Eighteen Visions
XVIII


3.5
great

Review

by Kenneth Timper USER (13 Reviews)
October 12th, 2017 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Put on your sister's jeans and white belt and party like it's 2005.

The adage “everything old is new again” is tried and true in the universe of heavy music. Emerging bands are finding success by adopting the brand of metalcore established in the late nineties and early 2000s. Numerous pioneers from the Y2K era of metalcore have attempted or are poised to make a comeback now that the demand has returned. Bands like Still Remains have tried to engage a newer audience only to plunge deeper into obscurity, while bands like Zao have come roaring back into relevancy, pushing the boundaries of the genre even further than before.

Eighteen Visions’ latest offering falls somewhere in the middle of that spectrum. XVIII does nothing to push the band’s sound into new territory, but it is a thoroughly satisfying return to form from a band thought to be finished. Eighteen Visions have reformed and created an album that serves as a culmination of the band’s triumphs and at times a healthy reminder of their blunders.

XVIII is brimming with punchy, downtuned riffs, gritty vocals, and heavy breakdowns. The album opens with “Crucified,” a blistering reintroduction, churning with pinch harmonics and ear-splitting screams. “The Disease, The Decline and Wasted Time” and “Spit” find the band returning to their zenith by incorporating coarse singing and infectious hooks with low, heavy riffs. James Hart’s gruff singing is a prominent feature throughout the album that serves as a palette cleanser between the shrill vocals and rattling breakdowns on shorter cuts like “Picture Perfect” and “Oath.”

The album’s glaring flaw lies in the band’s over-reliance of this formula. “Live Again” overstays its welcome by forcing a melodic passage in toward the end of the song. “Underneath My Gun” and “Spit” feature banal movie samples that add nothing to the songs and disrupt the overall delivery of the album. On XVIII, Eighteen Visions bring with them a plethora of metalcore’s tired clichés that prevent the album from being anything more than a fun throwback to a time already passed.

Eighteen Visions does nothing to break the mold on their latest album. Instead, the band offers an enjoyable throwback to the highs of their career with slight lapses into some of the genre’s worn tropes. On XVIII, Eighteen Visions cultivate an experience that serves both as a reminder of their heyday and a promising return from the grave.



Recent reviews by this author
Invoke (NC) No Law BeyondJesus Piece Only Self
Vein ErrorzoneMouthBreather (MA) Dollmeat
Left Behind Blessed by the BurnAll Pigs Must Die Hostage Animal
user ratings (60)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ktjammin
October 12th 2017


176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review #5, woohoo!



As always, comments and criticism welcome.

Digging: Bring Me The Horizon - Amo

XingKing
October 12th 2017


14428 Comments


I enjoyed these guys when I was younger but went and checked out their records again some time in the past few years and realized they were mostly trash and chalked it up to bad taste on my part. The singles they released for this sounded promising though.

sspedding
October 12th 2017


5239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was actually not at all bad

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2017


2762 Comments


Beautiful review, mate. Very, very neatly written. I tend to prefer my reviews with a bit more analysis of the album's thematic content, but that's super personal, and implies that there is at all thematic depth to be explored. Your prose impresses me nonetheless, man, keep it up.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

accompliceofmydeath
October 12th 2017


4717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another nice review. I agree with pretty much everything you said. I think I just like them more in general so I'm more forgiving of their butt rock lapses and other clichés.

Digging: Spark Lights the Friction - L'homme Robotik

dfevil085
October 12th 2017


1365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is needed a review and the record deserves more attention than it got. Pos'd

bloc
October 12th 2017


54453 Comments


I like a lot of these band's songs so I will check this out

Digging: Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Is Is

ktjammin
October 12th 2017


176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for all the input!



I actually checked out the band's old stuff after listening to this album, I think they embody that era to a T. That being said, I think is album is a lot of fun and definitely worth a listen. I don't mind the butt rock influence as much as I do the corny movie samples. It reminded me too much of Killwhitneydead, and that's not a good thing.



I agree with the comment about delving deeper into the thematic elements. I find it difficult to go into great detail about themes and lyrics without coming off as unorganized or preachy (on albums that warrant further analysis, of course). So that's definitely something I need to work on as a reviewer and listener.

Hopelust
October 14th 2017


3356 Comments


POS. Totally wanna check this. Loved certain material these guys put out. Almost a guilty pleasure of sorts.

Hopelust
October 24th 2017


3356 Comments


Bad sign that NO ONE is talking about this, unfortunately.

accompliceofmydeath
October 25th 2017


4717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude, this is so good. Everyone is fucking up.

dfevil085
October 26th 2017


1365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band never really got the attention they deserved, so I'm not surprised this falls under the radar too.

ktjammin
October 26th 2017


176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ agreed. I was actually listening to this album on the way to school today. This is definitely one of better, overlooked releases of the year.

bloc
October 27th 2017


54453 Comments


Pretty solid album. I doubt I will remember it after a week though. The breakdowns are good.

foxblood
January 4th 2018


9486 Comments


bring back white belts

Hopelust
January 5th 2018


3356 Comments


It's definitely fun when you're in the mood for it.

devilsrider
August 11th 2018


22 Comments


oh shit I didn't know they got back together

Digging: The Strokes - Room on Fire

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bump

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

accompliceofmydeath
August 20th 2018


4717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and we



wahnanana

wahnanana



will keep



wahnanana

wahnanana



this oath

ktjammin
August 22nd 2018


176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

was jamming this earlier today, still bumps



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy