Psychedelic Porn Crumpets
High Visceral Pt. 1


4.5
superb

Review

by Conmaniac CONTRIBUTOR (50 Reviews)
August 9th, 2017 | 123 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: a painter's touch.

God, what an unfortunate band name. Seriously though, it’s a shame a band this alluring and skilled has a name that inhibits them from reaching any sort of commercial success. I guess this is the trend in new age psychedelia, though, with artists like King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard flaunting absurd names as if they were apart of the Dadaism movement. It’s no doubt PPC are influenced by their fellow Aussie psychioneers, as well as some of the trendier artists a la Tame Impala and Pond. You can hear traces of Kevin Parker within the reverb drenched production and the astral-projected vocal performances, while splashes of old-school psychedelic rock subtly appear in the aptly titled track ‘Surf’s Up’. Yet, this four-piece carves a path of their own on High Visceral Pt. 1, and although it might not be apparent in the garage rock-fueled openers, the album soon unveils its true colors: a swirl of rich creams and blurry blues.

These colors never truly get a chance to breathe until the band themselves suspend their energy fueled rampage. ‘Found God in a Tomato’ sees PPC favoring this foggy, shoegaze-inspired style, allowing for the luscious color palette to take form in a 9-minute atmospheric jam session. Although traces of these hues are scattered throughout the entire album, it isn’t until the self-realized and final track ‘Denmark / Van Gogh & Gone’ that the relaxing, warm shades of beige take over the album’s canvas. It’s a track that can only be described as utter bliss; light and floating in nature yet intensely rich and full of lustrous life. As the weightless guitars effortlessly glide through the vanilla clouds in the cerulean sky, the song transcends into abstracted dream pop beauty, perfectly encapsulating the record. High Visceral Pt. 1 is a trip of an album and although it succeeds in portraying the rambunctious and anxious excitement of the come-up, it’s the intoxicating, hallucinative peak that distorts the psyche into realms of synesthesia.
Psychedelic Paint Composers: a much more fitting name.



Recent reviews by this author
Baths RomaplasmYung Lean Stranger
Radiator Hospital Play The Songs You LikeKamixlo Angelico
The World Is a Beautiful Place... Always ForeignJordan Rakei Wallflower
user ratings (17)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Tame Impala Lonerism
Pond Hobo Rocket

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

special thanks to Ramon for some yummy guidance on this rev and ofc Jack for showing me this band and proofreadin a bit :D

one of my fav psych albums for sure, def check it

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

h*ck this is amazing. vivid descriptions are best descriptions and descriptive con is best con.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank u thank u jack much love

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


5971 Comments


1. fantastic review, Con..

2. I like the band name a lot.. haha

3. jack censoring the word heck is the best part of this, he's turning into Ned Flanders..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

butcher my friends and I were rating band names out of 10 and I brought this one up and it got an average of about 3/10 hahaha. thx tho (:

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

censoring the word h*ck is my new favourite running joke. i don't even care how contrived it is, i'm gonna beat this dead horse til it's just mush.



edit: fwiw i also love the band name.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

am I alone on this one??? :o



h*ck.

Piglet
August 9th 2017


7462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh duderoo you reviewed this that's bloody beaut! your liberal use of descriptives and colours is very fitting given the textures that are central to the album's appeal. You apply them adroitly in a lucid prose that's at least easily read, and you managed to say everything you could want to say as succinctly as possible so kudos.

i been jamming it like a motherfucker for what seems like forever now and damn, nothing gets me harder than some bluesy psych. this is a bit of a hidden gem

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

H*CK PIGLET. GLAD YOU COULD JOIN THE ORGY I MEAN PARTY HAVE A NICE DAY

Piglet
August 9th 2017


7462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what are you doing up so late ya bloody fellow adelaidean

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

piglet that was prob more gorgeous than this lil thing u dog. glad u dig this as much as me and much love :D

Piglet
August 9th 2017


7462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hahahah a pigdog some might even dare to call me



i been meaning to ask you have you listened to closure in moscow - pink lemonade?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no sir I have not, but if it's psych-y I will have to check

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

aw shit yeah Closure In Moscow are fucken siqq

Piglet
August 9th 2017


7462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah materoo it's right up your alley



this album kinda reminds me of it somehow

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sweet ill peep today man thanks!

brainmelter
August 9th 2017


4720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice write up mayn

Digging: Malthusian - Below the Hengiform

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks brayn

clavier
August 9th 2017


470 Comments


sweet and short review, dude

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2017


20069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for looking over it as well Claire!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy