The Fall
Levitate


2.0
poor

Review

by butcherboy USER (123 Reviews)
June 18th, 2017 | 32 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: On the nod..

1997. London. Astoria, ten years before it’s decided to be razed to the ground to make way for Crossrail. Twenty to midnight. Packed house. The Fall. Lights dim, the band shuffle out. A soused short-stop climbs the stage, knocking over the floor tom, and cracks his chin open on the ride. He stands up, spits blood and takes a pint. You think – Alright, everything is as it should be. This is a Fall gig after all. The short-stop coughs, takes a pint, takes a cigarette, counts off, coughs. Here we go. An unkind constipation of comatose post-punk ensues, at times interrupted by hayseed disco that rattles around like a plundered silverware drawer. You try and bop along for a good while. The bloke next to you shakes his head, mumbles – Band sound like a Richard the Third. People start filing out well before the end of the show. You come up to the stage after the last song has been stumbled through. You alright" Dandy. How’s the wife" Left me. Band" Ordinary cunts. Label" Bankrupt. Happy" When on scag. You stare into the pinched face of the drunken mastermind, and he shrugs as if to say – They can’t all be zingers, can they, mate" And you smile limply because no, they can’t, but at least one or two zingers might have helped. The drunken mastermind cackles defiantly before imploding in a puff of randomized throat croaks and a great big pile of flabby overdubbed bass. The only thing left in his wake is a crumpled-up strip from a fortune cookie that reads – Do not dwell on the past. Do not dream of the future. Do not savour the present. Do f*ck off.



Recent reviews by this author
Julius Eastman Unjust MalaiseAcoustic Ladyland Skinny Grin
Bahamadia KollageDNA A Taste of DNA
Neon Boys That's All I Know (Right Now)/Love Comes In SpurtsThe Fall Slates
user ratings (12)
Chart.
2.5
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
butcherboy
June 18th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

SandwichBubble, there, I hope you're happy..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2017


24516 Comments


wow interesting review here, reads really well though man! need to check some stuff by these guys

danielcardoso
June 18th 2017


11770 Comments


On a Fall mood recently i see lol.

Gwyn.
June 18th 2017


17173 Comments


I don't agree with it but it's a stylish review at least, and it is better made than the whinge fest this sort of thing usually is so props for that.

butcherboy
June 18th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Con, thanks! don't start with this one..



@dan, i figure I'll cover a few of every era of theirs, then move on.. hahaha



@Gwyn, honestly, I was at a loss of how to describe it properly, so I copped out with a little creative turnaround.. I love the Fall, but this album kills me a little..





SandwichBubble
June 18th 2017


9547 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Absolutely astonishing

zakalwe
June 18th 2017


27058 Comments


Sounds like the greatest gig of all time tbh

butcherboy
June 18th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hahahaha, I've been to non-fictional ones that are worse at any rate.. cough, Misfits, cough.......

clavier
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2017


866 Comments


That was beautiful

butcherboy
June 18th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks, Claire!

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2017


15249 Comments


Cannot wait for the Heads Will Roll album review. pos

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I kind of like the review Heads Roll has up there now.. a little overblown, but decent concept..

DoofusWainwright
June 19th 2017


19991 Comments


I might steal this review technique, pos never in doubt

zakalwe
June 19th 2017


27058 Comments


Pat is the rock n roll doof.
A doof in black if you will.

I'll always be loyal to me doof though.

DoofusWainwright
June 19th 2017


19991 Comments


I expect nothing less than your unswerving fealty, death to all pretenders to the crown, smite down this 'Fat Pat'

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hahaha, I've never seen camaraderie and mutiny brew in the same pot.. cheers to both of you, doof is an irreplaceable entity.. and everyone needs a good butcher..

DoofusWainwright
June 19th 2017


19991 Comments


Ugh

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

there will be blood apparently..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2017


24516 Comments


how does this compare to Kendrick's Levitate tho

butcherboy
June 19th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

bout the same level of aggressive meh..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy