DJ Sports
Modern Species


4.0
excellent

Review

by Chortles USER (13 Reviews)
June 27th, 2017 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: relax

Nowadays, there is a strange abundance of ‘retro revival’ across various mediums of art and entertainment. Perhaps this resurgence is grounded in some inherent desire to pay homage to our influences or to return to our roots – or in some cases, maybe it is just easier to imitate someone who could do it better. Milán Zaks (known as DJ Sports) is someone whose music brings this theme to mind, while somehow managing to sidestep these familiar connotations entirely. His debut LP, Modern Species, is a collection of texturally rich house music which often brings progenitors of the style to mind without ever making it obvious why that is. Here, DJ Sports spins the 4/4 dreams of our past into a modern light in a record quietly bursting with heart, floating along a fresh breeze with no end in sight.

What seems to be the cause of this, and what is perhaps Modern Species’ greatest asset, is DJ Sports’ impressive juxtaposition of various styles of electronic music. From the first three tracks alone, we hear deadlocked house grooves one might expect (“Fertile Crescent”), but also a swath of vibrant synths over precise drum kicks (“World A”) and lackadaisical ambient noodling (“Stellar Clusters”). This should feel jarring, but it never feels like a misguided choice due to DJ Sports’ grasp of atmosphere and cohesion that spans his stylistic meldings. Modern Species’ on the whole is an exercise in serenity and organicism – each song finding its own niche in the same oasis.

For all DJ Sports’ displays of variance – and I can’t emphasize enough how much ground Modern Species’ feels like it covers in its runtime, between an avid fusion of house, footwork, ambient and the like – each drifting moment feels host to a hazy memory of halcyon days, carefully sealed away from time. It closes with “Reluctant Memory,” an appropriately titled, slow retread of what has passed before and a reminder that reality does exist. Until you hit replay, anyway.



Recent reviews by this author
Wanderwelle Lost in a Sea of TreesSusanne Sundfor Music For People In Trouble
Ceremony (USA-VA) Rocket FireEfdemin Efdemin
Forest Swords CompassionBluetile Lounge Lowercase
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chortles
June 27th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

parallax: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0EWyZmh15c



quickie. lmk whatcha guys think, album is rl gd

Digging: Dave DK - Val Maira

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2017


20382 Comments


cool lil review friendo, v well written altho the concluding paragraph could use a bit of depth still. not sure I'd dig this tho

Chortles
June 27th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man, it felt a bit weird to have such a short para at the end but i was happy w/ it. as for the tunes it's worth a shot, i think it has pretty broad appeal

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2017


26898 Comments


Nice one, Chorts.

Came across this the other day and thought it looked worth checking out and this review is a good reminder to do just that.

Chortles
June 27th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers jt - this is probably right up your alley. so much really good stuff in the electronic realm flying around recently

Lucid
June 27th 2017


8921 Comments


Glad you covered this, agree that the diversity of styles is a strength here. The natural aesthetic of the record is so convincing that it allows him to slip in and out of subgenres seamlessly. "Entry Mode" is mesmerizing in its serenity, favorite here.

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2017


1997 Comments


love ya work, v well-written review

Chortles
June 28th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

absolutely lucid, it feels pretty surreal and effortless. love that one, honestly feels like a str8 up instrumental hip-hop track which is cool



thanks so much jack, same goes to you. x

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2017


6476 Comments


site is finally running again, so got a chance to read this one.. stellar as always, something so nice about short reviews.. will be checking this, Chorts.. Posssssssssssssssssssssss

Digging: Flux of Pink Indians - The Fucking Cunts Treat Us Like Pricks

Chortles
June 30th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah, we're back! thanks a lot friend, i definitely agree. they're nice on the eyes and easier for the writer anyway ;-)

Ryus
June 30th 2017


15828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ive been slackin hard on the electronic, this sounds good

Chortles
June 30th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

give it a go, will ya??

Zeneren
July 6th 2017


986 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Going to get past the first track (which I like a lot) for the first time tonight

Digging: Fixate - What Goes Around

Chortles
August 31st 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still spinning this on the semi-reg, can't get enough of this aesthetic

Zeneren
September 2nd 2017


986 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have you heard SW.'s album? Feel like you'd probably dig, it's got quite a variety like this but not quite house. Also DJ sotofett's work

Lucid
September 2nd 2017


8921 Comments


Good rec, that SW. album is beautiful and would def appeal to a fan of this

Chortles
September 2nd 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

looks good, I'm on it lads. kisses

Zeneren
September 9th 2017


986 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have you guys heard DJ Central & Erika Casier 'Drive' single as well (and Sports' club mix of it)?

Been spinning that the last few days, its beautiful

Lucid
September 9th 2017


8921 Comments


Yep I dig it

Chortles
September 9th 2017


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listening now Zen, it's a certified booty shaker



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy