The Fall
The Marshall Suite


3.5
great

Review

by butcherboy USER (123 Reviews)
June 20th, 2017 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You ain't got a house, you ain't got a plot..

After tripping over their own feet with the lethargic Levitate, mordant outfit The Fall ushered in Y2K on an eager and improved note. Marshall Suite kicks off on a fiery shout, and for a brief moment, the band seem as colossally loud and singularly vexed as they once were.

Lean spiny punkers permeate the record’s first half. “F-Oldin’ Money,” “Bound” and the deliciously manic “Touch Sensitive” are stormy and absurd, and as fun as you can expect an old sour churl like Mark E. Smith to be. A turbulent cover of the Saints’ “Perfect Day” and the utter chaos that swarms “(Jung Nev’s) Antidotes” round off Marshall Suite’s noisier slants.

The album starts cracking at the seams in its second act. Evenly split between hollow-bodied kraut-techno and meandering ambience, electric piano closer “On My Own” ends proceedings with the sort of euphoric nonsense tune that used to wrap up your night at a rave-club at 6am, the molly worn off to just a pleasant twitch under the fingernails.

The hermetic aspect of Marshall Suite salvages its weak sides from swallowing the album whole. None of the songs are stretched out to the sort of punishing, lobotomizing degree The Fall have previously shown themselves sadistic enough to do. It makes the record’s assets sound more potent, and its flaws easily dissolvable. But the losing streak that ends the album still stands stark.

Marshall Suite is ultimately too scattered to rub shoulders with The Fall’s finest albums. But in its strongholds, “Touch Sensitive” in particular, it’s found another stray bunch of classics to toss into the band’s ever-malignant canon.



Recent reviews by this author
Julius Eastman Unjust MalaiseAcoustic Ladyland Skinny Grin
Bahamadia KollageDNA A Taste of DNA
Neon Boys That's All I Know (Right Now)/Love Comes In SpurtsThe Fall Slates
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this one is properly short.. Don't know if I should do another Fall one, or move on to other projects,..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


24507 Comments


good write up butcher per usual. I'd rec moving on to other projects and reviewing The Fall's new album when it comes out. this one reads very smoothly for such a short review

SandwichBubble
June 20th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

delete user @butcherboy from sputnikmusic.com

Digging: R. Stevie Moore - Children's Museum

butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think you're right, Con.. you logical bastard you..



Sandwich, I did re-listen and drop my old rating .5 .. don't be a grouse, it's unbecoming of a gentleman..

SandwichBubble
June 20th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

i am a secret sputnik mod

ban @butcherboy for INSERT REASON AT A LATER DATE

butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahhahaha, I won't stand for this!! ATTICA!! ATTICA!!!!!

SandwichBubble
June 20th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Banning tool must be on the fritz, you know how the site is.



I'll pos the well done review but neg user @butcherboy in my heart 💔

butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fine! that cooking show we were going to co-host is cancelled.. cancelled!!

SandwichBubble
June 20th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

lmao



Seriously, good review though. Made your case quite well.



smegma-in-eyelids-tier album still

butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks.. but hahahahahahhaha, smegma in eyelids, shit I think that's more beautiful than what i wrote.. should just replace the review with that line..

danielcardoso
June 20th 2017


11770 Comments


Nice and concise, easy pos :D

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2017


11680 Comments


Another great rev (:

butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks, fellas..

Divaman
June 20th 2017


3461 Comments


I may have to listen to this just to see who's more right, butcher or Sandwich.

Digging: Kakkmaddafakka - Diplomacy

butcherboy
June 21st 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's me.. Sandwich is just being difficult, living up to his bad boy reputation..

Chortles
June 21st 2017


21381 Comments


keep em coming! i'm partial to short reviews like this

zakalwe
June 22nd 2017


27008 Comments


And here it is!
Album desperately needed a review and pat stepped up.
This is the one that got me into the Fall after I bought touch sensitive on single. 1999? Sheesh!!

butcherboy
June 22nd 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey Hey Hey Hey!!!!!!

SandwichBubble
September 25th 2017


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

delete this album from sputnikmusic.com please I keep seeing it in my nightmares

butcherboy
September 25th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shush



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy