The Drowned God
Moonbearer


4.0
excellent

Review

by Claire Q. CONTRIBUTOR (50 Reviews)
October 10th, 2017 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I lived to love to death.

A man drowned in his own bed. It was atypical asphyxiation: a chest cavity filled with fluid, nose clogged yet eyes bone-dry, ears leaking profusely. He was found on the left side of the mattress, arms outstretched towards his right.

Perhaps the last moments of his life were filled with waves. The last waves of light he saw - emanating from the redundancy of morning moonlight. The waves he heard, the waves he felt - convulsions from thunderous sobs that wracked his body. His inhalations, taking in less and less air. In spite of deprivation, his valiant heart drummed on forcefully. Or maybe it was because of it.

Currents buffet him forth, roaring walls of blue-grey resonance cresting and forming anew. As they fall, he hears a metallic crash - rhythmic interjections to a tortured, irregular heartbeat. A deluge of saltwater forces its way into his mouth - he coughs up what he can. A scream, birthed from desperation, bursts out from half-submerged lungs. Light hits eyes sealed shut and blood red colours his field of vision. Useless illumination for a man who chose to close his eyes.

Eventually he does open them. You’re too late, he thinks. I’m too late. His last night, spent in darkness, had no moon. His last morning will. And what a glorious sight it is, a pale crescent not quite overshadowed by the brilliance of the sun. It seems to smile bashfully, knowing its presence serves no practical purpose. The man knows he’s dying, he can hear a deafening roar in his ears - and the song of the diurnal moon echoes, twice, thrice, until he loses track. Beauty when he can no longer want it.

(On a better day, he might have remembered that the moon pulls the tides.)

It is a delicate chiming that hovers amidst the dissonance. Distant notes travelled far to preside in terrestrial skies. He’s too frenzied to suss out the patterns, but a more sane man would have noticed their curiously melodic nature. The lowest frequencies are dense with gravity; they bear weight that befits the heft of a celestial body. That they are seemingly floating in infinite space lends an ethereal note to their existence.

When the body was found, it was noted that organs were missing. A hollow ribcage held nothing but saline liquid. The tear ducts were bursted, the auditory cortex had been incised. Authorities swept in; no foul play was suspected.



Recent reviews by this author
Enon High SocietyNight Verses From the Gallery of Sleep
Colour AnthologyBaptists Beacon of Faith
A Beacon School ColaRoyal Coda Royal Coda
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

The Ebony Void

Comments:Add a Comment 
clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

big thanks to ramon and jack for checking things over

Frivolous
October 9th 2017


827 Comments


nice review

album cover is sick as hell

FullOfSounds
October 9th 2017


15764 Comments


ay aaron played something off this in dub, was pretty tight. same with this review, nice work claire.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2017


11530 Comments


Great writing Claire, very unique and powerful review. These guys are cool.

Digging: grum~pe - Expansions and Conflations

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks guys



I feel like the next thing these guys release will either be something stagnant or the best album of the year

verdant
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2017


2254 Comments


POETRY. i mean, prose, but like, also poetry y'know

Archelirion
October 10th 2017


5569 Comments


30 seconds ago - "who is this mysterious clavier writing about one of my fave albums this year?"
just now - "ah shit yeah, makes sense"
Interesting write-up. I can definitely see the album in the review, so I'd say it succeeded :] Pos'd!

Dewinged
October 10th 2017


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Heard this a while ago, good post hardcore with really nice moments. Loving your writing Claire!

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - On Dark Horses

Papa Universe
October 10th 2017


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

clavier?! Goddamn clavier! Why?! What was wrong with sincerelyaural?

Digging: Chain Cult - Isolated

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah you innocent-minded man...that was an old name that I've decided to shed for a couple of reasons



And thank you everyone

verdant
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2017


2254 Comments


wanna point out that this albums ratings literally make devil's horns and that is super m/

edit: i have fucked up hands

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahahaha, double-jointed by any chance?

Papa Universe
October 10th 2017


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

clavier is sincerelywrong

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


23616 Comments


clavier reminds me of clavicle which reminds me of the movie Kicking and Screaming with Will Ferrell where he yells the chant "BREAK SOMEONE'S CLAVICLE" to pump up his elementary school soccer team.

take that as you will

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

definitely better than the innuendos I've heard

Papa Universe
October 10th 2017


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Okay, listen here, piano-lady! Sincerelyaural had a ring to it, it was aesthetically beautiful and pleasing. There was a spark of calming poetry within that clavier just barely reaches. It's your decision in the end and if you're happy, then so are we, but do know this, I, for one, am not ever going to be calling you clavier.

Papa Universe
October 10th 2017


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also, the album's kind of fine, but way too forgettable and tiring for my taste.

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, I don't expect anyone to call me by it - my name was always preferable

LaughingSkull
October 10th 2017


599 Comments


Does this band's name have anything to do with the God of the Ironborn from A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) ?

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2017


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I'm inclined to think it's a direct reference



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy