Sleeping With Sirens
Gossip


1.0
awful

Review

by JesperL USER (16 Reviews)
September 24th, 2017 | 86 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Even worse than its artwork.

I think I can speak for many of us when I say that serial killer documentaries are interesting. Their superficial insights into the minds of twisted people is a great way to kill (heh) time. For this exact reason, I spent an entire evening watching the ‘Behind The Scenes’ videos of Sleeping With Sirens’ new album Gossip. What was going on in the head of Kellin Quinn and whoever else is in that band when they wrote the songs that ended up on the album? What inspired the pop “rockers” to create one of the worst albums of this year?

While definitely worse than their first two albums, I quite enjoyed some songs off Feel and Madness. At times, Sleeping With Sirens was able to create a perfect balance between poppy choruses and more aggressive, guitar driven verses. Even when the band gave in to ripping off riffs or bland drumming, Kellin Quinn’s vocal range had the ability to make songs bearable. Which brings us to the first noticeable problem with Gossip: Kellin sounds terribly restrained. Besides this, he often tries to sing in a lower key and clearly struggles to produce any interesting sounds. Even when Empire To Ashes seems to build up to something engaging with some raspier vocals, the song turns to a lazy ***ing ‘woah-oh’ instead. According to the ‘Behind The Gossip’ videos, producer David Bendeth made the vocalist feel very comfortable during the recording process, which is very evident considering the incredibly dull performance. Mr. Bendeth, known for having produced other life-changing records such as Of Mice & Men’s Cold World, forces his lifeless production upon Gossip to minimise any chance of succeeding this record might have had in the first place.

However, let’s be real: this record didn’t have a chance anyway. It’s genuinely impressive how Gossip fails to have a single redeeming factor. Sleeping With Sirens is embracing the fact that it is very much the Kellin Quinn show by replacing almost all instruments with electronically produced sounds. Who needs dull drumming when you can have a single lifeless electronic drumbeat throughout the entire goddamn record? Occasionally, the band decides to throw in a guitar, most likely for the sole purpose of them being able to call themselves a “rock band”. The highlight of Gossip comes in the form of a boring riff on The Chase, which is naturally abandoned after about ten seconds.

Another remarkable achievement is the fact that Sleeping With Sirens attempted to fit 11 anthems into one album, but didn’t succeed to write one memorable hook. While their try-hard singalong choruses may not have been perfect in the past, songs like Kick Me and Congratulations at least had a bit of a fun factor. Lead single Legends is the perfect example of the many failed anthems on Gossip; the horrendous repeated ‘woah-oh’s are neither catchy nor fun, and become annoying before the 30 second mark. Almost every chorus follows a similar chorus simply repeating a line several times. Besides this, a lot of verses on the album sound eerily similar to those of their song ‘Roger Rabbit’, just a whole lot less acoustic and listenable.

While everything about Gossip is terrible, the absolute worst thing about this record is the lyrical content. Kellin Quinn had the nerve to imply that the album is full of social commentary, seeing as ‘the band has a platform to do so’. On the first lyrics of the title track, this important social commentary comes in the form of Kellin making it seem like he wants to be sucked off on his brand new backyard swing: “I've got this new thing, I've got a new swing / I'll make you fall to your knees, I'll make your heart sing / I'll turn the lights out, I'm gonna get down”. Sleeping With Sirens’ lyrics have always been aimed to ‘the outcasts’, but never as mind-numbingly lazy as on Cheers, where Kellin simply lists different names for these outcasts and slaps the title of their sophomore album on it as the chorus. While it’d be possible to go through every single song and list their embarrassing lyrical content, the most inspirational moment comes in the form of ‘Closer’s chorus: "I've been on my own, I've been feeling low / The bruises left will never ever show, no, no / And I'm letting it go, go, woah". ***ing poetry.

Don’t listen to this album. Gossip is a bad album through and through. Go do anything that is not supporting this album or band. Poor 2018 Olympic USA Team.



Recent reviews by this author
dying in designer Nobody's Happy.Have Mercy The Love Life
Free Throw What's Past Is PrologueBasement Beside Myself
Deaf Havana RitualsTancred Nightstand
user ratings (130)
1.5
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
September 24th 2017


462 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

review might not be very good, at least it's not as awful as this album. nothing is.

Drubbi
September 24th 2017


298 Comments


Wow, who would've assumed this would happen.

Great review dude, real shame since I consider their first two albums to be as good pop-esque post-hardcore gets.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2017


3406 Comments


tbh, the art is actually really damn good

definitely gonna avoid this one though

SteakByrnes
September 24th 2017


15896 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is very shitty

JesperL
September 24th 2017


462 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

thanks drubbi! their first two are really decent but at this point they should just break up imo

itsyaboicobby
September 24th 2017


77 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This review is pretty great. Definitely their worst release.

RippingCorpse1986
September 24th 2017


3226 Comments


Who would think that in 2017 many of these scene bands would sink even lower than usual? Not that I listen to them, but I've seen their new releases (Suicide Silence, Of Mice and Men, this) with lower ratings than their other albums here and on other music sites.
I won't bother with this. Nice review.

Aberf
September 24th 2017


2446 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Review is pretty good. Pos'd.



SWS had potential. Had.

LoisLnKent
September 24th 2017


2 Comments


If you can't say something nice....

Green Baron
September 24th 2017


24692 Comments


WE COULD BE LEGENDS AFTER ALL
Way to crib Fall Out Boy, guys

JesperL
September 24th 2017


462 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

god bless u LoisLnKent for literally making an account to respond

TheSonomaDude
September 24th 2017


6875 Comments


wow never wouldve guessed this would be bad

Nathania
September 24th 2017


2 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

who r u to judge dis band like its not like u wud be able 2 make anythng better so sit ur bony ass down and shut up until u make a mster piece like gosspip k x

LoisLnKent
September 24th 2017


2 Comments


I can't understand why so many of SWS fans are so quick with negative judgement. If something in life isn't growing and changing. Life will die off. I am not a teen girl. Or fall into a category. I am 56. With a 27 year old son. I found SWS on my own. And I love their music and messages to those in turmoil or self doubt. Kellin and his band mates are kind, approachable people. And they make music for their fans. Reguardless of their age or background. You can't expect Kellin to put out the same message on every album. These guys have travelled the world. And have lives of their own. I myself really love Gossip. And I can hear the effort put into this new release. SWS can't make everyone happy. If you don't want to grow and change with them. Then find a band that expresses what you need. But don't be rude and hateful about a great album so many of us love and value. This review was incredibly inaccurate. And I don't appreciate hearing opinions from people I could care less what they think. Love it or leave it. Opinion's are like assholes. We all have them. But assholes themselves. Shouldn't speak.

Flugmorph
September 24th 2017


21784 Comments


lmao good comment

probably the first time a mom commented on sput.

"And I don't appreciate hearing opinions from people I could care less what they think."
doesn't that seem kinda self-defeating?

Digging: Opeth - In Cauda Venenum

SteakByrnes
September 24th 2017


15896 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Opinion's are like assholes. We all have them. But assholes themselves. Shouldn't speak"



Your whole argument is void when you make an account simply because you disagree with the review lmao

JesperL
September 24th 2017


462 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

lmao the fact that I received a 'hate comment' from a self contradicting 56 year old brings genuine joy to my life

Aberf
September 24th 2017


2446 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Ok. Ehm.. If this is a bait, I'll take it I guess.



>"I can't understand why so many of SWS fans are so quick with negative judgement. If something in life isn't growing and changing. Life will die off."



First of all, being SWS fans or "so quick with negative judgement" have nothing to do with this review. Also, I would say if life changed into something worse, it would probably be death anyway. And so this record, it's a "bad" change.



>"I am not a teen girl. Or fall into a category. I am 56. With a 27 year old son. I found SWS on my own. And I love their music and messages to those in turmoil or self doubt. Kellin and his band mates are kind, approachable people. And they make music for their fans. Reguardless of their age or background."



Ok then, good for you. Good for them. Again, these have nothing to do with the actual product which is this album. And it's not good. But, nobody is against you for loving this album. You like it, then who cares?



>"You can't expect Kellin to put out the same message on every album. These guys have travelled the world. And have lives of their own. I myself really love Gossip. And I can hear the effort put into this new release."



What are you trying to say here? Do you even read the review at all? It's not only about the message honestly. And another thing is that, you can hear the effort put in here, is that because you simply 'love' it?



>"SWS can't make everyone happy. If you don't want to grow and change with them. Then find a band that expresses what you need."



Hey, old lady/man, this is what you call a review. I suggest that you might want to look for the definition of a review. This review has nothing to do with your statement there. It's just a piece of thought of someone who listened to this and decided to show us what is the album is about.



Aberf
September 24th 2017


2446 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

>"But don't be rude and hateful about a great album so many of us love and value. This review was incredibly inaccurate."



I suggest you read the review again. The author has presented his review in a fair manner. It's not about being inaccurate or not. It's about how he presented it. I'm pretty sure you would definitely call something inaccurate just because it goes against what you think it is.



>"And I don't appreciate hearing opinions from people I could care less what they think."



Then, what are you doing here? Why did you bother leaving a comment? I thought you could care less



>"Love it or leave it. Opinion's are like assholes. We all have them. But assholes themselves. Shouldn't speak."



Heh.. This kinda shows us what SWS 'REAL FANS' are about. You can't let other people to have a negative opinion against what you love, eh? Get over it.

TheSonomaDude
September 24th 2017


6875 Comments


what in the holy fuck just happened



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy