Stray From The Path
Only Death Is Real


3.0
good

Review

by Casus belli CONTRIBUTOR (81 Reviews)
September 8th, 2017 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While I don't agree with what you say, I'll defend to the death your right to scream it in my face

There’s two things everyone knows you don’t talk about in polite company, religion and politics. If you feel the need to take the dive into those shark infested waters and would like to not lose any friends you better keep a stockpile of “in my opinions”, “that’s just what I heard/reads”, and “well let’s see what happens’s” handy to qualify every statement you make. Similarly, people find their entertainers’ political views much more palatable the more nuanced they are presented and the more metaphors their real message is buried under (unless it’s punk music). Alternatively, you can go the route Stray From the Path takes and scream your views, spittle and all, into your listeners’ faces. These days that route is only really taken via anonymous internet posts which is honestly why Only Death Is Real’s presentation feels a tad refreshing. No strangers to voicing their opinions on the societal state of America, Only Death Is Real is probably the band’s most blunt soapbox diatribe yet. Gone are the days of throwing shade at Attack Attack for being trite scene garbage, Only Death Is Real sets its sights squarely on every hot button topic America has come across in the past 2 years and does so with all the delicacy and grace of a car crash.

Regardless of the subject matter, Only Death Is Real is the most consistently savage the band has ever sounded. Consistent, however, is the operative word as Stray From the Path has never been one to traverse any new grounds musically. The chemistry between Drew York’s hip-hop influenced vocals and his cohorts crushing instrumentals continue to fire on well-worn pistons and are just as catchy as they’ve been the last 3 albums. The addition of guest vocalists, in particular Jedi Mind Tricks’ Vinnie “You Don’t Want to Sell Me Deathsticks” Paz makes for the smallest of wrinkles that invoke a small, but pleasant, flash of interest upon initial listens. Stray From the Path bills itself as a band “on a mission to bring honest, pissed-off music to the world” but in Only Death Is Real, “honest” frequently equates to “amateurish”. This candid presentation will be the main fuel for discussion for Only Death Is Real, and rightfully so. And while as a proud brain-washed zombie of the American establishment, I personally love the country Drew York is ranting against (as I’m sure he does too),Only Death Is Real is nothing more than Stray From the Path doing Stray From the Path things, Drew York is pissed off and has a message for us, the riffs are crunchy and unyielding, and when the dust settles you and every person calling the band “liberal sheep” will probably forget about this album in a couple weeks.



Recent reviews by this author
Super Whatevr don't you wanna be glad?The Number Twelve Looks Like You Wild Gods
Russian Girlfriends In The Parlance of Our TimesAvantdale Bowling Club Avantdale Bowling Club
Towkio WWWNight Verses Copper Wasp
user ratings (108)
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
Ebola (3.5)
In defense of immaturity....

InFiction (2.5)
Stray From The Path make good on their promises, but fail to make an impact....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2017


16472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good gym music, and nothing more. Point out errors please I'm still new at this.



https://open.spotify.com/album/2tdS5cc6CXSyuPB7W3EtYK





Digging: Ocoeur - Everything

IfYouRun
September 8th 2017


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great record. I think it's their most consistent and most engaging album yet. Lyrics are blunt as hell but I agree with everything he's saying pretty much.



I expect the ratings are slightly skewed if you look at them, due to the amount of people with opposing political views voting it as a 1, but I'm not sure they would have it any other way.



The mosh call & break down on Loudest In The Room is really cool and I can't wait to hear it live. I like the addition of both Keith Buckley and Vinnie Paz in their songs, the latter adds a new dimension to the already fantastic The House Always Wins, and those Hilary and Trump samples always make me grit my teeth.



Overall, a good album, nothing revolutionary but I like what they do and say and think it's important that bands continue to fight this fight.

Spec
September 8th 2017


35872 Comments


This is pretty good background music when you're rowdy but I don't know about replay value.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2017


16472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

exactly, workout music

artiswar
September 8th 2017


9936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's their worst album by far, the riffs are barely there. Still decent though.

Astral Abortis
September 9th 2017


6745 Comments


this album is an insult to tom warrior

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2017


16472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

now why in the...Hell?....would you say that?

TooManyFriends
September 9th 2017


3253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

whiteisright69 gives this album a 1.0!



band is fun enough, songs will bang live. always room for songs about punching nazis in the face. very little beyond the surface level but eh comes with the territory

Astral Abortis
September 9th 2017


6745 Comments


because "only death is real" is THE trademark Hellhammer icon that adorns Tom Warrior's biography, has been acknowledged as having a special significance in metal underground for decades now, only for a shitty deathcore band to take it for their own political agenda

it's INSULTING

TooManyFriends
September 9th 2017


3253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

deathcore band lol

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2017


16472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey, shitty metalcore band sir but i see i see.

artiswar
September 9th 2017


9936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think the title of the album is sadly appropriate for our current times

Astral Abortis
September 9th 2017


6745 Comments


sadly stolen from thirty years ago*

Scoot
September 9th 2017


19687 Comments


make your own history and rising sun are bangers

Digging: Wake - Devouring Ruin

Cosmiche
September 11th 2017


347 Comments


pretty disappointing. i give rising sun, anonymous, and even subliminal criminal regular listens, but this just isn't as interesting.

let's make a deal goes hard tho

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2017


16472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i wish all of rising sun was as good as the first like 5 songs though

BeyondCosby
September 11th 2017


2727 Comments


It's super fun, but so far nothing really grabs. It bangs... but I wish it had a few more standout moments.

rc239
September 15th 2017


285 Comments


make your own history was pretty great but aside from that their discography doesn't have much to offer

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2017


16472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they all offer the same stuff too so if you like it that's good but if not..

Memecore
September 25th 2017


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol at alt-rightists instantly giving this a 1 with multiple accounts. I swear to the gods, fascists are the whiniest bunch of sensitive pussies on the planet. You have absolutely no idea how bad a 1 rated album sounds like and it isn't this.



Politics aside it sounds really good. It deserves a 3.5 but I'm giving it a 4 because if you make a empirically good album while pissing of everyone it means you're doing something right in the hardcore scene.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy