Moon Hooch
The Joshua Tree


4.0
excellent

Review

by danielcardoso CONTRIBUTOR (37 Reviews)
July 26th, 2017 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Every single thing we do is intentional... zero hesitation."

Formed in 2010, time has seen Moon Hooch develop a considerably respectable reputation. The jazz fusion trio emerged as one of Brooklyn's most exciting and energetic street acts around, eventually securing record label interest and releasing material at a steady pace. It is on Joshua Tree, though, after 3 full records, where it seems like the group are finally translating the quality of their live sets onto their studio recordings seamlessly the most.

The spontaneous nature of this 8-song EP is evident throughout most of its runtime. The band shift styles and moods naturally, successfully escaping both genre-hopping and redundancy. The frenzy of "Criminals" is counterbalanced by "Ballad" and its slightly more brooding tone. Hooch's funk influences shine through on standouts such as "Sandstorm" or "Outer Urge" whlist allowing "Jiggle" to be a bone fide success. The dancey appeal to said tunes is almost palpable and definitely contagious. But it is the musicianship of the group that, by far and away, makes them such a pleasure to listen to here. Mike Wilbur and Wenzl McGowen's dual saxophone attack is ever-present and abundant on memorable hooks: their communication clashes and molds emphatically on "Mountain Lion." James Muschler's percussion duty is not one to overlook at any time either, as he shines particularly on "Dancing Dwarf."

20 minutes seems like a perfectly reasonable length for Joshua Tree to run its course - any more or less would potentially damage its balance. Moon Hooch seems to be a band best enjoyed in small-to-moderate doses. But this is by no means a form of criticism: here, the trio say their piece, make their impact and leave without ever overstaying their welcome. For anyone looking for their daily fix of catchy dance-infused jazz, this EP more than provides it.



Recent reviews by this author
Death From Above Outrage! Is NowQueens of the Stone Age Villains
Chris Cornell Higher TruthAlfa Mist Antiphon
Royal Blood How Did We Get So Dark?Tiger Trap Sour Grass
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Basically i spied on 50iL and Dewi's shoutbox.

DinosaurJones
July 26th 2017


6199 Comments


Will definitely check. I've always enjoyed their music, but only have their debut album.

That last paragraph is spot-on. I love their sound, but only in small doses, otherwise it quickly becomes grating.

Digging: And So I Watch You From Afar - The Endless Shimmering

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Dino :D



You can snatch this one up for free on their website.

DinosaurJones
July 26th 2017


6199 Comments


Really? Sweet, I'll have to grab it when I get home from work!

Dewinged
July 26th 2017


6440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Lol I was thinking... Did I rec this to Dani or to 50iL?



Great review! Really happy you covered this one man, they are an amazing band.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahah glad i successfully summoned you bud.



Thanks! Still have to type something up for Alfa Mist :D

Dewinged
July 26th 2017


6440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That´s the one I was waiting for! lol

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah i had plans on writing it before this one myself lol.



This just seems more suited for a morning spin as opposed to Antiphon which does its trick best at night imo. And since i usually listen to albums as i write for them, Hooch just came up first :D

Dewinged
July 26th 2017


6440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah man, Hooch is good morning fuel, and Antiphon at night is perfect.

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sandstorm and Jiggle after waking up are a great day kickstarter :D

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


19696 Comments


yayyy a dan review (:
lovely stuff as usual, looks v interesting

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Con!

50iL
July 26th 2017


4355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review man, album bangs

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2017


11562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Appreciated buddy : )



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy