Post Malone
Stoney


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sebastian USER (76 Reviews)
August 6th, 2017 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: hazey.

There’s a certain haze that establishes itself from the get-go on Stoney. Perhaps it can be associated with a certain drug, but honestly it feels chill just for the sake of being chill. The keen ear for melody Austin Post incorporates to the entirety of the album is so enthralling that it’s hard not to get lost in it. The minimalist approach Post takes for much of his work feels fluid and varied enough to never feel tiresome, even when the trap-influence can become overused. Both the man and the music flow so effortlessly as the haze from the electronics and the vocals slowly begin to take over. The layering of Malone’s voice on songs like ‘Go Flex’, although mixed in with effects, is admirable in of itself; the man has lungs, especially for someone that comes off as a crazy white kid. Tracks like ‘Deja Vu’ show off his surprisingly catchy flow, and the Justin Bieber feature feels perfectly placed and meshes well with his knack for catchy beats. It’s when he steers off the beaten track, however, that Post showcases his range best. ‘Up There’ with its piano/guitar blend adds a layer of variety without straying too far from his standard formula, as too does ‘I Fall’ with its more vocal-centric approach. But Post works best when he's creating catchy, drunken sing-alongs. Both 'White Iverson' and 'Congratulations' are bangers through and through, but have enough depth to be both well-thought out tracks as well as straight fantastic club bangers. What’s most important about Stoney, however, is that it showcases an artist with a sound so catchy yet varied, but with plenty of room to grow as both a person and as a musician.

Here’s to more haze.

3.9/5

Seek Out: Deja Vu, Up There, I Fall, Go Flex, Congratulations
Avoid: Big Lie



Recent reviews by this author
Bring Me The Horizon AmoJames Blake Assume Form
Noname Room 25The Amity Affliction Misery
Foxing Nearer My GodDwellings Lavender Town
user ratings (232)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drubbi
August 6th 2017


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sort of a short review, and by short I mean "nice sound-off" short. Oh well.



Been jamming this last couple of days, love the dude and his music is pretty sweet too.

Digging: Little Simz - GREY Area

Nikkolae
August 6th 2017


5423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first time actually listening to him and i gotta say im pretty impressed by the quality of the singles, White Iverson is such a fucking gem, the review is awesome.

Digging: Opeth - My Arms, Your Hearse

Drubbi
August 6th 2017


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah. Thanks man. I've seen him all over the net, especially in the last few months, but never bothered to check out his music.

osmark86
August 6th 2017


8584 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well written mate. I think this has some truly good songs but overall it falls kind of flat. Not bad, but not great. Chilled out enough to make it a relaxing listen, but feels like it has too many unmemorable songs. If this was trimmed it would likely be a better experience as an album.

Keyblade
August 6th 2017


26868 Comments


nice rev man. Too Young is still my jam (think it made it on here)

Digging: Quantec - Unusual Signals

TVC15
August 6th 2017


9896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh shit this finally got a review

Digging: Dexys Midnight Runners - Too-Rye-Ay

Drifter
August 6th 2017


15328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Needa return to see if its still a 4.5 but as far as I know it is. Killer album

Drifter
August 6th 2017


15328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah as I think about it its a 4

ianblxdsoe
August 6th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

coulda sworn this already had a review damn

Drifter
August 6th 2017


15328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I thought it had one too

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2017


2809 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Glad this got a review. Nice work, Sebastian. I'm not that into this, but I love a few of his singles, and I'm betting on him releasing something I love in time.

Digging: Angel Du$t - Pretty Buff

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2017


24364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good review, Hit This Hard is an eternal banger. too much pop fluff here tho

osmark86
August 9th 2017


8584 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

spendin all me fooken peeeeeeh

DivergentThinking
August 27th 2017


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

So what's exactly special about this guy? Whenever I try to listen to his music, all I hear are really vapid lyrics over shitty trap beats, so other than some acoustic guitar here and there, I'm not sure why he's getting so much attention. Hell, the way I just described him makes him sound more like Machine Gun Kelly. lol

Drifter
August 27th 2017


15328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good melodies

Ryus
August 27th 2017


17192 Comments


"So what's exactly special about this guy?"

exactly

Digging: Fort Romeau - Kingdoms

nolerthebowler
September 8th 2017


3292 Comments


I was a big post Malone hater but I must say Congratulations is a quality song, the synths are fuzzed out in such cool way, and the vocals are layered in a way that makes it really damn catchy. I feel like some artists like him are leading a cause to make trap a bit more artistically inclined, which is good imo cause I was getting so sick of trap as a genre

kris.
September 25th 2017


15029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man i kinda fuck with this heavily

SteakByrnes
September 25th 2017


14479 Comments


He stage dove and nobody caught him

kris.
September 25th 2017


15029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol yea i saw that

he laughed it off tho

dude seems like a real nice fella



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy