Playboi Carti
Playboi Carti


3.0
good

Review

by ian b. USER (43 Reviews)
July 9th, 2017 | 76 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Catchy, senseless, and unaware.

Playboi Carti is perhaps one of the least polarizing figures in the rap scene. From conducting one of the most nonsensical hype-trains in recent years due to his massive following on Soundcloud, to being placed on XXL’s somewhat questionable 2017 Freshmen list, Playboi Carti has been seemingly catapulted to viral fame. And for what? Sure, he has been established as of recent, but what does he have to offer? Of course, the second track from this tape previously released as a single, “Magnolia” has blown up and been on many viral charts for a good chunk of 2017, and seems to have reserved a safe spot for the decent part of the rest of the summer. But what after that? Are we gonna have another summer, one, maybe two-hit wonder in the rap community again, just like Desiigner was for 2016? Because after all, there is very little potential on this tape, and even if he did have something up his sleeve, one would think he’d already be teasing it in a desperate bid to stay relevant past the summer. The only parts of this record that keeps it from being a below average experience is that the first half of this tape works so well and fluidly for its time. The Lil Uzi Vert features also add a lot of personality and pop-rap sensibilities that make the record a more positive listening experience, but LUV isn’t there to save the second half of the record from being monotonous and painfully mediocre. Conclusively, Playboi Carti’s self-titled debut tape is a conflicting listening experience. There are some decent, catchy pop-rap tendencies being displayed here, that if executed correctly could bring some sort of potential to fruition. Otherwise, though, Carti falls completely short of the hype and winds up spitting fairly generic mumble-rap/trap garbage that you hear being spouted off of websites like Soundcloud on the daily like a damn faucet at this point.



Recent reviews by this author
Car Seat Headrest Twin Fantasy (Face to Face)McCafferty Yarn
Joyce Manor Joyce ManorJPEGMAFIA Veteran
Migos Culture IITiny Moving Parts Swell
user ratings (157)
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
ianblxdsoe
July 9th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tried my hand at the infamous glorified soundoff. Not my best but it's hard to be interesting when you're talking about such a not that interesting project. also shoutout to my man jack (LandDiving) for proofreading because he's always the best. seriously though, i mean if this was an ep that ended at track 7, would be fucking solid. otherwise, 2.8/5. hope yall enjoy

wwf
July 9th 2017


6702 Comments


the short review is appropriate though, it being a pretty middle-of-the-road lp and all

Digging: Norma Jean - Wrongdoers

ianblxdsoe
July 9th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks, you guys are all the best. also congrats jack to being promoted n whatnot

Hurricanslash
July 9th 2017


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I dont think it's very fair comparing Carti to Desiigner, since Desiigner literally blew up over one single song, and Carti has been making waves as a pretty solid rapper for years back when he was still calling himself Sir Cartier and affiliated with Awful Records.



That being said, this tape is...not good. I can generally dig the first half of this tape for what it is, but once Other Shit comes on, I tap out. Which is sad to me. This name change did nothing for him but make him undersell his talents to an extent that I really find extremely frustrating.

butcherboy
July 9th 2017


9464 Comments


nice one.. really like this review..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2017


25602 Comments


1 para reviews ftw

nice job ian, definitely improving a lot so keep at it man.

ianblxdsoe
July 10th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for the kind words dudes, also yeah i wasn't aware, i havent found anything under sir cartier tho

TheMrAlexK
July 10th 2017


11545 Comments


Fuck this tape when is Love is Rage 2 dropping?

ONEPUNCHMAN
July 11th 2017


403 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

when uzi starts being good

Mort.
July 16th 2017


14840 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Location is pre solid

Mort.
July 16th 2017


14840 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

but jesus all the songs on this just repeat the same melody and beat over and over

TVC15
July 18th 2017


10476 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The beats are amazing but his rapping was nails on chalkboard for me. I get that it's supposed to be mindless and stuff but good God

ianblxdsoe
July 18th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mindless music for mindless people i guess lol

Keyblade
July 24th 2017


29033 Comments


no reason to listen to this nigga anymore lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ihxhXekMUU

TVC15
July 24th 2017


10476 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Exactly Key. Wayne absolutely murdered that shit too

suppatime
July 24th 2017


1546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the rapping on other shit is trash but the beat is so good

Ryus
August 30th 2017


18563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

location has a terrific beat



in the grand scheme of things, this is far better than most mindless trap out there

Ryus
August 30th 2017


18563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

u know a rapper is garbage when a lil uzi verse is the most interesting part of his song

ONEPUNCHMAN
October 6th 2017


403 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

After relistening, I've come to realize the only thing going for this guy is his beats. Bar none one of the least talented working today.

suppatime
October 6th 2017


1546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah he's awful, he doesn't even have a good voice lol. and his ad-libs suck.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy