Eluveitie
Evocation II: Pantheon


2.5
average

Review

by kingdedethefifth USER (80 Reviews)
August 22nd, 2017 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is an Eluveitie album. That is all.

I will be forthcoming about Evocation II: Pantheon-it’s a disappointment. The band certainly has taken a fairly large blow with the departure of Anna Murphy (arguably their best clean vocalist and perhaps the band's greatest asset), however, it’s not like the band hasn’t endured a plethora of lineup changes before. Bearing this in mind, it was still surprising to see just how passable this album was. Not only has the sweet, angelic voice of Anna Murphy been done away with, but the band also seems to have forgotten to utilize their second most powerful asset in their harsh vocalist, Chrigel Glanzmann. He always provided such a fantastic contrast to the beautiful, bouncy folk instrumentation with his bellowing roars. Now, he too is nearly out of the picture, making appearances in only a handful of tracks throughout the album. The negative effects wear more and more as time passes, as the album slowly loses any energy or momentum it started off with. To put it even less lightly, it’s like watching Kristen Stewart eat a bowl of stale cornflakes. Bland, unnecessary, and you will receive a restraining order.

Perhaps this would be somewhat forgivable if you didn’t have to wade through the mire for 18 tracks (55 minutes, give or take). I’m not opposed to Eluveitie doing an (almost) entirely instrumental release, however, they have shown here that it’s simply something they cannot pull off. Had it been a shorter release that wasn’t packed to death with filler, perhaps it would retain some of the fun bounciness it started off with, however this, unfortunately, is not the case. What we are instead left with is a bloated, yet surprisingly empty, folk metal release, that will leave you with a single thought only-Well, it’s Eluveitie I guess.



Recent reviews by this author
Eldamar A Dark Forgotten PastDanimal Cannon Lunaria
Ellende TodbringerDeath in June But, What Ends When the Symbols Shatter?
Comeback Kid Turn It AroundDalek Endangered Philosophies
user ratings (36)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
kingdedethefifth
August 22nd 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fixed my italics issue haha

Stargazer777
August 22nd 2017


84 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I completely agree with you on this review. This album was very meh...

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


5472 Comments


Neat little review pal - couple of times I'd have stuck a semicolon before a 'however' but then I'm a harlot for a good semicolon. This sounds painfully unexceptional. Shame.

BlackwaterPork
August 22nd 2017


2335 Comments


This is a nice review, but I'd like it more if you told us why tracks are considered fillers.

Digging: Danny Brown - Atrocity Exhibition

kingdedethefifth
August 22nd 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Because they are all so insignificant or plain or samey. Not much to say.

BlackwaterPork
August 22nd 2017


2335 Comments


I see, that's a shame. Let's hope Ensiferum can make a good one after this and Wintersun's complete mess.

kingdedethefifth
August 22nd 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

One can hope



ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


10927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nicely written review man, unfortunate you didn't enjoy this, been looking forward to it. Only thing I'll say is that on this point: "forgotten to utilize their second most powerful asset in their harsh vocalist, Chrigel Glanzmann" - the album is supposed to be like the first Evocation, in that its almost entirely folk-y without their melodeath side. It's not very surprising they don't have Chrigel doing a whole lot of growling over sweet Celtic jigs ;)

Digging: Rabor - ????????

Evokaphile
August 22nd 2017


6451 Comments


keep this band far away from me

Digging: Woe - Hope Attrition

kingdedethefifth
August 22nd 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah ok Scuro, I was unsure whether the two were supposed to be connected or not. I haven't heard the first album.

Also evok ur a nut

Evokaphile
August 22nd 2017


6451 Comments


"Also evok ur a nut"

Im keenly aware of this my friend m/

Agonba
August 23rd 2017


44 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The fillers are just an eluveitie-ish thing. They always have them, i always skip them... Beside that, it's a nice sequel to Evocation I and sure not to compare with the other studio-albums. Its very funny, that they included some old melodies or lyrics-parts in the new songs. (ogmios = inis mona et. al.)

maybe its goes down to 3.0 but at the moment i think its a great record and they made the optimum output out of the loss of the 3 important members.

kingdedethefifth
August 23rd 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh 3? Shit who else did they lose?

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
August 23rd 2017


10927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Marlin and Ivo went too, they've got a new project together called Cellar Darling (also on Nuclear Blast).

kingdedethefifth
August 23rd 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Any ways I could have improved this? Haven't gotten a neg in some time.

BlackwaterPork
August 24th 2017


2335 Comments


maybe talk about more technical aspects? I personally like it when reviewers dig deep into albums, but that's just my preference of course.

BlackwaterPork
August 24th 2017


2335 Comments


And yeah I definitely get the filler part now I've heard it.

kingdedethefifth
August 24th 2017


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah idk maybe I should have but like, man there wasn't much to talk about haha.

Flugmorph
August 24th 2017


17553 Comments


was never an exeptional band tbh

BlackwaterPork
August 24th 2017


2335 Comments


Yeah I would struggle to review this, it's all so samey.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy