Turnover
Good Nature


2.4
average

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
August 27th, 2017 | 174 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thinner at the waistline

The difference between Good Nature and its predecessor is one of focus, of clarity. This is an album where what was previously in the, sigh, peripheral vision has been placed in-focus, centre-stage and rendered undeniable. The problem is: what was so appealing as a blurry, half-remembered thought is nothing special when recaptured; David Gilmour never clarified that fleeting glimpse out of the corner of his eye, because he knew (like we all do) that it could never live up to what we'd made it to be in our heads.

Where, then, to look? Peripheral Vision was a sly, duplicitous album, where shocking acts of violence and suicidal thoughts sat comfortably alongside guitar lines made from pure childhood memories and summer sunshine (see: "Cutting My Fingers Off", "Take My Head"). On Good Nature Turnover dive headfirst into the shimmering pool of nostalgia, chasing a butterfly dream but finding only empty tricks of the light. They feint towards self-awareness - 'maybe I imagined it being so good' goes "Super Natural", like a tacit acknowledgement of the long shadow cast by Peripheral Vision - but ultimately this is a simple album full of simple lyrics, with little subtlety or thought to speak of.

There's technically very little to fault here. Serviceable hooks buoy up better tracks like "Super Natural" and "Nightlight Girl", while those effervescent guitar melodies take us by the hand to provide the only truly great moment as "Bonnie (Rhythm & Melody)" winds to a close. It's just that there's so damn little to praise, too. Good Nature recaptures the brightness and pop sheen, sure, but it's a trip back to a treasured childhood location only to find that the palace in your mind was always just a fallen tree, and the river your dreams used to float along forever is just a kinda gross, muddy little stream.



Recent reviews by this author
Earl Sweatshirt Feet of ClayNorma Jean All Hail
Danny Brown uknowhatimsayin¿The Early November Lilac
Blink-182 NineBon Iver i,i
user ratings (289)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
ian b. (2)
wait a minute; this isn't the new Title Fight record!...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
August 27th 2017


22441 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, pretty much

thomasdavidge
August 27th 2017


111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I fuck wit it

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2017


3097 Comments


A very lovely review, Rowan, as has come to be expected.

Digging: Keaton Henson - Six Lethargies

outliers
August 27th 2017


1112 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yep agreed



And nice review

JohnFire
August 27th 2017


660 Comments


My review for this would be one word: bland. I don't remember one bit after listening to it three times. Huge disappointment.

ianblxdsoe
August 27th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good shit row, i agree with this hard

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2017


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

beautiful review row. especially agree with that first paragraph. what's frustrating is that there are moments, but only a glimmer

MrMatt767
August 27th 2017


558 Comments


Haven't listened to the whole album but from the singles this is exactly the sort of thing I was expecting. Very disappointing follow up to PV D:

Ebola
August 27th 2017


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"a trip back to a treasured childhood location only to find that the palace in your mind was always just a fallen tree, and the river your dreams used to float along forever is just a kinda gross, muddy little stream."



Outstanding write-up. I loved Peripheral Vision so I'll check this, but my expectations are low.

Green Baron
August 27th 2017


24749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is such a nothing album



ianblxdsoe
August 28th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

gud feature

schoonda
August 28th 2017


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'm kinda surprised at how critics are receiving this, quite a few saying it's better than PV...

SB129
August 28th 2017


350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not quite as good, but it's still a great record, for me.

ianblxdsoe
August 28th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

wouldnt be surprised if RFC were paying some outlets ;;;))) just kidding but yeah some sites/publications kind of eat this shit up so i'm not surprised

McTime50
August 28th 2017


965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its nice but not really great.

CakeWithCream
August 28th 2017


1065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

albums alright but wow i really don't like the awkward lyrics and phrasing in Curiosity

Lefondre
August 28th 2017


172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For me this is still an enjoyable listen. It's got nothing on PV though.

JamieTwort
August 28th 2017


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm digging this quite a lot. It's pretty much what I was expecting, and in a way hoping for, a dreamier version of PV that washes over you like a gentle, hazy ray of sunshine.

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
August 28th 2017


1386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cheery claustrophobia, they allow very little time for the songs to breathe and the guitar tone is almost nauseating. Still some good moments, but its not a patch on PV.

rc239
August 28th 2017


269 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this sort of comes and goes without anything really "grabbing" you like their previous release did. pretty disappointing, but at the same time not particularly surprising either.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy