Cormorant
Diaspora


4.2
excellent

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
August 14th, 2017 | 73 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cormorant are the easiest black metal band to love.

Cormorant are a band that is easy to gush about. Since their inception, they have been completely DIY, and that won't sound like something worth mentioning until you have actually heard an album like Diaspora. Whatever vodoo they are doing as an "independent" band seems to be working, because their latest album is a perfect sounding record; the sort of album begat by the sort of band whose effortless and natural penchant at simply being a band makes you fall in love.

As a band, Cormorant sound refined beyond all expectations. As an album, Diaspora is an unapologetic metal epic. Nothing here sounds second rate, bargain bin progressive black metal. The four winding tracks range from seven to nearly 30 minutes in length, never dipping in quality or wandering into pretentiousness. It's the type of "progressive" album that doesn't feel like its trying to be. Despite the profound runtime, "Migration" isn't bloated nor does it aim to high and fumble into ridiculousness. Yes it feels like a melting pot of all expected tropes--folk, death, black, and doom metal. Fortunately it avoids some of the more *eye-roll* inducing grandeur of their peers, matching lofty ideas with restraint and thoughtful writing.

Each song, while much more neutered, matches the tone and quality found in "Migration," which in turn makes for the most impressive statement the band has made to date. Because of this smartly used variety, Diaspora is the rare kind of metal album that can bridge the gap between the progressive "dorks" and the cynical elite; a record of staggering depth and broad appeal.



Recent reviews by this author
Summoning With Doom We ComeKrallice Go Be Forgotten
Bell Witch Mirror ReaperBlut Aus Nord Deus Salutis Meae
Acephalix DecreationMiley Cyrus Younger Now
user ratings (93)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2017


978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

Normally don't enjoy huge black metal statements but this is just wonderful. So well done and ridiculously absorbing.

Archelirion
August 14th 2017


5511 Comments


Heard this yesterday, and boy have they outdone themselves on this one. I'm very fond of Dwellings, but this almost certainly tops it.

Migration is unreal

EvoHavok
August 14th 2017


7439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This has been on my radar. Dwellings rules indeed.

Digging: Tribulation - Down Below

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2017


530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

just recently got into this band, can confirm that this is good

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2017


978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

Kept the review short as not not ramble on and on. I like it in the same way I liked Slow Forever last year.

Archelirion
August 14th 2017


5511 Comments


Honestly, this'd be easy to ramble on so I'm glad you kept it mercifully short

RustCohle
August 14th 2017


200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is simply amazing, they even topped their previous outings!

Piripichotes
August 14th 2017


446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been listening to dwellings a lot lately, how is this compared to that? I've always thought that the black metal "lo-fi" mix kinda detracted from their music...

DungeonBoy
August 14th 2017


3683 Comments


Cool review man. I enjoy this band, Dwellings more than Metazoa, and your review definitely makes me want to check out this new one.

necropig
August 14th 2017


3410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ooooooo nice

Digging: Rapture - Futile

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2017


978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

@Pirip: aesthetically this is pretty different from Dwellings, which I may like better...but probably not? Not sure yet. There is no lo-fi in this at all.

Eons
August 14th 2017


1216 Comments


Pretty cool album cover. Gonna listen.

Asmodeuss1990
August 14th 2017


368 Comments


"vodoo"?

Pretty sure you mean't voodoo, fam.

kingdedethefifth
August 14th 2017


5436 Comments


Awesome review Xeno, not often do I see staff reviews kept so concise. I've been really wanting to check this band lately, maybe I will.

Evok
August 14th 2017


6872 Comments


MUST CHECK THIS

Digging: BADBADNOTGOOD - BBNG2

Dewinged
August 14th 2017


8289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am not a big fan of BM but this is pretty awesome.

Digging: Erdve - Vaitojimas

Hawks
August 14th 2017


53608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Last album slays, gotta jam this asap.

Digging: Repulsion - Horrified

Hawks
August 14th 2017


53608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok yeah this rips.

Maco097
August 15th 2017


2583 Comments


I have to listen to this soon. I've been waiting for it.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2017


11085 Comments


Album cover is all kinds of cool

Digging: Dauthuz - Die Grubenmähre



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy