Cold Body Radiation
The Orphean Lyre


3.0
good

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (59 Reviews)
July 29th, 2017 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You know about that dutch guy that gazed at his shoe…?

Not much is known about the man behind the formerly blackgaze effort known as Cold Body Radiation. With 4 LPs and one EP on his back, being the first release in 2010, the project has effectively evolved its sound from the evocative, and usually meteorologically adverse, black metal climate to shoegazing its way out of the forest and into a, somehow, warmer environment.

The Orphean Lyre, as one would expect, is coated with a generous layer of distorted guitars, nebulous vocal melodies and harsh keyboard paraphernalia. It is, by all means, a shoegaze album. And it would have been a great one if all the different elements that shape it had been treated with the same level of attention. It’s in the drums, both sound and execution, where the lack of character and cohesion surfaces, sometimes in the form of a questionable use of double kickdrum just for the sake of it or simply due to the insipid choice of sound.

Drums aside, every song in The Orphean Lyre is beautifully crafted and the album flows relentlessly through its short but intense 36 minutes with ease, almost with too much ease, since there is no time for a brief respite or any moment of unleashed euphoria. The album keeps the pace aseptically, without leaving the safe zone, which in the other hand, works in favour of consistency and unconditional faithfulness to a genre that doesn’t welcome much experimentation anyway.

Opener “The Ghost of my Things” quickly sets the mood for what is to come, followed by one of the highlights of the album, “Sinking of a wish”, a fuzzy and lethargic death wish that paves the way for an epiphanic “All the little things you forget are stored in Heaven”. It’s after these 3 tracks that the slow decay starts, falling short of ideas and winding all the way down until “The Forever Sun”, which closes an album, at this point, already exhausted and dried out.

Cold Body Radiation delivers an appealing album with The Orphean Lyre, an effort that I can’t help to feel it’s been strictly domesticated to match the criteria, to comfortably wave between the depressing daydreaming of blackgaze and the occasional (and very shy) petting of black metal without taking a single note or hit out of the equation. The future will tell where or what this secretive dutch will radiate next.



Recent reviews by this author
The Stargazer Lilies OccabotMizmor Cairn
Fire! Orchestra ArrivalFull of Hell Weeping Choir
オオハシ (Ohashi) 波のはじまり (Nami no Hajimari)Secret Chiefs 3 Book M
user ratings (16)
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's been a loooooong time since I reviewed but I want to slowly get in shape again. I've been a bad boy and haven't asked for a proper proofread so if you spot anything weird hit me up and I'll fix it.



Album is cool, if you like Alcest maybe you'll dig it. Here's a stream, enjoy it fam.



https://coldbodyradiation.bandcamp.com/album/the-orphean-lyre

Digging: The Stargazer Lilies - Occabot

Opethamphetamine
July 29th 2017


38 Comments


Great review mate, sounds like you're in shape already tbh

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2017


15810 Comments


Excellent review man.

"an effort that I can’t help to feel it’s been strictly domesticated"

Though this reads a little awkward to me. Probably just me though haha.

Definitely need to check this. Have a pos.

Digging: Desert Sessions - Volumes 11 and 12

Asdfp277
July 29th 2017


21718 Comments


"The Orphean Lyre, as one would expect, is coated with a generous layer of distorted guitars, nebulous vocal melodies and harsh keyboard paraphernalia, it is, by all means, a shoegaze album."

should be two separate sentences

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"should be two separate sentences"



Got'em! Thanks man, fixing it.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

And thanks for the pos's djents

butcherboy
July 29th 2017


9464 Comments


"Drums apart" - I think 'Drums aside' would read better.. Great review though, Dewi! have a pos to end all pos'es..

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You are very right butch, edit incoming!



Thanks man.

Hawks
September 7th 2017


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Great White Emptiness is still one of the best blackgaze albums ever made, Deer Twilight blows, haven't jammed A Clear Path yet.



Don't really know what to expect here, but I'm about to find out. m/

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

Hawks
September 7th 2017


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok yeah I'm digging this one a lot tbh. They'll never top TGWE, but this is a trillion times better than Deer Twilight.

Hawks
September 11th 2017


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Triple post. m/



No seriously this album rules really hard. Easily the best thing this band has put out since The Great White Emptiness. The two albums before this are absolute garbage. The EP is sweet though.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Didn't know you like this guy Hawks, yeah, it's a good album, the only thing that bothered me was the drums sound, but it's overall solid. Love "Sinking of a wish".

Hawks
September 11th 2017


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah bro TGWE is one of the best post bm albums ever made. Glad they came back strong on this one. Third track is prob my fav, but this album is pretty damn consistent.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I will check TGWE (which I should have done for the review though, shame on me).

Hawks
September 11th 2017


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Make it a priority man, borderline 5 album tbh.

Aberf
November 17th 2017


2510 Comments


this is whack of the year

sixdegrees
November 17th 2017


7581 Comments


bet this sucks hard

Futures
November 17th 2017


9977 Comments


band was never good so prob

Aberf
November 17th 2017


2510 Comments


Debut was pretty great. Just a bit boring.. This isn't even taking my attention.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 17th 2017


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nah, it's decent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy