Converge
I Can Tell You About Pain


4.5
superb

Review

by ianblxdsoe USER (31 Reviews)
July 27th, 2017 | 351 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Even after a 5 years’ wait, Converge still deliver two of their most visceral and composed performances to date.

5 years away is a hell of a time, especially for a band like Converge, to just not release any music. With fans seemingly foaming at the mouth for new music, particularly after some fairly lackluster solo releases from frontman Jacob Bannon, time was starting to tick for Converge. I mean sure, they dropped the redux for You Fail Me which slimmed down the rough edges from the original recording, and the live version for Jane Doe, but you can only keep putting out projects like these for so long before you fall out. But it’s hard to blame the band for taking time. I mean, after an album like All We Love We Leave Behind which sees the band with some of their most solid and mature efforts to date, where could they go from there" Well, to put it simply, I Can Tell You About Pain is the logical next step, but, what now, what’s next"

Opener and A-side title track “I Can Tell You About Pain” opens up with blistering hardcore instrumentals, very reminiscent of a lot of songs on You Fail Me that kicks the 7” into the highest gear off the bat, with an infinitely improved vocal performance from Jacob Bannon, who is actually sounding out some really introspective, passionate, and actually comprehensible lyrics, with a deeper and more cathartic shout than before. The crisp (but not clean) production serves only to amplify their previously lofi edge, allowing the band the rawer sound many fans crave. The real diamond on this 7” though is B-side “Eve”. “Eve” serves as a beautiful centerpiece to Converge’s discography, encompassing everything they represent, musically, lyrically, and technically. The track starts off with an atmospheric build-up, pressurizing the listener as the track goes forward, similar to “Wretched World” from Axe To Fall or the phenomenal title track from You Fail Me. The track contains some of their most unstable and trembling instrumentals, with a horror-invoking vocal take from Bannon, shouting out some of his most damaged vocals to date. The track closes out in triumph as every aspect of the song culminates into a howling spiritual void of terror, and it cuts there.

There really is no issue with I Can Tell You About Pain musically. But the fact that it is only two tracks serves as a minor issue. It just feels almost too much of a tease. They’ve been in the studio, so the question is really, what are they teasing" Where are they going to go from a song like “Eve”" Where could they go" If the new record is anything like the tracks teased here, Converge are looking at an intricate and terror-infused revolution in sound that only they themselves could reinvent.



Recent reviews by this author
Captain, We're Sinking The Future Is CancelledJulien Baker Turn Out The Lights
Counterparts You're Not You Anymoreyr glow yr glow
Turnover Good NatureGrizzly Bear Painted Ruins
user ratings (344)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ianblxdsoe
July 26th 2017


1390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thought this desperately needed a review, and plus was really excited about this being released and whatnot. Since this is the first time i've written a review for a newer release in a while, i kinda rushed myself a bit to be frank, so constructive criticism is always appreciated. thank you for reading : )

someguest
July 26th 2017


29069 Comments


Sputnik doesn't typically include singles in the database.

lol @ Converge calling this an EP. It's two songs and ten minutes.

Digging: Demolition Hammer - Epidemic of Violence

Gyromania
July 26th 2017


23700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hoping this is good. loved their last two albums

FullOfSounds
July 26th 2017


15611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review vro. Just perfectly sums up what's so fucking good about this

Digging: Hannah Diamond - Pink and Blue

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
July 26th 2017


8494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



Sputnik doesn't typically include singles in the database.



good thing this is an EP then

Digging: Godflesh - Post Self

someguest
July 26th 2017


29069 Comments


And if they called this a full length, would you list it there too? This is a single.

dimsim3478
July 26th 2017


7721 Comments


the distinction between single and EP is not so finite, so i think they're often open to either categorisation if the artist, label or other definitive source hasnt clearly defined them as one or the other. that said, even though i think this looks clearly like a single considering the title of the release is the name of the A-side, and the "b/w" thing which is typical of singles is also used, Epitaph is calling this an EP, so its pretty much confirmed to be an EP.

ianblxdsoe
July 26th 2017


1390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i mean it would be a single if "Eve" wasn't way more than a typical b-side and 7 minutes long lol

someguest
July 26th 2017


29069 Comments


There's a lot of singles out there with a 7 minute + A or B side.

I know why they're calling it an EP - $$$.

ianblxdsoe
July 26th 2017


1390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's not a typical thing though

someguest
July 26th 2017


29069 Comments


Sure it is. Go research some singles pre-2000. Big one: "Riders on the Storm".

dbizzles
July 26th 2017


10537 Comments


Good review, Ian. Real curious what direction they are headed. Eve surprised me in the best way.

dbizzles
July 27th 2017


10537 Comments


@someguest, I won't argue about what constitutes and EP or a single, but to say the band is calling an EP for money is a stretch. I'd be buying it regardless of whether it was listed as an EP or a single.

Dewinged
July 27th 2017


6949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Being this band, I'll take whatever, single or EP, doesn't matter, is new music after all. Good review Ian, gonna check this soon.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

Nikkolae
July 27th 2017


5191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eve is so god-damn monumental

Wildcardbitchesss
July 27th 2017


221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Guest I'd agree with you if Eve wasn't so god damned phenomenal. I mean listen to that shit. It's already one of my favorite Converge songs. I will happily fork over $7 for a 7" of this quality.

And I can confidently say that if Converge's next LP is the same quality across the board as these two tracks are, it will be the second time I 5 one of their records. I think it speaks volumes that the only reason I haven't fived this is because it's ten minutes. That said, I literally haven't listened to anything other than this EP since I saw it on Apple Music 48 hours ago. I can't say it enough, this is incredible stuff.

Nikkolae
July 27th 2017


5191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You 5'd the wrong album tho, Team YFM whoop whoop!

MoosechriS
July 27th 2017


6182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope they don't take too long to put the lp out.

Wildcardbitchesss
July 27th 2017


221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah YFM is fucking incredible. Only flaw for me is that I think In Her Shadow kills some serious momentum the record had going. Not a bad song at all, it just feels a little out of place.

@moosechris they said they'd be releasing the new full length before the year ends on their Instagram

Nikkolae
July 27th 2017


5191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

While I agree to that to some extent, i believe its more about where it sits on the tracklist.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy