Nhor
Wildflowers: Summer


4.0
excellent

Review

by DungeonBoy USER (11 Reviews)
August 2nd, 2017 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: to say so much with so few words

Somewhere between 2013’s Within the Darkness Between the Starlight and 2015’s Momenta Quintae Essentiae there was a shift in musical direction of UK’s Nhor. Going from an organic, atmospheric, black metal project to a more minimalistic, instrumental sound consisting of piano, acoustic guitar, strings, and faint croons, Nhor was able to carry over the same aural ethos of their previous sound into a new stripped down medium. Gone were the blast beats, shrieks, and tremolo riffs of old, yet ever present were the same wistful and sincere emotions contained within. This shift paved way to the idea of the four seasonal Wildflowers EP releases, beginning with Spring, and at the time of writing, into the current Summer.

Continuing in the same stylistic direction as Spring, and presumably the two future EPs, Summer consists solely of a lone piano and the sound of skillful fingers carefully exploring its ivory landscape. Each note is a stroke of paint on a worn canvas, painting a picture of a familiar yet distant past. Traces of forgotten memories reemerge and overwhelming feelings of quietude and sadness linger throughout each track. The longest piece on the album, “I Have No Stars Left To Wish Upon”, exemplifies Nhor’s masterful respect of negative space. There are several moments throughout the album, the aforementioned track most notably, that will leave you hanging on to each note, patiently awaiting closure to the story being told. While the overall tone present on Summer is tranquil in nature, the pinnacle moments of “Even In Dreams” will pull you up to their soaring heights before gently returning you to the ground. As the final sounds of “Sunlit Rest” resonate, a warm light shines down upon your face as the dying light slowly disappears over the horizon.

Nhor’s Summer is more than just a collection of softly played notes. It’s the longing sensation hidden within an old framed photograph of loved ones. It’s the contemplation of watching an afternoon rain storm slowly roll in, just before quenching the earth. While this EP is just a quarter of the four piece Wildflowers vision, it proudly stands alone as a testament to Nhor’s remarkable ability to say so much with so few words.



Recent reviews by this author
Dzo-nga Thunder In the MountainsKatatonia Sanctitude
Allelic ReverberationsUlvesang The Hunt
Meus Miserere Mei DeusEloign Old Yarns
user ratings (8)
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Momenta Quintae Essentiae


Comments:Add a Comment 
DungeonBoy
August 2nd 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heard you guys like hyperbole.



https://nhor-uk.bandcamp.com/album/wildflowers-summer

bnelso55
August 2nd 2017


1353 Comments


Haha, yeah. I dig it. Excellent review. Have a pos. I'm really glad he's developing this style.

DungeonBoy
August 2nd 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, I had fun writing it! I didn't notice that Momenta Quintae Essentiae review was yours until I started doing a little research into their discography. This is admittedly the most time I've spent with a Nhor record, but it really connected with me. That 4.5 is as subjective as could possibly be, but yeah I really enjoy his minimalist piano work. The piano itself also has this old vintage sound to it and I love the way it was recorded.

Evreaia
August 2nd 2017


5225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

loved everything this band has done before, gonna check this out right away.

Evreaia
August 2nd 2017


5225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even in Dreams is the standout track for me. Damn that song is bloody gorgeous.

DungeonBoy
August 2nd 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Evreaia! Even in Dreams is certainly a highlight on the album. The way it crescendos into more complex melodies as it builds really just kinda sweeps you away.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2017


26453 Comments


nice one dungeon!

didn't even know about their spring EP either so pretty stoked.

Digging: My Bloody Valentine - Isn't Anything

Nazzadan
August 2nd 2017


2319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened to Spring right after and preferred that if I can be quite honest family. I'm going to spin this a few more times, though.

DungeonBoy
August 3rd 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Atari! Both EPs so far are great, and after several listens I do enjoy Summer a bit more. Nhor has stated that his plans are to release all of these EPs as one collective Wildflowers record at the end, so I contemplated waiting for that release to review the collective work, but I kinda just wanted to get something out there cause I really admire what he's doing with this.



Nazzadan, right on man, Spring is a fantastic EP.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2017


26453 Comments


this and spring are soooo nice. definitely a step up from their Momenta Quintae Essentiae release (which wasn't bad, but nowhere near as gorgeous as this)

sadly too many people will probably sleep on this :/

DungeonBoy
October 10th 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New EP for Autumn:

https://nhor-uk.bandcamp.com/album/wildflowers-autumn

bnelso55
October 10th 2017


1353 Comments


Right on! I know what I'll be listening to today.

DungeonBoy
October 10th 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice! It's very good. It has a different, bit darker feel to it than the previous two. Definitely some new ideas going on with this one, but still feels cohesive to the others.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2017


26453 Comments


hell yes. I had just looked like 2 days ago hoping they'd release a new EP for the fall

zaruyache
October 10th 2017


23878 Comments


Wish he'd go back to black metal, tho this is pretty.

DungeonBoy
December 1st 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://nhor-uk.bandcamp.com/album/wildflowers-winter



final EP of the seasons, Winter, is up. I inquired about the release of all these and Nhor said there are plans to release these together on vinyl early next year.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2017


26453 Comments


thx for the heads up man

I didn't like Autumn as much as the first two EPs but still excited for this

DungeonBoy
December 1st 2017


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

me neither man, and to be honest on first listen I thought this one was just okay. I feel like the ideas may just be a little to stretched out at this point, and I was really hoping each EP would have a very distinct atmosphere that resembled the seasons they are aiming for, but in reality they all kind of sound the same.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy