Polyphia
The Most Hated


2.5
average

Review

by ramon. CONTRIBUTOR (47 Reviews)
July 31st, 2017 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Discount noodles.

It is difficult to be completely opposed to Polyphia's current rhetoric: melodic, technical fretboard aerobics over a modern timbre is a formula for success and it isn't hard to see why. People love the spectacle of unattainable skill on full display but more than that, people love feeling comfy. It should be of little surprise that this is the hole Polyphia finds themselves in with The Most Hated as the band has been on a smooth trajectory towards blatant pandering for a long time now. Even if their quest to the Land of Progressive Stardom is one laden with all the trappings of a hearty, jazz-infused prog troupe narrative, it would seem the forces of conformity have proven a little too impenetrable for our heroes to stay the path. Polyphia's latest venture might hold the same addictive nature as your favourite brand of carbohydrate soup but at the end of the day, there isn't much sustenance to be found in these discount noodles.

"Loud" is possibly the most offensive opener in all of Polyphia's discography and nicely sums up my issues with The Most Hated; self-awareness is no forte of these Texan shredders. I think there is good reason for the decent amount of acclaim the band received with their throwback effort, Muse. That release was riding off of the sound of an era that had and continues to age well. This new EP is pulling inspiration from a style that is yet to prove its worth. The booming 808s, rapid-fire hats and completely egregious overuse of stale trap synths and horns all feel tacked on. Gulag-senpai's comment on the song's official YouTube stream sums it up well in a backhanded sort of way; "oh yeah this takes me back to powerpoint 2003". The song (and by extension, the whole EP) is playing on our love of familiarity but in the same way Powerpoint 2003's design and structure aren't suited for extended use in a current world, Polyphia's persistent trap leanings already feel half-way dated and archaic. Even so, the point still stands; this EP feels shockingly comfortable in its own skin. The melodic progressions are obnoxious yet easily remembered. Scott and Tim's choice phrasing style is persistently flashy. The air of cocky confidence established in "Loud" doesn't ever die out over the rest of the EP's runtime. From the sharp arpeggios over "40oz"'s serrated basslines to the groovier-than-thou slides on "Crosty", every second of The Most Hated feels determined to live up to the title. Polyphia do not care what you think.

And yet, they do. They really, really do. Here lies a band who seemingly brags about their self-confidence through their technical talents but lacks (or maybe even ignores) the introspection required to see that The Most Hated is the most middling and uninspired release they have yet put out. There is most certainly fun to be had here. The level of self-indulgence showcased on some of these tracks is just about imprudent enough to warrant a few laughs out of anyone looking for more than just baseline wanking. The band's (see; The guitarist's) instrumental prowess is in top form with every riff and hook being just as surgically precise as the electronic instrumentation underpinning every song. However, in trying to give a massive middle finger to anyone who associated with the band's dated, core-tinged roots, Polyphia have simultaneously managed to reassure us that not much has changed. Polyphia have always been about following trends. Fingers crossed they will take a look in the mirror before jumping onto the next passing fad with future endeavours.



Recent reviews by this author
Soundtrack (Video Game) The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess OSTAltarage The Approaching Roar
IDLES Joy as an Act of ResistanceCoilguns Millennials
The Innocence Mission Sun on the SquareSectioned (Metalcore) Annihilated
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2017


2976 Comments


Would highly recommend checking out the two recommended albums rather than this one if you are strapped for time and want to try your hand at some light prog tomfoolery.

clavier
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2017


866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hard mental pos

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2017


2400 Comments


p
o
s
d

these guys are wank and you put that eloquently well done

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2017


2976 Comments


thanks duders.

wank with a hard r

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2017


2840 Comments


Incredible review, the hardest of figurative pos's.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2017


11680 Comments


So is this their most hated album

bloc
July 31st 2017


55025 Comments


Shame they are taking this route

Digging: The Chemical Brothers - No Geography

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2017


24507 Comments


Ramoooooooon

OwMySnauze
July 31st 2017


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Worst thing they've released.

SteakByrnes
July 31st 2017


14561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea I basically agree with everything you said my man, mind pos af



If they wanted to add other elements to their music, they should've taken the Chon route and done it subtly instead of making it sound forced. These guys definitely could do better, and it's kinda hard to know that these same guys made Renaissance, Muse, and Inspire

Kalopsia
August 1st 2017


3276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i'm thinking and hoping, based on the title of the album, that they KNOW this wouldn't be exactly well-received. it appears they are just toying around with some new sounds and wanted to put a 'fun' little something out in between full albums.





either way, it's just an EP. how upset can we really be?

considering how much i love Renaissance, i'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt here.

Digging: Glen Hansard - This Wild Willing

SteakByrnes
August 1st 2017


14561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean at least they had fun making it

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2017


16107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thought this was better than new CHON

SteakByrnes
August 3rd 2017


14561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn really? What makes you dig this more than new CHON my guy?

jmh886
August 3rd 2017


2303 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

background music. nothing more.

NonApplicable
August 7th 2017


2682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This EP is amazing in my opinion. The heavy electronic elements and other minor aspects make Polyphia sound completely distinct from everything else (even CHON). I think it's getting a lot of backlash because previous Polyphia fans want something else. I was never a fan until this change in sound.



Also, I think it's laughable that the author of this review suggests these guys are unaware. Just listen to the opening of "Goose" or read the album title. They fully understand what they're doing.



ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2017


2976 Comments


I feel you missed the point. I'm not saying they are unaware that this EP is tongue-in-cheek. I'm saying that they are unaware that their attempts at being snide fall flat. I am preeeetty sure anyone who's listened to these guys in the past could tell that the band is screwing around, and it would be redundant of me to waste lines of the review explaining that. The single that dropped before this EP was announced was called "LIT". It has been clear for a decent amount of time what the band is about right now, and I just wish they could execute their comedic ideas with a little more thought.

Kalopsia, yea this is most certainly filler material. Them knowing that it isn't gonna be well received isn't exactly enough justification for putting out average material imo. Not entirely sure if a 2.5 review constitutes as me being upset; I did say numerous times this is a fun release.

TundraL5Z
August 10th 2017


2586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huge dip down from Renaissance, consider me very dissapointed, also the cover of this really bothers me, every time i look down i feel like im looking at the next Kanye West record

NonApplicable
August 13th 2017


2682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair enough Crypt. I disagree that the comedic value falls flat though. I still laugh sometimes when I hear the intro to Goose. I'm not sure these guys are even trying to be snide as that would mean they're directly trying to be derogatory. They're simply making instrumental music with some clear electronic and rap influences. They've then named the titles after pop culture slang in said genres. It's cute and nothing more. I feel that over analyzing it like we've done here defeats the purpose.



You've also just met someone who thinks this isn't filler in any way. Trying to infer that band knew this was average material and then named it accordingly is a bit silly unless you can somehow prove this is objectively average music.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2017


2976 Comments


Trying to grade comedy is hell on a stick and I don't think I really have much else to say on the matter. In the same way I can argue any horror film that doesn't scare me is garbage, I could probably argue the same for comedy. And sure, over-analyzing probably does defeat the point. Still don't think the EP warrants anything above a 2.5 imho. "It's cute and nothing more.", I largely agree with this.

I didn't infer that the band knew it was average material. Kalopsia did. I simply agreed that this is likely filler material. Hence the "Them knowing that it isn't gonna be well received isn't exactly enough justification for putting out average material imo." because why would a band put out something they don't feel somewhat good about? Bands put out filler all the time. I simply don't think this is on the better end of the filler spectrum.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy