Old Gray
Slow Burn


5.0
classic

Review

by ian b. USER (43 Reviews)
July 13th, 2017 | 61 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: on earth, as it is in heaven.

i want you to take out a pen and paper
i want you to take a look at the ink as your broken pen drips onto the paper which you can’t get rid of; there’s no disillusion, you think nothing more of it, even as more and more stain your hands.

i want you to stop.
i want you to go to outside and get in your car.
i want you to drive down the street and notice the streaks of black that eclipse the sidewalk from what it used to be, and how damaged it’s gotten over time.
i want you to think about the ink that’s dripped from those sidewalks, and what it means to you.
i want you to leave your car.
i want you to go into the store.
i want you to notice the pale disconnect of everyone’s faces in the store.
i want you to pick up a pack of pens from the back of the store.
i want you to acknowledge the stares of bystanders as they look at you like you’re some goddamn outcast.

i want you to panic.
i want you to imagine.
i want you to think.
i want you to pick up the pens that you dropped on the floor in fear.
i want you to notice the heaps of ink that are staining the floor.
i want you to go home.
i want you to take your medication.
i want you to throw away the bottle, because there’s nothing left in it for you anyways.
i want you to sit down at you desk.
i want you to look at the ink that stains your broken and calloused hands.
i want you to stare at the bottle on your nightstand.
i want you to think about who you used to be.
i want you to think about the girl.
i want you to think about her eyes and how their jasmine glare used to love you more than anyone else.
i want you to think about what you did and what happened.
i want you to write about it.
i want you to write about the disconnect we all go through on a daily basis.
i want you to write about existence and what it means to you.
i want you to write about the human condition, and how times change as well as our relationships with others form and collapse with time, whether it be within years or within minutes, and how that’s okay; that’s life.

i want you to hear me.
i want you to feel the slow burn that life is, and how beautiful that can be.
i want you to look at your blood and ink stained hands, and the callouses that have developed along them over time.
i want you to stare at the scars that occupy your arms like the damaged man you are and always will be.
i want you to exist.
i want you to bury your dead dreams, lay them in the grave.
i want you to move on and write about what is now and what it means to be alive.
i want you to just exist.
everything is in your hands.



Recent reviews by this author
Car Seat Headrest Twin Fantasy (Face to Face)McCafferty Yarn
Joyce Manor Joyce ManorJPEGMAFIA Veteran
Migos Culture IITiny Moving Parts Swell
user ratings (131)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
ianblxdsoe
July 13th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

first time writing a 5 review, also first time writing something more experimental. i'm sure this is gonna get bombed with negs but it's whatever, i wrote this up and i was proud of it. constructive criticism is always appreciated, thank you for reading. i'm okay.

theBoneyKing
July 13th 2017


19387 Comments


This is the most emo thing ever.

Also call it what you will but this is not a review, I guess it works for what it is though.

Digging: The Weakerthans - Reconstruction Site

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


25800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i want you to write poems about how to stay alive

i want you to write about the places you feel at home rather than the places you wish you could be

ianblxdsoe
July 13th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a review to me just not in the conventional sense, this is what the album made me feel and it made me imagine the countless times i listened to it, and how i imagined the writing process of the record to be. it inspired me to write this piece i guess, it's a really thought provoking album imo ¯_(ツ)_/¯ thanks for the feedback anyways boney

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


25800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i want you to put down the knife...

review is beautiful. it is what it is, not gonna attempt to give criticisms

SomeGuyDude
July 13th 2017


374 Comments


That's not a review. It's someone attempting to sound artistic rather than writing a review. Great, that's what it made you "feel." All it tells me is that the album made you feel like a generic-brand emo poet, and told me fuck all about the album itself. What genre is this? What does it sound like? How are the songs structured? This review could be about a band, a movie, or a particularly delicious pizza for all I know.

So, I guess, good work on trying to convince me an album is a classic and simultaneously making sure I don't listen to it.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


25800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

if you're REALLY curious about the album I guess read my review. I wholeheartedly disagree with a lot of what you said but I can agree with you to some extent that this isnt a conventional review. how helpful is it to the reader in figuring out what the album sounds like? not a lot. but is that a review's main function? probably not.

theBoneyKing
July 13th 2017


19387 Comments


A review talks about and criticizes the album, giving a "review" of what the listener can expect from it. This does none of these things. I get that that's not what it's trying to do though, as I said it works for what it is, but a review it is not. It's a piece inspired by the album. That's fine - as I said recently actually in fact I wish Sput had a way for users to submit different types of pieces about albums or music in general - this would fit that sort of thing perfectly.

ianblxdsoe
July 13th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a concept review, i'm sorry it doesn't scratch every part of what your idea of a perfect review should be, reviews are subjective. writing is subjective.

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


6576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

chill mate, Boney's saying its fine, just doesn't fit the label of 'review', which is fine

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


25800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

jack and soccerriot have published poem reviews kinda like this as of recently

dbizzles
July 13th 2017


14315 Comments


Ian, capitalize your sentences and I'll probably pos. I've already heard the album a few times, so I get what you're going for here and actually kind of like it- as unorthodox as it is, or whether or not it really feels like a review.

pjorn
July 13th 2017


4405 Comments


hard hitting commentary from sputnik user SomeGuyDude


cool review ian, pos

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


25800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

asleep i think he was responding to SomeGuyDude

ianblxdsoe
July 13th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah asleep i was responding to someguydude boney is fine

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


6576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah fair, my bad, I should read whole threads before commenting haha

ianblxdsoe
July 13th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks pjorn, and dbiz i kinda purposely did that because it fits the mood of the album, like on their bandcamp and social media stuff everything is all lowercase

FullOfSounds
July 13th 2017


15775 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Real interesting review man

ianblxdsoe
July 13th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank u sounds yr a legend

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2017


6576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also yeah sorry, the review is lovely too. Good on you for posting it, I don't think I'm currently confident enough in my writing to post a poem like this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile