Crossfaith
Freedom


1.0
awful

Review

by Simon CONTRIBUTOR (233 Reviews)
August 6th, 2017 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The time has come.

Over the years Crossfaith have released some decent records, and their desire to experiment runs extensively. The thing is, the band have never truly managed to capture a sound that represents them best; albums always contain several solid ideas, but are marred by an equal number of bad ones. One thing is clear though: despite being caught in limbo, always a stone’s throw away from really hitting the mark, they’ve been just as close to having the whole thing crash down on them. There’s an underlining awfulness to the band’s music which has been masked pretty well in recent records, this is primarily down to stronger ideas taking hold and diverting attention. However, it is something I’ve noticed pretty well when listening to these LPs. So, listening to Freedom, it comes as little surprise that we’re at this junction; they’ve finally dropped the ball. There is some solace which comes from it all though, like a cold that’s been lurking inside and taunting your body for weeks: when it finally comes out there’s a level of satisfaction to be had knowing it’s revealed itself so you can move on with your life once it’s had its cycle.

Put simply, this 3-track EP is dire on all fronts. Still dragging their knackered duffle bag of tired sounds onto this project, they leave a wide-open space for the beast to reveal itself: Kenta’s tenacious obsession with singing in English is still present here and makes everything sound like a big joke, perfectly matched with some awful lyrics, while the band insist on bringing the “drink fast, party hard” themed tunes to your door; a gimmick which brings insult to injury given how old and tired it sounded the first time they tried it on their Zion EP. But even if we stop looking at flaws which have plagued the band in the past, there’s a brace of brand new ones to unearth: the guest spots from Enter Shikari’s Reu Reynolds and Jesse (The Bonez) magnify the laughable stupidity on offer here, while moments found on “Diavolos”, for its ham-fisted, tact-on cleans and derivative mix of “WAAOooooAAAoooo” chants, solidify my wish in receiving the mother of all Mortal Kombat Fatalities before it ends. The shocking thing is, this EP is 3-tracks long, with a run-time of 10 minutes, and even that was too much to bear. The band have lost their spark on this. The electronics feel so out of place for the most part, while members contribute parts which don't sound or feel right for the songs at hand. The bottom line: if this is what their next album has to offer, they've got problems.

Terrible.

EDITIONS: DIGITAL

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITIONS: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
The Claypool Lennon Delirium South of RealityRotting Christ The Heretics
HEALTH VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEARBusted Half Way There
Bring Me The Horizon AmoGeorge Michael Older
user ratings (25)
Chart.
2.5
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Oh boy.





Digging: HEALTH - VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR

Drubbi
August 6th 2017


298 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I thought the single with Rou was pretty decent. Not great, but decent. Now I'm scared to check this.

EvoHavok
August 6th 2017


7677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You panned this, damn.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You could well enjoy this then, Drubbi. I've enjoyed their works somewhat up to this point -- thoroughly enjoying Monolith -- but they've tipped off a cliff for me. They sound so tired, and have somehow managed to make their sound worse by adding more of what made them bad previously.



Dreadful EP imo.

Drubbi
August 6th 2017


298 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I agree that this is pretty bad. They should just write more like 'Countdown To Hell', that song bangs.

owen
August 6th 2017


5146 Comments


how do they manage to keep getting worse

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

They got lucky I guess. Seems it's catching up with them though.

CalculatingInfinity
August 6th 2017


8755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd never listen to these in studio when their live outings look so much better. Shame they've apparently fallen so far :/

CalculatingInfinity
August 6th 2017


8755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to this I feel more positive. Diavolos rules but the other 2 songs lack (especially Rockstar)

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Oh, I can't fault their live shows; extremely impressive.

EvoHavok
August 6th 2017


7677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mhm, this wasn't that bad. Some acceptable instrumentation here and there, the last song could've been a decent melodeath song based on the riff and scream in the intro, but then they were reminded they're electronicore and had to fall for all cliches of the genre.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You heard their other works, Evo?

EvoHavok
August 6th 2017


7677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nah, just random songs.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Check out their Monolith EP; hands down the best thing they've done. The two albums that proceed it are good for different reasons. But like Calc tapped into, they're definitely a live band first.

Sinternet
August 6th 2017


18598 Comments


*Zion EP

but it might as well be monolith ep because theyve never done a track near as good as that again

Digging: Dua Lipa - Dua Lipa

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Haha shit, never even realise. Thanks for reminding me

bloc
August 6th 2017


54453 Comments


My drummer friend loves the drummer of this band

Digging: Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Is Is

sempiturtle
August 6th 2017


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

these guys have always been 3-3.5 level surely this cant be that bad?



Edit: It wasn't.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2017


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah, it's the same as their other stuff... only worse. A lot worse.

ThatDjentyFool
August 7th 2017


17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Crossfaith have always thrown a lot of different ideas into their sound but this time around it doesn't feel cohesive at all



Its more like a patchwork of sounds and ideas rather than one, well thought out song



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy