Brian Reitzell
Hannibal - Season 2 - Vol 2


5.0
classic

Review

by Simon STAFF
August 4th, 2017 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If I go, I'll be different when I get back.

A calculated breath. A strategic shift in stance and posture, fortifying his hidden location. Absolute synchronicity with body and mind; an oxymoron: the mind meticulously lays out the scene with pinpoint precision, while the body functions entirely on visceral, animal instinct. The pray: unware they’re soon to be a part of the Cheasapeake Ripper’s work of art. Something in the room catches the soon-to-be victim’s eye; the Holy Grail of revelations presenting itself on a silver platter – unveiling a haunting and terrifying truth, which draws the colour from their face: they are in the same room as the infamous Ripper. Survival instincts kick in to play, desperately attempting to survey the area, but everything turns black.

This is my design.

For anyone who’s watched Bryan Fuller’s exceptional televised adaptation – which lends key elements from Thomas Harris’ Red Dragon and Hannibal, as well as his own ideas – will know, it’s a program lathed in paranoia and doubt; psychological terror breaming with a bottleneck of tension. All of which is packaged in a rich, cathartic beauty. A visual feast on the eyes, containing some of the most gorgeous cinematography you’re likely to see caught to film. It’s an experience where words will only get my point across so far, you have to go through the journey yourself. But as stunning as the visuals are, the sound design is equally genius; music that is utilized so effectively, it’s on a level reserved for a select few people. People like David Lynch, who find music to be as of high importance as the film itself. Brain Reitzell’s scores for Hannibal are true spectacles that stand toe-to-toe with what the viewer sees. The psychological thrills, the cutthroat atmosphere, it’s all down to the stunning compositions created by him. Each album is one half of a season, and is comprised of unsettling ambient soundscapes and classical orchestrations. All setting their own moods and contain their own strengths and weaknesses. However, this half of the six LP epic is a little sharper than the rest, simply for having a little bit more variation to it than the others, and for the breathtaking closing track, “Bloodfest (from Mizumono)”, which is a heart-breaking and epic piece of music which not only ensures the album ends on a completely satisfying note, but offers an excellent breather from the tension-squeezing tracks before it. Every track is saturated in a rich, organic woodland vibe, pitting the listener inside the depths of an ominous wood, whilst subtly drip-feeding them with layers of eerie screeches, bellowing bass drops, wind chimes and a host of exotic instruments that will undoubtedly transport them into this beautifully disturbed world.

If you’re a big fan of classical music or really low-key ambient works, this album is for you. In the context of the show itself, it’s just a stunning marvel to behold, with the show owing so much to the music’s character, but even if you’ve never watched the show and are looking for a really interesting ambient record, look no further; this is guaranteed to send the goosebumps.

Classic.

EDITIONS: BLOOD-RED VINYL//D̶I̶G̶I̶T̶A̶L̶//C̶D̶//B̶L̶A̶C̶K̶ ̶V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶

PACKAGING: Blood Red vinyl and gatefold, containing various show stills.

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
Korn The NothingChelsea Wolfe Birth of Violence
Daniel Licht Silent Hill: Book of MemoriesCloudkicker Unending
Equilibrium RenegadesHans Zimmer Man of Steel
user ratings (3)
5
classic

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Couldn't believe these scores hadn't been uploaded to this site. Had to do a quick review for this masterpiece.



As always, constructive criticism welcome.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

butcherboy
August 4th 2017


9464 Comments


it's not a 5 for me, but you're fucking amazing for reviewing this.. the entire show's score was phenomenal, minimalistic ominousness cut up with short bursts of lush compositions.. lovely write-up too. would pos if I could..

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cheers man.



What would you give it?

butcherboy
August 4th 2017


9464 Comments


for me personally a 4, 4.3 maybe.. it's a bit jarring listening to it all in sequence, so I've parsed it into other instrumental playlists.. and I did like the first season's score a bit better.. still amazing stuff though..

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fair one, man.

Evok
August 4th 2017


7739 Comments


Thank you for this. Its my favorite show ever and not once did getting the soundtrack cross my mind.

Shadowmire
August 4th 2017


5118 Comments


so good.

artiswar
August 4th 2017


9268 Comments


The soundtrack is not as fun listening to by itself but within the context of the show it was amazing.

butcherboy
August 4th 2017


9464 Comments


The pieces are exactly what Hannibal Lecter is supposed to be - smart, elegant and sinister

artiswar
August 5th 2017


9268 Comments


I miss Hannibal so badly and American Gods did not scratch that itch one bit. Still hoping naively for Silence Of The Lambs to come together somehow.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Apparently there's a heavy rumour going around that season 4 could well be on the cards. Fingers crossed!

artiswar
August 5th 2017


9268 Comments


that rumour has been going around since roughly 0.0001 seconds after the cancellation announcement from NBC.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No, it was only a month or so it was brought back up and it was Brian Fuller himself who was talking about it. He's aiming the style to be a cross between a David lynch meets angel heart.



Of course, nothing is set in stone, but the very fact it's still being talked about now, and from its creator, brings hope.

artiswar
August 5th 2017


9268 Comments


He's been saying he's up to do season 4 since way back in the day. So have most of the cast members. If he's saying it now, it's the same song that's been sung this entire time. Everyone seems committed to come back to this thing even though Fuller is tied up with American Gods for another year so I'm tentatively hopeful but realistic. Things rarely work out in TV land.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well that's not true. lol:



Twin Peaks

X-Files

Sense 8 (for getting a conclusion episode in the works)



Though the quality of the three vaires, that's just three off the top of my head where it works out. There's a lot more opportunity in TV these days. Fully aware there's always been talk about it coming back, but as you've said, actors and Brian himself have been tied up with other things, but I do believe it'll be coming back at some point.



DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I guess a lot of it falls on whether he gets the rights for Silence of the Lambs as well.

artiswar
August 5th 2017


9268 Comments


X-Files works out? Haha...

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Worked out as in it got picked up again. It was a piece of shit, sure, but it proves things can get picked up again.

Faraudo
August 5th 2017


3132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Probably one of the best seasons in the history of tv.

Digging: Charli XCX - Charli

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't argue with that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy