Cannabis Corpse
Left Hand Pass


3.7
great

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
September 8th, 2017 | 62 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: hahaha 420 blaze it am I right?

The funniest part about Cannabis Corpse isn't their name. It isn't their or song titles, nor is it the endless and surprising easiness of twisting metal classics into weed-drenched references. No, the funniest part of Cannabis Corpse isn't their schtick--it's the fact that, in the face of this bush-league humor, they still manage to be one of the best death metal bands currently making music.

Their latest, Left Hand Pass is a reference to an Entombed album (ha ha ha okay now with that out of our system let's move on.) Like most of their references, said album is a stone cold, genre defining classic, so there's no room for misinterpretation. Cannabis Corpse want you to be in on the joke because these ***-eating-grin moments were lovingly tailor made for fans of death metal. Such call outs would be flimsy when handled by another band, and after so many years they are starting to wear thin here. But as mentioned previously, Cannabis Corpse aren't just another band. Cannabis Corpse are surprisingly excellent.

For a band whose sole existence stems from a rather rote act, Cannabis Corpse sound display a lot of lateral thinking in regards to modern death metal. Cannabis Corpse sound fresh and invigorating, despite aping bands like Cannibal Corpse and Deicide (and sometimes Morbid Angel). It's a fast and bludgeoning mix of a few revered acts but with a crisp and clean twist--but not too modern or technical. Dual vocal flourishes and bouts of practical technicality lend itself to similarities between Cattle Decapitation and Revocation as well. Therefore, references aside, Cannabis Corpse aim to please aesthetically, leading to a surprisingly cohesive and palatable blend of old and new.

Cannabis Corpse are, by all rights, better than they have any right to be. Even with eyeroll inducing titles like "In Battle There Is No Pot," once the guitars start to buzz (hahaha see I'm in on it too!) it doesn't really matter. Left Hand Pass is really fun without being dumb. It's intriguing and impressive without being portentous. Like everything the band has created before, it's an album for metal fans by metal fans; a potent and enjoyable love letter to death metal. And weed too I guess.



Recent reviews by this author
Bell Witch Mirror ReaperBlut Aus Nord Deus Salutis Meae
Acephalix DecreationMiley Cyrus Younger Now
Cormorant DiasporaAfterbirth The Time Traveler's Dilemma

user ratings (39)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
linguist2011 CONTRIBUTOR (3)
"We must get Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh!"...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2017


791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

The contrib who beat me to this can have the feature if any of you mods are listenin'

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

ZippaThaRippa
September 8th 2017


10288 Comments


Cannabis Corpse are my favorite death metal band
You're not allowed to like them
You fucking hack

BlackwaterPork
September 8th 2017


1672 Comments


You're a cool guy xeno

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2017


791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I held the elevator for a woman in my office today. I had this playing in my headphones and when she asked what I was listening to I said "uhhh...The National."

TheSonomaDude
September 8th 2017


5615 Comments


this rules, mostly in part from the song names

ffs
September 8th 2017


5253 Comments


good band, nice summation of their appeal in the review

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2017


22695 Comments


lol this was a really entertaining read

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2017


55354 Comments


I've enjoyed all of their records

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

ProjectFreak
September 8th 2017


2173 Comments


"I held the elevator for a woman in my office today. I had this playing in my headphones and when she asked what I was listening to I said "uhhh...The National.""

best comment, review's good too

Tunaboy45
September 8th 2017


15609 Comments


weed xD


fun band

Digging: Converge - The Dusk in Us

Evokaphile
September 8th 2017


5853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"bush-league humor" lmao absolutely poetic

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

kingdedethefifth
September 8th 2017


4214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You do gotta respect the never ending vault of puns tho.

Also pretty good review dude.

Evokaphile
September 8th 2017


5853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

there's no other way to write a review on these guys, really.

superluminals
September 8th 2017


948 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

WEED

Aiwaz
September 8th 2017


4736 Comments


omfg sweet new album

Digging: Neurosis - Enemy of the Sun

kingdedethefifth
September 8th 2017


4214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I don't smoke a joint while listening to these guys am I doing it wrong?

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2017


791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

No, I'm p much straight edge now and managed to enjoy this. I'm an old man now but when I remember never really listening to dm while high. Just lots and lots and lots of Mount Eerie

VaxXi
September 8th 2017


4135 Comments


dude.

weed.

TheSonomaDude
September 8th 2017


5615 Comments


sm0k b01

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2017


1875 Comments


nice review xeno! i don't think the "or" should be there in "It isn't their or song titles" but otherwise i liked reading this a lot :-]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy