King Krule
The OOZ


4.5
superb

Review

by butcherboy CONTRIBUTOR (82 Reviews)
October 12th, 2017 | 137 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Neoteric smog..

“Dum Surfer,” the single put forth last month from his new album The OOZ, saw King Krule crack out of the languid, patient daze of his last efforts A New Place 2 Drown and 6 Feet Beneath the Moon, finding new unrest, that while decidedly more agitated, still occupied a dreamy state. The woozy number, sitting somewhere between inner-city post-punk and warped lounge jazz, edged the scrawny chav and his formidable baritone another notch up the bracket, giving listeners a sign that he may be attempting to finally step into all the potential and substance his debut and follow-up had been hinting at. His underhanded prowess as a producer and writer had always been on display, drifting below surface layers of lo-fi production and sinsemilla clouds. With The OOZ, Krule may be reaching for new ambition within the skiver mode. It works, gaining him tiers of range and voltage, without usurping the Spartan roots that gave rise to it all.

The OOZ plays out like bleak dispatches from a dystopian disco. Opiated dance numbers, occasionally sliced up by guitar ambits, a steady stream of scratchy hip-hop from some dark corner of a crumbling metropolis. Atmosphere is everything here, and Krule uses it to maximized effect. It lends the album droves of protean charm. Tracks like “Surfer,” the lazily swaying “Slush Puppy” or the strum-drunk “Emergency Blimp” would play out with equal potency at an anodyne party, you pressing close to a dance partner, or with you dozing off in bed, headphones on and skull swarming with thoughts.

Krule’s voice, still alien in its gravel authority from the pale lips of the shrimpy kid, continues to be one of the best tools in his arsenal. Indelibly soulful on slower numbers, and nervily frantic once out of first gear, it sits all over The OOZ, making every turn the music takes elegant and roughshod in equal measure. His touch as a producer is just as impressive from the hands of a relatively young contender, packed with nuance and reflection, carving a strange crawlspace between Sinatra-esque sheen, Rawkus-style bebop beats, trance and DIY indie. “Cadet Limbo” is a prime example of that busy twist, a drugged-out jazz tune, packed with ambience and drunken brass.

At 19 takes, The OOZ can and does feel overlong. But its running length does little to hamper the cohesion. The beginning, middle and end of OOZ are all as taut as they are tiptop. What’s more affecting is how confident Krule is through the album’s stretch. He negotiates his first love of hip-hop into the new multi-genre fold seamlessly, doing a better job of it than most in recent memory, to say nothing of the crude mash-ups that came from the niche around the turn of the century. It all sounds gritty and laidback and avid, and most importantly perhaps, it isn’t afraid to partake in some good old-fashioned splendour. By all standards of the trade, The OOZ is a subdued triumph, a fine show from a young, ever-promising artist whose vision mercifully doesn’t outpace his capacity.



Recent reviews by this author
The Flesh Eaters A Minute to Pray a Second to DieTragic Mulatto Hot Man Pussy
Fever Ray PlungeThe Psychedelic Furs Talk Talk Talk
Protomartyr Relatives In DescentJohn Cooper Clarke Snap, Crackle and Bop

user ratings (138)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Haygoody (4)
Crooning through melancholia...


Comments:Add a Comment 
butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

short and sweet.. this album is damn impressive to me..

Digging: Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest

Lucid
October 12th 2017


8681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, the second half of the album is killer. I listen mostly from "Czech One" 'til the end, the meandering state he taps into is beautiful. Feel like it's too easy to criticize this as overlong, he's created such a fully-realized world here.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"fully-realized world" that's fucking on point., you're right, i don't really feel this is overlong most of the time, but included it for posterity more than anything.. cheers, dude..

UniqueUniverse
October 12th 2017


7784 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Feeling a 4.0 so far, I'll see where it takes me...

Digging: Jawbox - For Your Own Special Sweetheart

UniqueUniverse
October 12th 2017


7784 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't wait to see King Krule team up with King Dude to challenge King Gizzard for the King King title.



I think that's how King Star King got made...

UniqueUniverse
October 12th 2017


7784 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, any prognosis as to when the 85-90s review series kicks off?

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can't wait to see King Krule team up with chet BAKER to make the world's biggest cruller..



i don't have any other new releases on my horizon, so i'd say tomorrow..

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


1877 Comments


commenting to remind me to read when i'm not so zombified. sure both the review and the record are top notch though, considering the respective artists we're dealing with ; )

BlushfulHippocrene
October 12th 2017


2013 Comments


Beautiful review, butcher, you're one of the best at this. Album is incredible from what I've heard, though will need to find some time to sit down with it properly.

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


16385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reasonably hyped for this now, you’ve helped with another stellar review Butchy

Digging: Cathal Coughlan - The Sky's Awful Blue

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks very much, one and all.. album is fantastic with some committed listening..

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


16385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

‘Drown’ made his vocals more palatable across a whole album because that was the main thing that made ‘Moon’ drag a tiny bit for me

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2017


6363 Comments


the kinda review i try to write, and only occasionally attain - and one which I'm sure is another scribbling-on-a-napkin-during-morning-coffee exertion for yourself. you make it look easy. lots of great lines here

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2017


13654 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i think this album is kind of shit but ill give it another try before coming to conclusions

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's too kind, Johnny.. cheers



Doof, he plays around with vocal range and little quirks here.. it's not quite as single-minded as Moon..

hal1ax
October 12th 2017


9170 Comments


review is absolutely killer as per always
might check this one

Ryus
October 12th 2017


15594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can't wait to hear thiss

Digging: DJ Richard - Path of Ruin

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks, hal..



Ry, it's a beaut

LordePots
October 13th 2017


38191 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

tightness

Digging: Alyss - Motherland

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2017


16385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On first impression this is my favourite of his releases so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy