The Fall
Imperial Wax Solvent


4.0
excellent

Review

by butcherboy USER (123 Reviews)
June 19th, 2017 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I like to relax with tobacco and sugar..

There are moments you peek Mark E. Smith and wonder how he managed to make it to 50. Leave aside the thousand stogs and thousand pints. He’s done drugs. And none like your local corner junkie who’s washed himself utterly out on blow cut to hell with baking soda and baby laxatives. A being made of gin runoff, pissed briefs and cigarette butts.

After its spastically incoherent opener, Imperial Wax Solvent sprints, scrambles and struts through nine takes of giddily vile electro-punk. It rumbles and raves, and has more fire in its gut that most upstarts can cut nowadays. A slurred call to arms against both up-and-comers already maimed, and The Fall’s own peers who don’t have enough charisma to age ungracefully. It’s got more life to it than any elder basket-case has a right to muster.

Mind you, living to 50 is nothing to write home about in the civilized world. Hell, today hitting 50 primes you to start reinventing yourself. The post-post-modem 50-year old man runs marathons, does yoga, explores cooking with exotic ingredients and ventures into the creased parts of dating websites. He’s even thinking about sky-diving lessons or buying a small boat, and any number of other such hysterical outbursts against mortality.

Mark E. Smith’s 11-minute manifesto “50 Year Old Man” may well contain some latter-day existentialism, but in the most tangential, violent way possible. Like a man who fumbles through his front door, looks at his wife, then holds up a smoking cigarette and blears:

- How do you know this cigarette is even real"

And the wife takes the cigarette from his hand and stubs it out on his forehead:

- Feels pretty goddamn real, doesn’t it"



Recent reviews by this author
Julius Eastman Unjust MalaiseAcoustic Ladyland Skinny Grin
Bahamadia KollageDNA A Taste of DNA
Neon Boys That's All I Know (Right Now)/Love Comes In SpurtsThe Fall Slates
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Fall pollutes Sputnik..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2017


24519 Comments


love the last line. the transition between paragraph 1 and 2 feels a bit awkward altho I see the intent. nice short write up tho man, pos

CompostCompote
June 19th 2017


1022 Comments


Where do I get some of that Imperial Wax?

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're right, it's a clunky one.. it's supposed to circle around to being 50 by the next paragraph, but as you actually read it, it's too out of nowhere.. hmm..



also, shut up, Compost.. I want a pink Floyd review..

DoofusWainwright
June 19th 2017


19991 Comments


Discog review?

This makes me feel awful guilty for freezing my Tiger Lillies reviews

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're still way ahead of me with the lillies catalog, Doof.. besides, I won't do the whole thing, just a few more to cover their eras and weakest/strongest moments..



when are you getting back to the Lillies though? I want more.

DoofusWainwright
June 19th 2017


19991 Comments


I own three I haven't reviewed now...Urine Palace, Low Life Lullabies, The Sea. When the time is right they'll call to me again.

danielcardoso
June 19th 2017


11770 Comments


Nice one as usual bud :D

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bumping because I want SandwichBubble to come round and chide me for rating this so high..

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2017


11682 Comments


Great review man, love your writing style.

"It’s got more life to it than any elder basket-case has a right to be."

I'd remove 'be' at the end, cuz you can't "be more life". Or maybe change the first part to something like "it's more lively than..."

Nitpicky af but that's all I got (;

SandwichBubble
June 19th 2017


9547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@butcherboy album is eyelid-crust-tier



I can appreciate your attempt at making this look good though :D

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Scuro, thanks, fixed it! that works better, no?!



Sandwich, you break my heart in bad ways as often as in good ones..

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2017


11682 Comments


Yeah man looking good (:

Divaman
June 20th 2017


3468 Comments


Nice job once again. Are you going to review the new one when it comes out next month?

Digging: Kakkmaddafakka - Diplomacy

butcherboy
June 20th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're damn right I am.. and then try as hell to get it on the main feed.. generating as much The Fall buzz as possible..

SandwichBubble
May 8th 2018


9547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Warmed up to this a bit since I made the comment above, yay



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy