City of Caterpillar
Driving Spain Up A Wall


4.0
excellent

Review

by Zach USER (100 Reviews)
August 5th, 2017 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Emo titans reclaim the crown.

City of Caterpillar has become synonymous with the terms “skramz” and “old-school emo”. Their titan of a self titled record is considered a masterpiece, blending together elements of emo and post-rock to create a sound that is both unhinged and chaotic, yet perfectly structured and cathartic. After dropping such a monolithic record and staying silent for 15 long years, the band has finally broke the silence. With that in mind, how can one stop drawing comparisons to their debut? It is almost definitely unfair to hold the band to the same standards as 15 years ago-the same youth-fueled rage is almost certainly toned down, and of course new influences have seeped into City of Caterpillar’s sound. So can this really hold a candle to their magnum opus (only record, but I digress), especially bearing in mind that this is only a two song ep? Well... *** yes they can.

Driving Spain Up A Wall is a much calmer affair than what CoC is noted for. The throat-shredding wails have become fiery modern-punk inspired shouts, and the mathcore like guitar leads have become much more slow and focused. The first 6 minutes of the title track are spent with a brooding guitar lead that segways into a distorted guitar riff, conjuring up images of the ghosts of dead friends and family rising from their coffins to leer at you. Then, as the pace increases and becomes more frantic, you can see the anguished souls come at you in a frenzy, ravaging your mind into ribbons. Off of the second track, “As the Curtains Dim”, CoC slows down even more, beginning with a somber piano lead alongside a lonesome guitar picking. Cavernous drums then kick in, building ever more until the music can build no more, and the impending chaos gives way to a thick, muddy bass, releasing a wave of catharsis. That is what the band has proven they can do even after an immense 15 year gap-create a piece of art that is simultaneously slower and more toned down yet equally cathartic. They have proven that they are one of the great emo titans for a reason, and that time cannot make them crumble.



Recent reviews by this author
Obsequiae The Palms Of Sorrowed KingsCounterparts Nothing Left to Love
Mgla Age of ExcuseKing Dude Burning Daylight
Allegaeon ApoptosisPanopticon The Crescendo of Dusk
user ratings (92)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
August 5th 2017


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This definitely needs some work i'm sure so i'd really appreciate criticism. Found this band oddly difficult to review.

hogan900
August 5th 2017


3081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

both songs are ace

calmrose
August 5th 2017


5382 Comments


witnessing Driving Spain Up A Wall live is one of the greatest things I've ever experienced, the recording here rules but live it's an entirely different beast

Digging: Black Eyes - Black Eyes

SandwichBubble
August 5th 2017


10774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'd like a bit more about the music, but it is a two track EP after all so I don't think there's too much to expand on



good writeup

ianblxdsoe
August 5th 2017


1916 Comments


still need to check this, stellar review btw, how are you not contrib??

Dedes
August 5th 2017


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, was having a hard time with this sandwich lol. Also Ian bro I ain't nearly as good as I should be.

SuperMatt
August 5th 2017


18 Comments


Had no idea this was coming out. I need to listen to this even though I don't expect that much.

The review is really good considering how hard it is to write something significant about a 16-minute EP.

Dedes
August 5th 2017


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I have just learned this isn't new material, but rather recordings of two tracks from sessions in 2002-2003 they felt were never properly recorded and were deserving of a rerecording. https://thearchivistlabel.bandcamp.com/album/driving-spain-up-a-wall-ep

Dedes
August 5th 2017


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This doesn't dismiss the possibility of new music in the future considering they had a reunion tour in October of 2016 as well, but it is unlikely we will see much.

calmrose
August 5th 2017


5382 Comments


As The Curtains Dim (Little White Lie) was recorded when they recorded the self-titled and Driving Spain they played live but never recorded it until like late last year I believe

even though it's not new music, still stoked to have these out

SandwichBubble
August 5th 2017


10774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Review still works either way, it's not like you said it was all new material or anything. (:

Dedes
August 5th 2017


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well of course lol, just figured I would state that before peoples hopes went up.

SandwichBubble
August 5th 2017


10774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Always looking out, what a guy

Dedes
August 5th 2017


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks bruv m/

BMDrummer
August 5th 2017


14647 Comments


can't wait for my copy of this to come in the mail

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


3148 Comments


Good stuff, Dede. You could be a bit more concise -- "guitar leads are now slower and more focused" -- but this is well-written.

Digging: Darcy Baylis - A House Breaking

Space Jester
August 6th 2017


8057 Comments


Pretty sure this is on the demo record recordings album in raw form but I could be wrong

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2017


57099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool

Space Jester
August 6th 2017


8057 Comments


Yea kinda I guess

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2017


11763 Comments


Super review man, short skrams is my jamz, will check

"unhinged and chaotic yet perfectly structured" - I'd put a comma after "chaotic"
"standards as 15 years ago-the same youth-fueled rage" I think the hyphen after "ago" should be a dash, right?

Digging: Count Shirintsu - Spirit of the Earth



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy