Der Weg Einer Freiheit
Finisterre


4.5
superb

Review

by Dean M CONTRIBUTOR (23 Reviews)
August 31st, 2017 | 260 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Striking an impressive balance between jaw-dropping intensity and staggering emotional depth, Finisterre is a standout work of black metal.

For about a minute, Finisterre sounds as though it might be a fairly standard black metal album. Opener “Aufbruch” begins with a spoken word introduction and a gentle, isolated guitar melody, a fairly obvious preamble to an explosion of blast beats and distorted tremolo that most fans of black metal will likely see coming. But then the explosion hits, and dear God, does it explode. The jarring intensity is largely thanks to Tobias Schuler, whose machine gun drumming is presented in unusual clarity for a genre that largely privileges the lo-fi and atmospheric; every rapid snare hit is crisp and arresting. Combined with Nikita Kamprad’s visceral, unhinged screams, the breakneck blast beats create an urgent, ferocious energy that immediately establishes Der Weg Einer Freiheit as a unique force in the black metal scene.

But while the drums are often the star of Finisterre, the key to the album’s success is how Der Weg Einer Freiheit works as a cohesive unit. Even when they’re at full power, Schuler’s drumming and Kamprad’s vocals leave plenty of room for the interplay of guitars to set a devastating yet gorgeous emotional tone. The band is more than willing to pull back at times, catching their breath by engaging in more deliberate or subdued moments. The result is an album that shifts seamlessly between wreaking apocalyptic havoc, howling in despair under the weight of the destruction, and sifting through the wreckage after the fact. Finisterre is a gripping experience all the way through, and a standout work of black metal.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dead Mantra Saudade ForeverMuscle and Marrow Love
HIRS Friends. Lovers. Favorites.Marmozets Knowing What You Know Now
Fever Ray PlungeHammock Mysterium
user ratings (157)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2017


1053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks to Conmaniac and AsleepInTheBack for helping with revisions

Digging: Thou - Magus

Essence
August 31st 2017


6219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah the drumming REALLY stands out in this album



also the production makes the band feel so alive, the last album was soooooooooooooooo overpolished

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2017


23738 Comments


you beat me to it, this album's nuts

Digging: Elise Davis - Cactus

BlackwaterPork
August 31st 2017


4182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank god this got a review

AsleepInTheBack
August 31st 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, tempted to check it

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2017


1053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Essence i haven't heard their last album yet, but i agree that the production on this one is stellar. i think it's part of why the drumming stands out so much

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2017


23738 Comments


nice write-up by the way. their last album is cool but this is far better

Archelirion
August 31st 2017


5569 Comments


Phwoooaoaaaaarrrrrrr I'm gonna need to give this a listen. Lovely little write up.

Phwoar.

Essence
August 31st 2017


6219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

probably best bm i've heard thusfar this year

Archelirion
August 31st 2017


5569 Comments


Havukruunu is going to take some beating for me, but if this can match it then I'll be a very happy bunny

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2017


23616 Comments


yummy review man, reads very neatly!

Essence
August 31st 2017


6219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

oh yeah that's a good one too



although the songs are kinda same-y, but in an enjoyable amon amarth way

Evok
August 31st 2017


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds right up my alley. Gotta check this.

Digging: Dysylumn - Occultation

Sunnyvale
August 31st 2017


814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't really care much for the first track, but once this gets going it jams.

Hawks
August 31st 2017


59781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best modern bm bands around hands down. This is prob their best too, tied with Bestia Arcana's new album for best bm so far this year.

Digging: Convulsing - Grievous

Maco097
August 31st 2017


2922 Comments


For once you're actually right *claps* .

Sunnyvale
August 31st 2017


814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually haven't listened to them before, probably gonna have to listen to their back catalog



Hawks
August 31st 2017


59781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shut up Mac. [289489238943894]



But yeah Sunny get everything they've done.

Sunnyvale
August 31st 2017


814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will do! Might take me a bit though, so much music



ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2017


11528 Comments


Nice succinct review man, band rules gotta check this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy