Sannhet
So Numb


3.3
great

Review

by Atari STAFF
August 31st, 2017 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's all about your perception

So Numb is an album that instantly draws you in with its towering concept: an intimate and solely instrumental study of life’s unavoidable suffering - but more importantly, the light that awaits us at the end of the tunnel. With the trio channeling their demons of addiction and mental health struggles into their music, Sannhet have unleashed a narrative-driven follow-up to Revisionist that depicts a mother trying in vain to mask her son’s eyes from the world’s cold realities. Try as she may, her protective arm only encourages bad habits in her son, pushing him to seek comfort in the temporary shelters from the real world.

This is where So Numb seems to operate: in those brief in-between moments when we escape our reality and just let go. For an album dealing with such heavy themes, it often feels more tranquil than it does dark. Even as the thundering drums and bass kick into overdrive on “Salts” or “Indigo Illusion”, there’s always a sense of beauty in the alluring instrumentation. Much of it, though, is near-impossible to describe. With a sound that dabbles in so many genres from post-rock to black metal, none of the songs feel firmly rooted to a specific style. “Secondary Arrows” has touches of classical with its warm, hushed piano; on the other hand, “Wind Up” is a unique ambient track full of vibrant, crashing sounds that loop in circles with ease. This sense of unpredictability and Sannhet’s precise attention to detail give So Numb a riveting aura, despite some imperfections.

So Numb is – for better or for worse – what you perceive it to be. Everyone experiences suffering in a different way, so putting an album of this nature under scrutiny is a difficult task. Even so, it feels like the music could use an extra kick at times given the subject matter at hand. It’s a complex, gorgeous sounding album with a stirring theme, but the music is rarely melancholic or jarring enough to match life’s unspeakable sadness; instead, it seems to be a beacon of optimism during dark times. In many ways, it feels more relaxed and indirect than its predecessor, leaving plenty of room for your imagination to run wild. Gone are the bizarre dialogue snippets heard on “Revisionist”, but the soaring blackgaze elements on the title track and the minimalistic flow of “Fernbeds” prove just as captivating. How well the music ties into the concept is largely personal, but So Numb is an absorbing collection of soundscapes and drones that allow you to escape reality – if only for a moment.




Recent reviews by this author
Circuit Des Yeux Reaching For IndigoNadia Reid Preservation
Phoebe Bridgers Stranger in the AlpsThe Lurking Fear Out Of The Voiceless Grave
Neun Welten The Sea I'm Diving InFalls of Rauros Vigilance Perennial

user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 30th 2017


22695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

big thanks to Rowan for the proofread! feedback much appreciated



album has some really nice moments but also some slow ones (the title track and salts are 2 of the best imo) fans of post-rock/metal, experimental or blackgaze should give it a shot







Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

Hawks
August 30th 2017


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've only heard Known Flood and don't like it at all, but I promised Zar I would jam this sooooo I'm gonna give it a go now. m/



Ok yeah def not digging this one either. Band bores me hard. :[

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2017


22695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

all good. I'm working on a write-up for Finisterre if that makes you feel better Hawks :] that one floored me

artiswar
August 31st 2017


1663 Comments


Been listening to this a lot. The way I see it, the album's 'hope' is intertwined with its darkness to the extent that neither can exist without the other. Even while the album is raising my spirit, it's making me dwell on the bad times. It's an intimate cocktail of mixed emotions that can be as draining as it is hypnotic.

Hawks
August 31st 2017


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yessss great news! Idk if it's better than their s/t but it's very, very close.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2017


22695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

@artiswar, well put, man. I think with it being an instrumental album there's a lot left up to our interpretation. any favorite tracks?

Taxt
August 31st 2017


1048 Comments


This is pretty solid. Really cool guitar tones.

Spacesh1p
August 31st 2017


7099 Comments


Band is boring Pitchfork core. Don't see why they get any hype to be honest.

Nice short review though.

Digging: Deadbeat - Drawn and Quartered

Willie
Moderator
August 31st 2017


17302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

This is pretty good, but I can only really get into their debut.

Digging: Adimiron - Et Liber Eris

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2017


5646 Comments


Beauty of a write-up.. can't say I'll be checking this

Digging: Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest

RustCohle
August 31st 2017


193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The debut is the most vicious of their releases, but this is surely a good output, seriously wondering why it gets such weak reception here on sputnik.

Digging: Amenra - Mass VI

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2017


22695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

cheers butcher and spaceman, glad you enjoyed the review even if you find them boring



I need to get on their debut, only heard this and Revisionist







ProjectFreak
August 31st 2017


2173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice work Atari. Giving this a shot now and I adore the production.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2017


19641 Comments


ayy an Atari review, much love (:

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2017


19641 Comments


wonderfully written man as usual. sounds like a cool conceptual album, love it when instrumental albums are like that.

Sniff
August 31st 2017


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So Numb is also the feeling this conveys. So great job on aptly naming the album.

kingdedethefifth
August 31st 2017


4212 Comments


Once I'm off my Emperor binge I'll probably check this haha

artiswar
August 31st 2017


1663 Comments


@atari

The Way Out, Sleep Well and Secondary Arrows stand out the most to me right now. I love the moments of Cure Disintegration worship that are peppered in. Also despite how long and minimalist the single Salts is, its grown on me a lot.

Wizard
August 31st 2017


20124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Perfect review!

Hawks
August 31st 2017


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Don't waste your time King.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy