmilk - Climax

WretchedCacophony
October 13th 2017


276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Considering the weak start"

not sure if you've been keeping up then.



Album was okay the first time through. The long transitions between songs are grating

FearThyEvil
October 13th 2017


15375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So fucking good! Definitely gotta check the ep now

ComeToDaddy
October 13th 2017


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Wretched, the first 3-4 months really felt like they had little going on for me, at least compared to previous years. Definitely agree on the song transitions though.



@Evil, hell yeah. The EP is solid enough, definitely not on the same level as this but worth peeping if you dug this

necropig
October 13th 2017


3023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fvck

Digging: Chaos Moon - Eschaton Mmoire

superluminals
October 13th 2017


948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whoa look at that fancy cover

bigguytoo9
October 13th 2017


412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's a fucking hot album.

Evokaphile
October 13th 2017


5935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah awesome review dude. I was gonna write this beast one myself, but you did it fine justice. Hard pos'd. This creeps in at a low 4.5 for me but its a 4.5 nonetheless. Their dank ass chunes pair too well with a blunt not to slap a solid rating on it.

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

trilogique21
October 13th 2017


1321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

slaps n rips n slaps again

ComeToDaddy
October 13th 2017


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah low 4.5 for me too, if not for the long outros on a few tracks it's be a hard 4.5 but the high points on here are just way too good for me to drop a 4

Evokaphile
October 13th 2017


5935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty much yeah! At any rate, Im stoked this is got a proper and well written review

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2017


3359 Comments


i disagree with your sentiments about their Necrotic Doom demo, that had all the uniqueness and allure of this album -- that demo is almost single-handedly why this album has been so wildly anticipated after all, along with their live touring. and all their demos in between have more or less expanded and experimented with these sounds.

this album is just the full studio realisation of what has always been their very special funereal doom magic

ComeToDaddy
October 14th 2017


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's fair, it definitely has a similar feel to this album, it just felt rough around the edges and less carefully written than this to me. The production here definitely makes it easier to buy into their atmosphere for me

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2017


3359 Comments


I just remember buying that demo the second I found it because it had everything that makes death metal special to me. It was unique, it had the vibes of the old greats, and it had an otherworldly atmosphere that set it apart from anything else i'd heard.

Good review though, this is DMAOTY

I might be reviewing this soon but idk if I can even be bothered writing reviews anymore

ComeToDaddy
October 14th 2017


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers bud, hmu when you rev it because I'd love to read your thoughts

SitruK6
October 14th 2017


1139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gotta get on this asap

Sniff
October 14th 2017


3953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How murky is this on a scale from 1-5? 4.5?

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2017


3359 Comments


I wouldn't describe the allure of this album as being "murky". This album is beyond modern caverncore bullshit.

Thalassic
October 14th 2017


1031 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of the best metal albums of the year imho

Probably gonna end up in my top 5 together with this year's releases by The Ruins of Beverast, Amenra, Akercocke and Pagan Altar



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy