Citizen
As You Please


4.0
excellent

Review

by Winsomniac USER (22 Reviews)
October 10th, 2017 | 95 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We live through written words.

As a writer who never really took to a particular instrument despite innumerable attempts, they have always been vaguely mysterious to me. As a result, lyrics and vocals have commanded my attention musically. Until recently, my instrumental tastes really revolved around the abject awe of technical skill.

As I grow up, however, I find myself drawn more and more to the complementary wedding of instruments to one another, rather than simply blasting out the fastest and most unpredictable playing possible. As You Please is a prime example of the former. As brilliant as it is understated, the album envelops the listener in an almost hypnotic embrace.

Citizen's newest LP may not be perfect, but each listen seems to reveal some hidden wonder in each song. As someone not altogether inspired by their previous work, As You Please completely blew me away from its first pre-release singles. Save a few forgettable tracks, the album is stacked with irresistible tracks littered with hints of a rich artistic heritage.

In actuality, it takes a few listens through to fully realize that each band member contributes equally and sets the stage to highlight one another. Young as they might be, As You Please showcases Citizen in perfect harmony with themselves. Tracks like "Jet," "Ugly Luck," and "Fever Days" draw you in with all the infectiousness of a flu near the change of seasons, while still having plenty of easter eggs to crack upon revisiting.

Hell, even today's criminally-underused bass is more or less excellent throughout the album, accompanied by a full cast of virtuoso performances that play still nice with one another. In a year utterly littered with releases by modern emo juggernauts, As You Please punches well above its weight class to solidly contend with the likes of a resurgent Brand New.

Sure, veritable modern-emo god Will Yip's benevolent guiding hand is evident throughout, and it certainly fits a niche like a puzzle piece, but oddly that doesn't seem to take anything away from As You Please. Listening from song to song is a rosy-goggled walk down emo-indie memory lane, with obvious influences that let you almost trace the lineage As You Please stands to inherit.

Strangely enough, I didn't actually find myself even digesting the lyrics until nearly memorizing most of my favorite tracks. Vocalist Mat Kerekes' delivery near-totally outshined the impressive writing on display from front to back. As catchy and radio-friendly as it is nuanced and emotive, As You Please listens like a masterpiece in disguise, and successfully contributes to an almost impossibly good year of releases. And if you're Will Yip, the inevitable criticism really doesn't hold a candle to the objective success.



Recent reviews by this author
END (NJ) From the Unforgiving Arms of GodTigers Jaw spin
Jon Benjamin Well I Should Have... (Learned How To Play Piano)Aversions Crown Xenocide
Tycho EpochERRA Drift
user ratings (131)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
October 10th 2017


8482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I seriously was supposed to be sleeping two hours ago. This is more or less completely unedited, so if it reads like stream of (sleep-deprived)consciousness, that's only because it is.



Please give this a listen. It's a lot better than my attempt to advertise it. I promise.

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I can't stop listening to this album, and will probably continue to do so. Nice review man, pretty dang accurate.

Digging: Pg. 99 - Document #12

Dewinged
October 10th 2017


6495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fun thing I was telling Sowing about this album just hours ago. Great review man, the album deserves attention.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It IS better than EIGTH, but it seems no one really liked that album. I must be the minority lol

outliers
October 10th 2017


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the chorus to "in the middle of it all" may be the best thing this bands ever done imo. so damn catchy.

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@outliers DUDE yes! That was the single that got me hooked, it's good to see this band progressing so much. Now, if they could only explain what the hell their videos mean haha.

Spluger
October 10th 2017


1796 Comments


Really surprised by the reaction this is getting. Gotta check this out soon

outliers
October 10th 2017


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My one complaint is I wish they did a better job in the ordering of the track list. The lack of flow is really distracting to me.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2017


22711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

flowerchild is great

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, the order could've had some tinkering done to it, which seems to be common in a lot of releases these days. But all in all, it's a great record that I'll be jammin' for quite a while.

"World", "Control", "Discrete Routine" and "I Forgive No One" have been fantastic non-single songs.

Winsomniac
October 10th 2017


8482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Ugly Luck" got me feelin' all types of ways



But yeah, honestly this album has so many awesome jams that are all just different enough from one another to really hold my interest.

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm stoked on it, I wasn't expecting this type of album after the overall sound change on EIGTH.

CuddlyCaucasian
October 10th 2017


96 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Everybody Is Going To Heaven" was balls but I loved "Youth", looking forward to this

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think I'm the only one who really liked EIGTH, and that's okay. Also, I'm sure I'm the only one that thinks Youth doesn't really age too well.

JesperL
October 10th 2017


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoyed both youth and EIGTH, but this is so much better than either.

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

coldheaven
October 10th 2017


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I enjoyed both youth and EIGTH, but this is so much better than either. [2]

brainmelter
October 10th 2017


4584 Comments


nice, so this doesn't suck?

Digging: Options - Driftwood Metaphor

Winsomniac
October 10th 2017


8482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not in my humble opinion!

outliers
October 10th 2017


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

flowerchild may be my soty so far or very least top 3

sblevins95
October 10th 2017


221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the album I knew this band had the potential to make. I have a soft spot for Youth, but damn this is definitely better. Ugly Luck and Discrete Routine are current standouts for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy